We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel. Quiet in the best part of town.”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel. Quiet in the best part of town.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Working long hours and sometimes nights in Montreal, I needed a quiet first class hotel and The Gault met my needs. I had a lovely top floor suite with a wrap around terrace , good work desk and handy kitchen. The epople working there are all pleasant and helpful and friendly. Definitely will return. Hall noise is a slight problem, but no biggie. Good beds help. Room service is awful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurensd1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Gault! We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    202
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
118
693
81
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

this hotel really outdid itself! our family of 6 had an amazing weekend - and ended up barely leaving the hotel due to the amazing hosting ability within each of our unique rooms. when we did leave everything was a SHORT walk away!
A special shout out to YANNICK who is a real gem! you are lucky to have such a fantastic person on your team who greeted us daily and was warm, friendly and fabulous! And of course - HELPFUL!
We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: go for the corner loft suite! 3 juliet balconies and super high ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HookA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripAdvisor about your stay at the Hotel Gault. I will pass along your kind comments to our associates, especially Yanick. Our team is always very delighted to read such pleasant feedback.

We are committed in providing that Gault personal touch to all our valued guests such as you and the feedback we receive is always very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Gault to exceed your expectations on future occasions!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The building is beautiful, the hotel interior is cool, and inviting. The room is spacious and clean, and well designed,very quiet and comfortable. The staff is friendly and professional. We got complimentary tea and cookies delivered to our room after we checked in. And from that time forward there was super attention to detail. The valet even put fresh water bottles in our car for the ride home.The location is ideal for exploring old Montreal, and downtown. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of the Hotel Gault Montreal. I am pleased to learn that you consider our hotel for your next visit in the city. Thank you for your kind comments on our guest rooms design as well as the service you received while interacting with our team. I will share your thoughtful remarks with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We've stayed at Hotel Gualt a few times now and absolutely love it. This hotel is in a great location, in Old Montreal and near the metro to travel around. The staff are helpful and friendly, providing suggestions and offering bottles of water. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Truly this hotel treats you like royalty, even receiving warm cookies delivered to your door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive review of the Hotel Gault on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that we became your choice hotel and that we are still able to maintain our level of service. We appreciate your extremely kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited over President's Day weekend and with our dog. All were made to feel incredibly welcome. The lobby's design is world-class but it also feels like you're sitting in your living room having a drink by the fire when you spend time downstairs. The room itself was very large with beautiful floor-to-ceiling windows and a shower/bathroom that was one of the best we've ever seen. Perfect water pressure, lots of fluffy towels, sink space galore.
We ate lunch and breakfast at the hotel and the food was delicious. It's interesting because the staff is, for the most part, quite young, but they're all very professional and conscientious. It's the type of hotel you leave waving behind you at all the new friends you've made.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mrs Puckett,

Thank you for the positive review of the Hotel Gault on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Gault. It is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed our guest’s expectations; your comments are well appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Three of us on a business trip spent two nights at this Old Montreal boutique hotel last week.
A beautiful old corner building in the heart of old Montreal with modern loft style rooms. Great mix of old world charm and new world modernity.
Parked our cars with their valet service (around $40.00 per night) and didn't need them again until we checked out.
There's so much within walking distance a car is not required.
The staff is very pleasant and professional. Offered special touches such as cookies placed in our rooms after check in. And turn down service with a bottle of water each night. Even set the lighting and music in the rooms to be warm and inviting.
I will go back with my husband for a fun long weekend sometime this year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SK-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Gault!
We really appreciate that you are taking the time to share your experience and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel is beautifully designed, and the location is ideal for exploring Old Montreal. The staff is very friendly and professional - Tarik in particular made several great suggestions for restaurants to check out. We went in January, and the room was a great value. This seems to be the best option in Montreal!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenlite711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Hotel Gault. I will pass along your kind comments to our associates,Tarik in particular. Our team is always very delighted to read such a pleasant feedback.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing