We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just discovered a gem... Can't wait to come back”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I just discovered a gem... Can't wait to come back”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had the opportunity to book this hotel through Hotwire and I must say I was scared of the Number 5 rating on Tripadvisor (I am often disappointed with hotels that have a high ranking)...

Let me reassure you... it is not the care with this hotel! It is one of the best hotels I've ever been to in my life.

Here are the top reasons to come here...
1. Quality of the staff
1.1 I asked for 8 champagne glasses in advance and they were there when I checked-in
1.2 I have never met some room attendants that were so polite
1.3 Montreal had a cold spell (-40) and they put some extra covers on the bed (didn t even need to ask)

2. General feel of the hotel
2.1 The black and white pictures throughout the hotel are nice and bring a good vibe
2.2 Room 520 will give you a nice view of downtown
2.3 COnsidering there are only 30 rooms... you feel special

3. Location
3.1 Two steps away from the best restaurants in the old port and 5 minutes away from downtown
3.2 For the party scene - you have some excellent lounges that are 5 minutes away

You will not regret this hotel... enjoy Montreal!

Michael

Room Tip: rooms on the 5th floor have a private terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your praise and feedback from your recent stay with us. I am proud to learn that our team was successful in providing you with a truly memorable experience and that we made you feel warm and welcome.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition as an upscale hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    204
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
122
697
82
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Fantastic local, front desk had some great suggestions and helped weed out our to see/do/eat list. They were pretty full when we were there and you would never have known, very quiet, very stylish, very restful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escamill0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of the Hotel Gault onTripAdvisor.

We're glad to know that you enjoyed stay with us and that our team yet again managed to provide a memorable experience.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Gault, we look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
483 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It used to be a trendy hotel but has lost its lustre.
The staff is not friendly at all. While the room is well maintained, the beds need to be changed to compete with the Sofitel, Westin, Hotels Germain of this world. Very hard beds.
I won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for all our valued guests such as yourself.

Though, I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy the full hotel experience. We strive to the highest level of service and amenities and will take into consideration your comments as applicable. I am quite surprised about your comments about our staff and the quality of our beds. It does not reflect a normal guest experience here at the Gault. Could you please email me at smahu@hotelgault.com so I can understand what went wrong during your stay with us and follow up with you.

You are a valued guest and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on future occasions.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I booked the Hotel Gault for a weekend away in October. The location was perfect for walking and a short cab ride for those things we couldn't walk to. The open decor was very elegant and European feeling. We had two meals in the hotel restaurant, breakfast and a late afternoon snack, and the food was of high quality and nicely presented. The staff were amazingly friendly and went out of their way to look after all of our needs and then some. We loved our room, and so did our friends who dropped by for a glass of wine. We had a huge comfortable sitting room, surrounded by windows all of which opened. The open decor of the room was also very pleasing, with a creative layout, and the hardwood floors were a pleasure after too many carpets in hotels for too long. Comfortable beds, large modern bathroom... We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Gault!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were three couples staying at the Hotel Gault for Several nights in November. The hotel is located in old Montreal with many good restaurants in walking distance. The Metro is easily accessible. The exterior of the building is old world charm while the interior is cool contemporary. I liked the juxtaposition of old/new. The staff is very accommodating and welcoming. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and spacious. Great showers! The only negative is the floor covering which is hard to describe. This needs some upgrading, but I felt it was a minor point. Parking through the hotel is $32/day. We saw lots near by for much less. The decor is very minimalist but comfortable. Please remove the photograph hanging in the elevator! Looks like the morning after ......... Well come to your own opinion!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seathyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at the Gault and we appreciate your comments. We strive to the highest level of service and amenities and we are taking into consideration your comments as applicable. We are in the process of revamping some rooms in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition as an upscale hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Hotel Gault for 2 nights in early August. We each got upgraded rooms which was a pleasant surprise. Overall, the service was excellent; however, there was no turn down service for my room on the second night. My only criticism pertains to the bathroom setup. There appeared to be a sliding door between the shower/sink/tub area and the bedroom area. i was never able to move the door even an inch. It was not a big deal to me because I was alone, but others might not want to take a bath with no privacy. In addition, the entire bath floor is covered with gray industrial carpet. They are clearly having difficulty keeping it clean. But these are small glitches and I enjoyed my brief stay a great deal. If I could give a 4.5 rating, I would. And I would definitely return. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsmulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel in August. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for all our valued guests such as yourself.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on future occasions.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is super cool. It is tucked away in Old Montreal and the building clearly shows it's age (in a good way) with interesting architecture. The rooms are more on the modern side and are simply enormous. Think of an old industrial building that was converted into a loft. My room didn't have a kitchen but there was enough room for one. Very cool artwork and definitely a hip feel to the place. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Stay here if you are in Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VailtoVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us while the décor and furniture were all to your likening.

We strive on guests' satisfaction and your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is always a real pleasure to read good comments like yours about our staff and facilities. We appreciate it and we will make sure to share them with the entire team.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Hotel Gault, we look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
305 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,358 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing