We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique stay in town.”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best boutique stay in town.”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I adore this small hotel. What is not to like about it? O.K., the re-do of the tables in the breakfast area is not my favourite, compared to what it was... But, the smartly designed rooms are still as comfortable as ever, the concierge service is still top notch and helpful as ever, and the location is brilliant in quieter old Montreal. Merci, merci, merci!

Room Tip: Go here off-season, you'll get a great room rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all, Merci! for your review!
We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at the Hotel Gault !
I will be pleased to share your comments with our Concierge.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    202
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
118
693
80
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This last February 2012, I stayed in the Gault for one night and was very pleased overall. Its minimalistic decor is elegant yet cozy, and done with very good taste. The service was personalized and attentive. I also held a business meeting in their conference room and their facilities were perfect. I will definitely stay here again. I sincerely recommend it for both business and pleasure...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear guest,
It is a pleasure to hear that your enjoyed the decor and the service during your last stay!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, either on business or leisure trip!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great staff always ready to help , great location in Old Montreal and the rooms are stunning! modern yet cozy, very elegant and quiet breakfast room in the lobby, i could spend every morning here, cant wait to get back at my favorite Montreal boutique hotel.

Room Tip: with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCGJsoif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear guest,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay!
We can't wait to welcoming you back as well!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time in March. The property was recommended by a friend and I was not disappointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room I had was spacious and bright. The bed was very comfortable.

Overall I was very impressed and I will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kleekls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all, thank you to take the time to share your experience at the Hotel Gault on Trip Advisor!
It is a pleasure to hear that you have had a great stay with us!
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We absolutely enjoyed staying at this boutique hotel. The design of the property is excellently done, with many unique details to admire (we later found out that the owner of this property is in fact an architect). The rooms are briliantly layed out, very creatively to make it seem as if there is more space than in fact there is! The bathrooms are very cool, Japanese-like, minimal and practical. We also enjoyed the the help of their delightful concierge staff, especially, when they helped us get into restaurants, as well as when they recommended us try newer restaurants, too. All in all, this is one of the best small hotels we ever stayed at, a major highlight of our visit to Montreal.

Room Tip: Best boutique hotel in Montreal, don't be fooled by others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear guest,
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Gault!
We hope to welcoming you back to your "Best boutique hotel in Montréal" !
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been visiting Montreal 2-5 times per year since 1989, and have stayed at many of the hotels downtown. Some years ago I discovered the Gault. Since then I have not considered any other options. The rooms are great and the service is excellent. I spend 150+ night per year in various hotel rooms and know a good one when I get there. The rooms at the Gault has everything I need: An excellent bed, a good workspace and a good shower. The decor and design is very nice and I really feel at home there. The staff are very (but not overly) friendly and help you out with anything you need without hestiaton.

There are few hotels where I think "I look forward to come back" but the Gault is really one of them!

Room Tip: If you need a good working space, you may need to ask for it. I have not had a room without one, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Had an amazing time at Gault for my friend's wedding. Thoroughly reccomend the place to anyone going to Montreal. The rooms are stunning...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghookwaymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Gault!
We are all looking forward to welcome you back!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing