We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Loft Hotel(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Arts(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 10(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel de l'ITHQ(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
106
75
18
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
75
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracefree breakfasttwin bedshostel offershostel roomssaint laurentperson roomyogurtevery morninglove montrealexplore montrealprivate bathroomspeak frenchwalking distancefirst floorcommon areasair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 206 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hostel is extremely well located in walking distance to all major sights in Montreal (Mont Royal, Old Montreal, Museums, public transport etc.). People are friendly and can give you a lot of information about what to do and where to go (and of course how to get there). Also, the kitchen is very well equipped and (more important) very clean, as the washrooms and showers are. They have fast WiFi, a TV and even a small "library" on the first floor.
The rooms are quiet spacious, mine even had a small balcony (although I didn't use is because it was -25 outside...), and they are also very clean and don't smell. The beds are good, but of course not the most comfortable ones. But there is a big plus for the pillows, because they don't feel like they were not existant (like in other places)! There are lockers in the rooms, you just need your own lock. The free breakfirst is in comparison with other hostels extremely good, the have pancakes, different kinds of bread, jam etc...

All in all, I really can recommend this place because of its location, atmosphere and pricing (you get a lot for your money!).

Room Tip: There is another common area on the first floor - if you want to sleep early, that could be not so nice for you. Ask for a room on the second floor, there it is really quiet!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C0umba, Gérant at Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Félix. Nous sommes heureux que votre séjour vous ait donné satisfaction. Nous vous sommes reconnaissants d’avoir bien voulu partager vos impressions sur votre séjour au Gîte du plateau Mont-Royal. Merci pour vos belles photos.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Hey All, this is a fantastic hostel ! It is safe,friendly & warm.Kitchen-well equipped & clean.Laundry facility-great ! Location-awesome!Owners-Carl and Coumba & their staff are wonderful people! By the way the breakfast- jusssss perfect to start the day! Did'nt use the wi-fi because the computers are available if you want to check mail! Energy is vibrant in this hostel! Thumbs Up Le Gite!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C0umba, Gérant at Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi Shaashi. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Thanks for taking your time to share your review. We miss your great food, we miss you so much! We will be happy to welcome you again very soon,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed at le gîte plateau for 6 weeks while taking a course in Montréal and had a truly lovely experience. Its a family owned small business, so there was a perfect mix of professionalism within a genuine and easygoing atmosphere. The staff were top notch, --warm, welcoming and informative and always accommodating any needs that I had. The hostel is in a good location, close to the bus and metro (which is important in the winter!) and I bet its even better in the summertime when the rooftop terrace is open! Also a very clean hostel-- seemed like someone was always cleaning something! When friends from other hostels visisted they were always impressed by this hostel. I have stayed in many many hostels all over the world, and this one definitely receives two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C0umba, Gérant at Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi Brenda. Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel! We will be happy to welcome you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent value and very clean. It's not fancy but the homey feel of staying with extended family. Staff couldn't be more hospitable and friendly. Centrally located near great restaurants coffee and smoked meat for which Montreal is famous. Rooftop garden is awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pure Happiness. Though I've travelled quite a lot during these past few years, this hostel has been (is, and, surely, will be), by far, my favourite.
Very friendly staff, brilliant rooftop terrace, very clean, and filled with positive vibes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coumba28, Gérant at Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi LaPac,

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Our goal is to make people feel confortable, and happy during their stay. We will be glad to welcome you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews