We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, good rates, typical European hotel, Parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anne Ma Soeur Anne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Ranked #88 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ideal location, good rates, typical European hotel, Parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

My partner and I (both late 20's) recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while in Montreal.

Location: A+
The hotel is on Rue St. Denis which is a wonderful street filled with charming cafe's and adorable botiques. There are tons and tons of places to eat and shop all along the street. Traveling left out of the hotel, you can walk to the Latin Quarter, as well as Vieux Montreal within 30 minutes. I am from Philly, so I am comfortable walking the streets usually- Montreal, and this section in particular felt very safe. There are always crowds on the street, and you hear people speaking both French and English (when asked).

Room:
We were in Room 31, which is located down the hall from the office, facing St. Denis. There was a jazz club downstairs, I did not find the noise to be overwhelming, and at no point did it wake me up, or cause us trouble. In fact, the hotel has installed double sliding windows in the room which really did a good job of blocking off noise from the streets.

The room is SMALL, when the bed is folded down there is about 2 feet on each side of the room. There is also a 13" TV with cable, mounted on the wall. This room felt very European to me (if you know what I mean). It was a nice room, just very small - but well thought out and efficiently designed (again very Euro).

When we walked into the room, the bed was folded down; it made the room look awkward. Then I discovered that the bed folds up into the wall and a dining room table appears with a loud SNAP of the legs. This made a big difference, on how the room could be used. It gave us a landing spot for all of our laptop and "stuff," then at night it would just fold down into comfortable (though low to the ground) bed.

There was a full kitchenette that had all you needed to cook a complete meal. A fridge, a microwave, toaster oven, 2 burner stove, dishes, pots, pans, soap, towels, bottle opener- everything. We did not use the kitchen, however if we were to have stayed for more than 2 nights, I would have definitely taken the opportunity to make something home cooked. Also, coffee in REAL mugs is nice, over the usual styrofoam cups.

As mentioned, each morning you get 2 fresh croissants hung on your door in a cute red bag. There was butter, jelly and coffee available in your room as well. This was a nice, inexpensive way to start the morning, so you can hit the ground running and explore the city.

The bathroom was clean, the sink was cracked- but no big deal at all. There were towels, soaps, shampoos, etc. - the typical hotel stock.

Parking:
There is NO parking AT the hotel however they provide parking in a lot that is 2-3 blocks away, off of the street, and down an alley. The parking is $6 a day, and is payable in Canadian CASH only. There was someone there when I brought the car in, but not when I left the first time, so I had to pay only the second day (sorry!). When you first pull up to the hotel, a single spot is available to unload your bags.

I was able to use the AAA rate which was only $95 a night - I would say well worth it.


Staff:
I met 3 people from the staff, all were very nice younger women who did their best to help provide me information, or give local advise. There was someone in the office at all times from what I could see, but I believe the staff leaves at 12 midnight. You are given a key to get in later if needed.

There was ample travel information available in the hall, I found the "Official Guide 08-09 a la Montreal" (there is a printed kiss / red lips mark on the cover) to be the most helpful. This provided walking "circuits" A,B,C, etc. as well as detailed and easy to ready maps.

Internet:
Wireless internet was included with this room, and I was able to get a good signal 100% of the time.

I would suggest this hotels for younger folks, who love the nightlife and can spend an evening walking from bar to restaurant to coffee shop. If you are looking for a slower, quieter place this is not the right hotel. I would consider staying at this hotel if I were to wander back into Montreal.

  • Liked — Location, internet, price
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank OhmZoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    59
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
48
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is a nice hotel in a good location. I had a quiet room at the back, with a balcony which was good for sitting out on (not completely private - you'll see other guests, and neighbours across the back street, and they'll see you). The room includes a cooker, microwave, coffee machine, sink, toaster, pots and pans, and cutlery, which means that you can cook for yourself. There are plenty of complimentary drinks, plus wine that you pay extra for (obviously). If you wander off the Rue St Denis where this hotel is located, you can find grocery shops like Intermarche (go up to Rue Mont Royal and turn left towards the park; turning right instead takes you to the nearest Metro station). This is good if you want to save some money.

The location is one of the best thing about this hotel, with lots of bars and restaurants around. It's also near Mont Royal. A bit of a walk to the nearest Metro (Mont Royal), and has already been said, the steps are very steep. The staff were perfectly nice to me, and they provide a nice croissant in the morning (in an equally nice red bag that they ask you not to steal).

Wireless internet is provided, and you can also get a network cable from the staff or bring your own.

Minor faults: the blinds didn't make the room dark enough at night, and the air conditioning was quite noisy (but then, I'm not used to aircon). In-room safe would've been nice. I kept banging my head on the mount for the (small) TV, which was placed in a slightly awkward place, high up (but I'm tall). For laundry you'll have to improvise or find a place to wash your clothes. I suppose that the room would be a little small if you're a couple, but if your're strong you can fold up the bed into the wall during the day; there's a table underneath.

Overall, a good hotel, particularly if you are staying for several days.

  • Liked — location; kitchenette
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank britling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We came up from New York for a romantic weekend in Montreal... Montreal was great, but avoid this hotel! Major attitude on the part of certain staff members, rooms were a bit worse than advertised and overall it was a fairly negative experience. But do visit L'Express just down the street- great, classic French bistro.

  • Disliked — Rude staff!
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stever81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

This is a lovely little hotel in a very non-touristy area of Montreal. There are many pluses to this place - very nice staff, impeccably clean rooms, small kitchenettes, comfy beds, good prices. However, when we first arrived, we were put in room 22, the room right next to the office. There is a bar with live jazz right underneath this room, which is nice until you want to go to sleep but can't. The bar does not close until 3:00 am, and we were kept awake until about 2:00 by an unusually loud act. The bass comes right through the floor and earplugs don't help at all. The staff was very apologetic and they seem quite frustrated with the bar as well. The second night, we moved to the third floor because we wanted to get some sleep that night. It was quiet up there once the bar closed its doors around midnight, although the hotel manager on duty had to call the bar and complain (they are supposed to close the doors to the bar at 11:00 pm). It was frustrating because we had booked an economy room and ended up having to pay 50% more just to be able to go to sleep at a reasonable hour. In the end, I would likely return to Anne Ma Soeur Anne, but I will not be staying in room 22!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hoyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Most tourists in Montreal stay either near the Old Port or downtown, because that's where nearly all the hotels are. So, Anne Ma Soeur Anne in the heart of the Plateau was a real find. It's only a short walk to the Mont-Royal Metro and to all the sights and tastes of the Plateau. Not far to walk to the nightlife districts on the Main or in the Latin Quarter, and although a bit of a hike to Mile End or Outremont it's a quick and inexpensive taxi ride.

The jazz club at the street level of the hotel (unaffiliated with the hotel) is cozy and intimate, with good music often twice nightly, one act at happy hour and another later in the evening.

This is not a full-service hotel: there's no concierge or restaurant, for example. If you expect that you'll be disappointed. But if you adjust your expectations to a clean, comfortable room in a great neighborhood, in a friendly little hotel with a helpful staff, then you'll be very pleased.

Rooms are equipped with a kitchenette, and the fridge is stocked with water and orange juice daily. Croissants every morning waiting at your door. One downside is the foam mattress on the Murphy bed, which isn't as comfortable as a mattress could be, but is only a minor drawback. Ample closet and drawer space. Parking a few blocks away at $6/day.

The desk is rather small, although if you need space to work you can fold up the Murphy bed and use the table underneath.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Long stair climb to upper floor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank From_Delaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

Had two bedroom suite with outside porch. First time visit to Montreal. Room and location far exceeded our expectations. Outdoor cafes right outside hotel. Would highly recommend to anyone spending a few days in Montreal.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LFFBatonRouge_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

This is an excellent find in a city with lots to see. It's right in the heart of Rue St Denis which is a lively street with plenty going on the evening. Our room itself was quite small but the integrated kitchen more than made up for this. It was nice to wake up to freshly-delivered croissants each morning and during the day the fridge was re-stocked with orange juice and water which was a nice touch. The hotel seems to have introduced a system where telephone calls can be made over the internet meaning the rates were the cheapest I've ever seen in a hotel. Reception staff were friendly and always available to help.I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilK023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#40 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#27 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#78 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#30 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Ma Soeur Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Ma Soeur Anne

Property: Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Address: 4119 Rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2W 2M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anne Ma Soeur Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Anne Ma Soeur Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Ma Soeur Anne Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing