We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Nelligan
Nearby Hotels
$345
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$230
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$485
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$184
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$694
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,326)
Filter reviews
2,326 results
Traveler rating
1,723
456
87
40
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,723
456
87
40
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetite suiteold montrealverses restaurantmechant boeufrooftop barexposed brickcontinental breakfastcharming hotelelectric fireplaceart galleriesthe penthousejacuzzi tubnotre dame basilicaturn down servicegreat boutiqueromantic getawaythe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
1,796 - 1,801 of 2,326 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The Nelligan demonstrated excellent customer service from the moment we walked through the doors. Always a smile on the face of the staff, they went out of their way to accommodate our requests and went the extra mile even when they were not at fault. The room was fabulous (plush king size bed, faux electric fireplace, double jacuzzi tub, rain shower). My wife and I would highly recommend the Nelligan to all travelers that would like to stay in the Old Port of Montreal.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamSargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, General Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Dear AdamSargon,

It is a pleasure to have read your review. Your comments and feedback are much appreciated and will be shared with all our staff. We strive to provide customer service as you experienced. We are truly happy that you appreciated your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guillermo Coronel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel lobby is beautifully appointed with lush chairs, fireplace and carpets. Front desk and concierge staff extremely courteous and gracious. Rooms are lovely - beds and bedding luxurious, flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi, plush towels and bathrobes.Located in the heart of Old Montreal. Contemporary hotel with an old-world feeling. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stratacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, General Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2011

Dear Stratacon,

Thank you for your kind and honest words. It was a pleasure being able to accommodate you. If ever yourself, your loved ones or friends need accomodations while in Montreal, feel free to contact us directly at the the hotel and one of our reservation agents will be glad to set up your reservation.

Happy New Year From the Hotel Nelligan Staff,

Guillermo Coronel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Nelligan in a king ‘Atrium View’ room. We arrived there from the Westin; we were seeking a more personal and charming hotel experience. We did not find it at the Nelligan.

Bad first impressions: on arrival, we were offered a room upgrade for $20 per night; we declined, expecting that the King room would meet our needs. We were also given two certificates for cocktails; the Nelligan defines cocktails as house wine, beer, water or soft drink. We thought this was chintzy, not to mention inaccurate. What we were not offered: assistance with our bags, even though there were two small sets of stairs on the way to our room.

Did declining the upgrade, or booking a low rate through Tourisme Montreal, land us in the worst room in the house? We hope it was the worst room. “Atrium View” is marketing speak for interior room with no view other than that of the neighbours. This room is not pictured on the website. Even with all lights on, it was incredibly dingy. It was overstuffed with furniture, adding to the cramped feeling. Opening the curtains was out of the question if privacy was desired; since there was so little natural light in the atrium it wouldn’t have made much of a difference to the ambience. At night, the atrium is flood-lit.

The bed was comfortable and the room adequately clean. We had a problem with the toilet that was quickly repaired; we didn’t bother to report the drooping showerhead or the buzzing radio. We appreciated the free internet, included in our room rate.

We went for ‘cocktails’ at the bar, and the bartender was friendly. The waiter noticed that our table was littered with dishes from the previous occupants but did not return to clean them up during the 30 minutes we were there.

On departure, we were asked about our stay; when we said ‘just OK’ they didn’t bother to inquire about what they could have done to make it better, just sent us off with an ‘au revoir.’

The Nelligan promotes itself as an elegant, charming and luxurious boutique hotel. In our opinion, the hotel is over-rated and the lacks all three of these advertised attributes. We received far better, and warmer, service from the Westin and far more elegant and luxurious accommodation at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2due
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, General Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2011

Dear 2Due,

Sincerest apologies for not having met your expectations throughout your visit to Montreal. Our King atrium Rooms are our most economical rooms, appreciated by many of our fellow travellers. I agree that each guest has their own opinion and standard to a room size and decor. At no time were you appointed this room because you booked through Tourisme Montreal, or by declining our upgrade. Concerning the issues with our Restaurant waiter and staff, I agree that this is unacceptable service and treatment from a Hotel in our Category. Please rest assured that this will be addressed immediately. If at anytime you would like to visit montreal again and experience what we truly offer at the Hotel Nelligan, feel free to contact me personally.

kind regards and most importantly Happy New Year,

Guillermo Coronel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Our room was beautiful and meticulously clean. The service from every person on staff was top notch. The location (close to shops, restaurants and a metro stop) can't be beat. We'll be back!"

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank NorthBeachNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, General Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time and expressing your gratitude towards our service and employees. Hoping to be able to accomodate you in the near future.

Kind Regards and a Happy New Year from our Family here at the Nelligan to yours,

Guillermo Coronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We attended Handel's Messiah by the OSM on 12/13. The hotel was very convenient to Notre Dame. We found the staff exttremely helpful and it was very relaxing to stay there. We were very pleased with the accomodations.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenVtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, General Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear Mr WarrenVT,

Thank you for your kind words. We are extremely proud to have met your expectations during your most recent stay with us. We are indeed a very practical and convenient location to the Notre Dame Basilica. The Basilica is also an absolute stunning view from our roof top terrace, which is open during: spring, summer and fall; weather permitting. We hope you will be able to, enjoy that also in the near future. Until then, we wish you happy and safe holidays.

Kind Regards,
Guillermo Coronel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews