We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommanded” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cielo Tapas - CLOSED

Cielo Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Recommanded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Really good food, chic/lounge decoration, the waiters were fun and friendly, we had a good time there! And the long bar is beautiful!

Helpful?
3 Thank LucasCN
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fusion Mediterranean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

it was a delightful evening. We started with the Cesar salad, crispy tasty not overly rich - the cheese was excellent quality. Calamari was fresh, lightly battered served with a seasoned mayo and spicy marinara sauce. We had sausage served with a tomato paste and olive tampenade - delicate flavors as was the garlic shrimp - a bit shy with the garlic. The lamb chops were juicy & tender, served with a demi-glace wine reduction. The meal was nicely ended with a chocolate souffle topped with a small ball of vanilla ice-cream, tiramisiu both garnished with fresh blueberries and filter coffee (mediocre) the only thing this evening that was. The plates' presentation as well as the attentive but casual service was outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jufu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Honestly? Not that impressed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went there with a group of friend's, and even with a Tuango coupon for two (clearly not enough, but we added on the side) it was still expensive for what we got. The restaurant is beautiful, the ambiance is quite nice decent (not noisy, not honestly "atmospheric/cheerful" as in a bistro but not dead either), the service decent and the food not bad (mostly hits but some misses). Choice of wine by glass quite limited.

However this is the problem with the restaurant: nothing was a "wow" (food, ambiance, service) and definitley a low value ratio.

If you like Tapas I would recommend Pinxto on Rue Roy. Been there 3 times and wasn't disappointed

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my third visit to this restaurant. I strongly recommend the Boeuf Tartare and the Octopus, eventhough all the other things I have tried there were exellent. Some of you said the portions are too small, but you MUST remember that what you are eating are tapas which are like entrées. If you really want a bad tapas experience try RIDI and you'll be leaving more than hungry and not at all happy that you have been taken for a ride ........ Plus the salads are great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Service + Food Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went to this place with a discount coupon. The service was top notch from beginning to end. We were offered salad or soup then option of 2 tapas or any plate on the table d'hote menu. My girlfriend tried the seafood linguine and I had the Osso boco with Risotto. We are not big eaters so the portions were excellent for us. It was delicious. We ordered a bottle of wine.. price was very reasonable. And the dessert was fabulous.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank humm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cielo Tapas also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing