We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved the Hotel Gault” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel Gault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a three night stay at the Hotel Gault. We joined the iPrefer club so this gave us free internet (as others have mentioned as well). They also "upgraded" us from a corner loft to a king-size bed loft. But, it was a room on the first floor right by the elevator (room 130). Still, with probably the worst location, the room was very quiet and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great; it's in Old Montreal, but a nice, quiet, non-touristy part. We found several great restaurants nearby. My wife and I both like to run; there is a trail (the Lachine canal that starts about 1/2 mi from the hotel and goes uninterrupted for 14km in one direction). I really enjoyed running that. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the hotel breakfast. It wasn't any more expensive than nearby places, but service was slow, the food was average, and there was a hair in my yogurt parfait. There are a couple wonderful breakfast/coffee places within walking distance that we much preferred... All in all we had a fabulous stay in Hotel Gault. We loved Montreal, and will chose Hotel Gault if/when we return.

Room Tip: try to get on the fifth floor where the rooms have balconies. Though i think all rooms (even our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciated that you are taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and we apologies for any inconvenience you may have experience during your stay at the Hotel Gault. It is our goal to consistently exceed our guest expectations and we are sorry to hear that this was not felt to you during your stay, especially at our restaurant. Each of the concerns you mention in your comment have been shared with the appropriate department in order to avoid each details. We are proud to provide each of our client unique experience when staying with us and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to demonstrate our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Sincerly,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    190
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
108
651
76
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Absolutely amazing boutique hotel!!! Cool vibe, generous & friendly staff, up to date and spot on decor and architecture: perfect mix of old and new! Felt like we could live there! Located on a quiet street but only a short walk from a lot of action. Looking forward to returning with my family soon!!

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a corner suite with beautiful european windows, stone wall and stand alone tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Gault!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Gault shows what can be done when an historic building is converted into a hotel. The room we had was modern and funky, with a large, comfortable bed; the bathroom was a delight, with a deep tub as well as a large walk-in shower. But the staff were what really made our stay so delightful, from the moment we pulled up out front to, literally the moment we drove away (it was a hot day and as we finished up loading the car the concierge came out with two bottles of chilled mineral water for the drive - that kind of attention is above and beyond the usual call of duty).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1066188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at The Hotel Gault. It’s always great to read your appraisal of our team efforts to personalize our service for our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Refreshing concept, beautifully executed. The lobby space is designed well. Check out the lounge/library in the back. Room layout and furniture were perfect; we could see ourselves living there. Wonderful bed -- A great night's sleep after a day exploring Montreal.

Great location -- Close to the Victoria Square metro station (use the Saint Jacques exit) and near the edge of Old Montreal. Restaurants nearby.

Friendly, helpful staff.

We're already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Gault! Your feedback is helpful and appreciated.Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and LOVED every minute of it. The hotel is beautiful, clean, romantic, and very modern. Our room was quiet and well decorated. The nightly turn down service was amazing (incluing new bottles of water on each of the nightstands and slippers by the bed). The front desk staff were helpful and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was wonderful. We did have a problem with a running toilet and they fixed the problem and put a bowl of fresh fruit and bottle of water to thank us for our patience.
The hotel restaurant, although pricey, was delicious for breakfast. My husband LOVED the coffee!
My only negative is that the room needed room darkening shades. The room was very sunny and it tended to wake us up earlier than necessary in the morning.
I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Location was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We pride ourselves on always trying to anticipate guest’s needs and are truly gratified to be able to serve you. We look forward to your next visit with us again.

Warm Regards.

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We choose this hotel because of the reviews on-line. We were not disappointed. The customer service was outstanding. The location was beautiful. I would recommend getting a room with a terrace as it was beautiful to sit outside and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StaceyBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and the hotel! We use feedback such as yours to evaluate the achievement of our service and we are glad that the comments on TripAdvisor made you come at the Hotel Gault.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Comfortable and modern design. The service from their staff was beyond great. They were always willing and ready to help with info and pampered us with attention to detail. The hotel was the icing on the cake for a wonderful experience in Montreal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Gault during your recent stay in Montreal! We appreciate your extremely kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing