We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intriguing place, worth the visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seoul Chako

Seoul Chako
Ranked #1,426 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Barbecue, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Intriguing place, worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved this place. The bbq's in the middle of each table start the conversations right away.
I found the service was great, I must've looked hot, because they never let my water glass go below 1/2 before a waiter would refill it. (It was 30 degrees C this day we visited)
Meat is pre-spiced, but I would add some dry seasonings to the tables so people could change it up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Holford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    37
    20
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great concept and very fun when you have a large group of people. The restaurant looked very modern and clean. However, food was average (meat was good while the rest is not worth it) and service was pretty bad.

I would still go back for lunch since it was very cheap (around 14$/person) and service might change depending on how busy the place is. Let's not forget that this is an all-you-can-eat place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank matchamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Big fun and great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My kids took me to Seoul Chako on Father’s day, we had a blast and ate very well.

They have a one price all you can eat BBQ option that was wonderful. You are seated at a table with a hibachi type grill in the center – you order on little slips of paper, they are whisked away and your (uncooked) food appears at your table. You can then cook and eat it at your convenience.

You can order as many times as you like for soups (oxtail was excellent), appetizers (reasonable dumplings), entrée’s (salmon, ribeye steak, pork, shrimp – all excellent) and dessert.

Admittedly, it is not 100% authentic Korean (the Sushi was excellent) but they have a good selection of food.

I would recommend reservations (it is a busy place) and they do have some ‘weekend only’ items on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EWZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Group Outing - 31 May 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

First time we went there - we were a group of 12 people on a friday night. The food is very diversified but not 100% Korean - you have sausages on the menu for instance .
It costs 24$ + tax + tip (the tip is auto added on the bill itself for 15% and before tax). If you take a beer with your food you should expect your bill to be about 40$.

That day the service was horrible :
1-the waiters were sometimes lost and many at the same time
2-Also some of the orders we asked for were missing items
3-many times we wanted something and there was no waiter near us

As for the food itself it is good but not great (you have fish , squid , sushi , pork , chicken , beef, etc....).

Note : Be sure to ask to change the grill from time to time and be sure to reserve prior to going.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Freddy_on_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Does Chako mean 'terrible' in Korean?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Absolutely horrible experience. Rude wait staff, bland food that left me hungry... I now feel sick from the bad cuts of meat. It is easily the worst restaurant on the block, yet ridiculously overpriced. AVOID AT ALL COST!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R_husba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seoul Chako also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Seoul Chako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing