We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be #1 hotel in Montreal”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed for three nights at the Hotel Gault, checking in on a Thursday night and out on Sunday. It it is, by far, a hotel that I found to be charming, cozy, sophisticated and sexy, all at the same time.

I was booked to stay at a large chain hotel the morning I departed for Montreal. But, after a quick call to the front desk of the Gault, I learned that I could stay at the Gault, with two hot breakfasts included in the nightly rate, for less than what I would have paid at the generic chain hotel.

Though the rack rates at the hotel are not inexpensive, the pre-paid rates are considerably discounted. I got a very generously sized, well appointed room, with a king size bed and standalone shower for a very reasonable nightly rate. Because I booked the morning before I departed for Montreal, I was comfortable pre paying (the pre-paid bookings can not be cancelled). And for $10 more, my companion and I we able to each have a hot breakfast of eggs cooked to specification, toast, bacon, coffee, orange juice (freshly squeezed, no less) and a choice of fresh fruit, or cereal, or yogurt. It really was a lovely breakfast, served in the the dining area off the lobby, next to tall windows overlooking the streets of old Montreal. The service was excellent and the breakfast was a a great value for $10 for two people.

The room itself was large, modern in style, very clean and well appointed. I had a Loft Deluxe. It had polished concrete floors, very high ceilings, gorgeous tall bright windows that opened to Juliet balconies, an area rug under the bed, and ipod/ipad dock, flat screen TV with DVD and cable television, lounge chairs and a coffee table, a comfy kind size bed behind which was a gauzy curtain separating the bathroom from the bedroom.

Modern in style, the bathroom sink and closet area were open to the room (in the area behind the gauzy curtain), while a water closet and shower are located behind doors. And there was ample closet space. Towels and bathrobes are plush. All in all, it was a lovely room. I could have spent way more than just three days there.

The lobby features modern, but comfortable furnishings and high ceilings. It has a very fresh and airy feel to it, in an understanted luxury kind of way. The lobby isn't much of a scene like you might find at other hotels, which is a good thing in my opinion. It was nice to come in from a day of sightseeing, or dinner, or shopping to the serene calm of the lobby, where you could unwind with a drink in the lobby. The staff would go so far as to inquire about your dinner/day/tour, etc, and gently invite you to enjoy a cocktail at the bar (or even have them sent to your room).


The staff at the hotel are very professioinal, attentive, service-minded, charming, friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar recommendations were excellent. I needed to store my luggage for the day after I checked out on Sunday, and they were more than helpful...even when I had to go back to retreive a few things I needed for my day in Montreal. On my return, the bags were promptly loaded to a taxi for my trip to the train station.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, in Old Montreal. Cobblestone streets, elaborately ornate buildings, charming streets radiate every direction from the hotel. The hotel is a short walk to the Old Port, a short walk to the more bustling areas of Old Montreal, a short walk to shops and bars and restaurants (ask about Boris Brasserie, around the corner and it's c-h-a-r-m-i-n-g open-air courtyard dining area). The Metro is nearby. Cabs are plentiful down the street on McGill Street. Notre Dame Cathedral is a five minute walk away. And you're a 10-15 minute cab ride to the train station, bus station, shopping on Sherbrooke and St Catherine streets, the gay village, the Museum of Fine Art and retaurants on a street whose name escapes me at the moment, among other attractions. Additional note: the hotel is gay friendly.

I highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to go back. In fact, I'm already thinking about my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask about the pre paid rates. The rates might be so good that you end up moving up a class of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan_M2TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Gault! Your feedback is helpful and appreciated.Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very nice rooms with design pieces of furniture like Arne Jacobsen look.
Great staff, smiling, always available to help and giving very good tips!
Perfect to stay a few days in Montreal, close to all places to see (walking distance).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley0678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We needed a box to pack up for our purchases
- no problem
We needed to freeze our ice bags to keep food cool on the drive home
- no problem
Suggestions for restaurants
- Direct, clear and high value

Clean, contemporary design without being too awkwardly trendy. Comfortable and higly functional rooms. We booked a room with a terrace which gives a lot of light and interesting views. But the separation from the other terraces is just a planter although they are well spaced. At this time of year the rooftop condensers on all the other buildings are also very audible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments shared with the entire team! Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We only stayed for one night but were impressed. The staff were very professional and helpful, making suggestions and booking a restaurant for dinner for us. Well equipped rooms, iPod/iPhone docking station useful.

We had breakfast, which was very good. Loan of an iPad for internet access a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biker_michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the service and some of our newest amenities! Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Having stayed at a number of hotels in Montreal from the St. James, to the Ritz and Fairmount, I decided to try a smaller boutique hotel recommended on Trip Advisor and through friends. The Hotel Gault is now my favourite hotel in Montreal. It resides in the old city in a turn of the century building, with contemporary interior design. My room was lavish and extremely large, compared to similiarly priced hotels. Of note....the Gault is not cheap, but you really get "what you pay for". The service was fantastic and attentive without being sufficating. IPads for your stay, the gym, the breakfst options, the interior design and of course my room itself all added up to a definite re-visit in the near future. It is a small hotel so if your looking for the frenetic pace of the W or Fairmount, this is not it.....I would describe it as discrete chic, not garrish or loud. Thanks to the staff for making my weekend get-away in Montreal "Fantasiques"!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Gault! It is always rewarding to create "moments of magic" for our customers and we appreciate your kind comments. We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just to putt he caveat prominently up front, I bought this room off of Jetsetter.

The people in Hotel Gault could not have been nicer. The concierge, the reception staff, the valet, the other gentlemen who showed us our room and took our bags; all were exceptionally nice. They carried our bags, they made reservations, they did everything we can ask for. And they did it happily, and graciously.

The hotel also had a lot of nice amenities. Amazingly hot water in the shower, very clean room, free stereo in the room, free wifi, and complimentary ipad to use in the hotel. When we checked in, they gave us glasses of water and soda, and free bottles of water in the room. The bed was also extremely comfortable. All very nice features!

On the other hand, the place was pretty expensive: $240 a night after taxes. And possibly because we bought the room through Jetsetter, we got probably the least desirable room in the hotel. First floor above reception, right across from the elevator. It's an open layout so there was no separation for the bathroom (the toilet had a small door to get some privacy). The walls were fairly thin, the floors were bare concrete, and the walls were unadorned. There was only one window, and it was quite thin (though tall). The odd thing was, the curtains didn't cover the whole window. When I called reception to ask them how to close them, they brought us a pair of binder clips. Again, they couldn't have been nicer, but for a 4 or 5 star hotel to bring you binder clips? Very odd/disappointing.

One other odd thing: the cable system was just like a box that you and I would have in our homes. This sounds nice, but 3/4 of the channels on the guide are blocked, so if you want to watch anything before bed or in the morning, it's a guessing game to know if what you see on the guide is available. A channel list would have been helpful.

Overall, the place is very "fancy" but felt extremely cold to me. Almost like a hip prison. In the future, I would not book again at Jetsetter, and probably not at Gault (at least at that price). The people were exceptional, the room was overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't book through Jetsetter! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RickyRage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivierBottois, Owner's Representative at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at the Gault and we appreciate your comments. I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy the full hotel experience. We strive to the highest level of service and amenities and will take into consideration your comments as applicable.
Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

After reading the reviews of many Montreal hotels we plumped for this one... At first sight I wondered where all the people were, as it was supposed to be downtown Montreal in the heart of the old town. It is near (approx 10 mins walk) but not so near that you can hear the crowds passing your window.
The room was massive, we reserved a Junior suite after some problems with the initial payment (this was our problem) and as you can see in the photos both the room and bathroom are considerably spacious. Both bathroom and bedroom furniture were extremely clean. Some days the floor could have been swept and cleaned - but that didn't detract from the overall splendour of the hotel, which was refurbished on the site of the first North American YMCA. The only thing missing from my point of view was a small sofa, as there was one easy chair in the room and to relax the only other option was to sit on the bed.
The staff couldn't have been more attentive to our needs. We needed some adjustments to the air conditioning and we also booked a car through the hotel and Alejandro, Andre and Bettina more than helped us out. We were even given a specific route through lovely rural villages when we drove up to Quebec city which was prepared and written by Andre. So if you want to be pampered and looked after try the Gault in Montreal.

Room Tip: Reserve through Booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madrid_viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,524 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $149 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing