We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Versailles
Ranked #67 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My sisters, mother and I stayed at the Meridien Versailles in MTL on May 9th to see the Canadiens' playoff game. We interacted with 6 or 7 staff during the stay, and each time I was bowled over by their friendliness and helpfulness. They upgraded us to a better (very nice) room, and catered to all of our needs (brought parcels up from the car, extra bed, fixed broken key in bar fridge, gave directions to the game, mailed items we'd forgotten in the closet). Whoever is choosing and managing the staff must be doing a great job, because you don't get consistently over-performing service like that by accident.

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable - we will stay there next time too!

DW

Room Tip: We got a corner room - maybe ask for that?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi Thank you for your very kind words towards our hotel and staff! I am happy to see that our staff was able to take care of all your needs during your journey with us. I will be sure to pass along the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the futur!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 666 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the LeMeridien Versaille for two nights while I was in Montreal for business. The hotel is small, but located close to McGill and Concordia Universties, Cresset Street restaurants and the Art Museum.

Prior to checking in I took advantage of an online upgrade through an email that was sent to me from the hotel. I was disappointed in the upgrade since the room that I was assigned was literally right next to the elevator - get off the elevator turn 45 degrees and there was my room. As a female travelling alone (which they should have noticed form my reservation) I thought it poor form to have my upgrade be directly next to the elevator. I was also disappointed that my room, although spacious looked out onto a brick wall with absolutely no view beyond that.

The other sticking point was the bathroom, which had a very odd set up, the toilet was so close to the bath that you nearly had to climb over the tiolet to get into the shower and when the bathroom door was open the shower was completely inaccessible. Very strange and not laid out well at all. I also had a terrible time getting hot water to pour from the sink and the shower, one night the sink would only pour freezing cold water no how long I turned the hot water on for and both times that I took showers I only had hot water for the first part of my shower, with cold water blasting out from the shower head (which was also terrible) without any warning. I was also told that my toiletries would be upgraded with my upgrade, but I was just given the generic hotel shampoo - conditioner, etc. And the hair dryer worked somewhat, taking forever to dry my hair after each cold shower (like five times longer to dry hair than it should have).

The hotel also lacked some of the simple things that one looks for in a hotel like water and coffee in the lobby, a full time bellman, vanity packs/shower caps in the bathroom. I am not terribly familiar with the hotels in Montreal, but on my next trip I will try someplace else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieb10204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi, thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience with us was went. I am very upset to hear that we didnt meet your expectations. The upgrade that you did take brings you up to the higher floors with a more spacious room. We do in fact serve coffee in the lobby but only untill 7am for the early risers but with the restaurant opening at 7am you than have access to coffee and tea's there! I am sorry to hear that the bellman were not around when you were in the lobby! As we do have 2 properties they do have to control both sides! I do hope you will return to us once our renovations have been completed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is not large, as others have noted, but that isn't a bad thing. The lobby is cozy, not cavernous, but the room we stayed in was roomy, up-to-date and very pleasant. The front desk staff were all helpful and friendly - we were upgraded without asking. The fitness room is likewise small, no pool and only 3 machines and weights. The location is great, walking distance from museums, metro and more great restaurants than you could eat at in a year. Overall, we really enjoyed being at a small and friendly place and not a cookie-cutter chain hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandieLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for your kind words towards the hotel! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your experience with us here at Le Meridien Versailles! I will be sure to pass along the kind words to our staff as well! We are a smaller hotel, but we do try and give you a great experience with us! I do hope you will return once we have finished our renovations to give you a new journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Like other reviewers, if you shop around you can get three nights for under $270. The location is great, close to Crescent, Bishop for nice local walks. On bus routes, ans two blocks to Bank of Montreal for (Canadian) cash from your own bank at $2.50. We came via Amtrak - $10 cab ride for a 12 block ride. Nice LG flat screen TV, clean room, nice experiance. Great value too !!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor - small gym with equipment, ice machine on floor six. Also, several 24 hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejake1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have travelled to this hotel in the beginning of March 2013 from Toronto by Megabus. I booked this hotel through Hotwire and we got it for 3 nights for $63.00 a night. I think with transportation and hotel for three days we payed about $270.00 per two people which was amazing. This hotel is located about a 5-10 min cab drive from the Metro Bonaventure Station where the Megabus boards. It is about a 2 minute flom from Station Guy so transportation wise it is very great. It is a smaller hotel but deffinetly meets the four star criteria. Our room was somewhat small but humble and came with everything we needed. An ensuite bathroom with a bathtub, a closet that included an iron, ironing board and about 10 wooden hangers and of course a bed to die for. The mattress, blanket and pillows (four of them for 2 ppl) were so comfortable that I could not wait to get into bed every night. The tv was a flat screen tv and had plenty of english and french channels. The mini fridge was stocked full but you did have to pay for it all. We did not use the stuff in the minifridge as the convinience store is right outside the hotel and has everything you could possibly want in snacks. Le Meridien Versailles is not 100 % centrally but is in walking distance to everything. I haven't checked out the gym or the breakfast section of this hotel as we did not have enough time but we did walk to the shopping district and the arts place about 10-15 min away. Besides maybe updating the rims of the wallpaper, at 63.00 dollars a night this hotel exceeded mine and my boyfriends expectations. I will deffinetly be going back to Le Meridien Versailles again.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms should be ok as the walls are soundproof and we did not hear any noise during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The lobby has been renovated, but it looks like a really poor attempt to be trendy. The rooms are completely outdated with old lamps, yucky bed spreads and wall paper that's falling off the walls. It's a weird mix of modern vs. old victorian (grandma styles). There was a beer cap on the floor in our bathroom when we arrived in our room, the hallways smelled like smoke and there was green tape on the walls to hold up the falling down wallpaper. The staff was pleasant and the location is ideal, however I would not stay here again, or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efmmaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

WE arrived at the hotel April 1 to go to a Habs game (Canadiens), for those who don't follow hockey. The room was not what we asked for, we needed 2 beds, got one bed in the room. A little crowded for 4 of use, 2 adults and 2 adult kids. Ok we cheeped out and only got one room! Any way, went down to the front desk and they took responsibility for the screw up right away and gave us an executive room on the 12 floor. Very nice room, wow!

You have to pay for parking, 27 dollars however when my daughter forgot her wallet in the car they went and brought it up for her.

We will stay there again when in Montreal and you should as well.

Cheers

Room Tip: Just ask for an upgrade.... by the way we booked through priceline.ca and paid under $ 100.00 a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atti2ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,525 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau Versailles
Chateau Versailles
#65 of 165 in Montreal
569 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#24 of 165 in Montreal
1,492 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,759 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Versailles

Address: 1808, Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $112 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Versailles 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique Montreal hotel is set amidst historical magnificence and contemporary architecture and offers easy access to the finest things to do in Montreal including attractions, museums, art galleries, and antique shops in the dazzling Golden Square Mile. Located on elegant Sherbrooke Street West in the heart of the historic Golden Square Mile, Le Meridien Versailles is just a few steps from trendy Montreal boutiques, art galleries and eminent museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Versailles Hotel Montreal
Le Meridien Hotel Montreal
Le Meridien Montreal
Montreal Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing