We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cromwell, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Gault, and were very pleased with the location, staff, room décor and cleanliness. They call the hotel a boutique which describes it well. The building was completely renovated 10 years ago into to this very modern 30 room guest quarters. The staff was very accommodating and rooms were spacious and very clean. Easy walk to great restaurants including Gibby's. Although lounge drinks were on the expensive side, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The loft room with queen bed was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments from your recent stay with us. I am proud to learn that our team was successful in providing you with a truly memorable experience and that we made you feel warm and welcome.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition as an upscale hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    202
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
118
692
80
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a wonderful 3-day stay at hotel Gault. The room was very nice, clean, with beautiful and practical modern furniture. We appreciated the music and goodies when we first entered the room as well as the bottled water. The hotel is located on a quiet street of the old montreal and the windows provide a good insulation from the street noises, if any. The room is equipped with a mini bar and glasses. However, our room had no coffee machine or coffee cups. One suggestion to the hotel would be to provide a Nespresso coffee maker in each room. The bed is the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. We also enjoyed very much the top quality bath products provided. WIFI worked very well. The staff was nice and helpful. They provided us with good restaurant suggestions for dinner. One negative point is that the valet parking at $36.00 (taxes included) is way too expensive. Overall, this was our first time at hotel Gault and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetrotterQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Gault during your recent stay in Montréal and for sharing your "Gault experience" with other TripAdvisor members. We appreciate your extremely kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Outstanding boutique hotel in the Preferred Hotels chain. Nice, quiet location in Old Town and within a short stroll to Victoria Station metro (3-5 minute walk) or St. Laurent bus stop (5-7 minute walk) for exploring other sections of Montreal such as Plateau/Mt. Royal, Mile End, and Little Italy.

Upon check-in, I was greeted with a complimentary upgrade (do sign up in advance for their Iprefer rewards program)....room was huge and was a corner room with nice wrap around windows with views and plenty of sunlight. Very comfortable bed and nice rain shower.

Front desk staff was most hospitable and helpful with restaurant and sightseeing suggestions, I did not eat at the hotel (seemed a bit pricey), the gym is indeed small (however, the front desk worked out a special 2-day pass for $23 at the uber trendy and nice Mansfield Athletic Club located about a 15 minute walk away off of St. Catherine), and it's not a lively, busy lobby as is the case at some other hotels but I enjoyed that. Would stay here again on a return visit....check their website for specials and packages.

Room Tip: Sign up in advance for the Iprefer rewards program...complimentary upgrades at check in if available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elchevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.
We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the city of Montreal ! We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Gault!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Gonna keep this short

Best and biggest room ever stayed in
Best customer service (put two cold water bottles on bed side table each night)
Great location - off of St. Paul street quiet but close to action
Amazing lobby - espresso bar and full service bar at lobby
Excellent staff- went above and beyond

Room Tip: Top floors corners are key
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexisAvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff has been a part of provinding you such a great experience! We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Montreal!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I have fallen in love with Montreal, and it's all because of hotel gault. Business led me to it but I've had great pleasure while here. Service and design are impeccable! Je pense que je suis en amour avec Montréal

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdlegris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear new Montreal lover!
Firstly, we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your last stay at the Gault!
It is always a pleasure to hear great comments on the hotel and the service!
We wish to have the chance to welcoming you back in the beautiful city of Montreal!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Gault for 2 nights, though we were scheduled to stay for 6 nights. WONDERFUL hotel, amazing staff; beautiful accommodations, nice, peaceful location right in Old Montreal; a short 2 minute walk to the main street with all the shops (St. Paul).
Staff, as mentioned, were wonderful, helpful, all smiles, and very kind.
We decided to leave early, as we have a toddler who jumps around a lot, falls down, and I did not realize the floors were polished concrete. This led to a couple of injuries, and enough concern for me as a parent, that we left early. Certainly not a reflection on the hotel.

Hotel Gault is a beautiful, charming boutique hotel. We stayed in Room 540, which was very nice - spacious, with a gorgeous terrace. The view is of the old buildings around you and the Old Montreal street below - nothing spectacular, but lovely place to have a coffee in the morning.

Would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at Hotel Gault. This is a wonderful hotel, so close to Old Montreal. Lots of little extras in the room, but no means to make our own coffee or tea. The staff were excellent, and very helpful. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotian992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing