We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
esher, surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 4, 2006

Stayed first night after arriving in Montreal before setting off on a tour. Staff were very friendly and the room was brilliant. Only negative point was the HALF glass of champagne in the bar that cost $23!! Anyway none the more for that we enjoyed our first night. When we came bck to Montreal for our last 2 nights we stayed at the Nelligan again and had an even better time. The hotel is ideally located for restaurants and shops and I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples or singles.

  • Liked — Huge rooms beautifully decorated and cleaned
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacki_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    423
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
223
1,244
57
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Nelligan. Booked a package deal through a "luxury" travel website that included complimentary drinks and dinner for 2 at the restaurant in the hotel (Verses). Stayed 3 nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel is superb - most interesting area in Montreal right in the middle of the old city. King suite room was comfortable with nice bed and linens (albeit a bit dark since we had an interior facing room). Neat rooftop bar for drinks. Dinner at the restaurant was very good as well (it is recommended by Frommers as one of the better restaurants in the area). Would recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was a bit dark
  • Tips/Secrets — See if you can get a "sunny" room; or a room on the 5th floor for easy access to gym/rooftop bar
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank EMan-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My husband and I just came back from the Nelligan this weekend.
As soon as we arrivied our high expectations were fulfilled..
We resevred a king loft room. The room was large, comfortable and charming. The king size bed and the linens were to die for. The bathroom included a jacuzzi and a separate shower stall.
We are definitly going back next year.

  • Liked — fantastic bed and linen
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arundel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My new husband and I chose this hotel based on the other reviews here on TripAdvisor. I have to say that the rave reviews are well deserved. The staff, especially Concierge Janeine, were great. She gave us fantastic recommendations for restaurants which really made our honeymoon extra special. There are a lot of great restaurants in Montreal, but many are very touristy. Janeine helped us to avoid them. Our room was beautiful. We chose a king loft room with a double whirlpool bath ( I recommend ). With the super comfortable bed and the over all quiteness of the hotel we were able to relax completely. The stay includes a hugh continental breakfast and wine and cheese each afternoon.
We stayed from Tuesday to Saturday. By Thursday the hotel started really filling up. Although the overall atmosphere of the hotel was lovely, I would recommend a Monday to Wednesday stay while it is quiter. We will definately go back to the Nelligan. Another tip, they have special book on-line rates on their website.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Winston Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Stayed at the Nelligan for a long 4th of July weekend visit. Usually, my husband and I will dump our luggage and then head out to see the city but this hotel had a wonderful decor and atmosphere, so we ended up spending our first afternoon just lounging around in the downstairs bar, having drinks and watching the World Cup.

PROS:
The rooms are very large, clean and well decorated. There is a lovely terrace bar on the top floor where you can have drinks and view the city. Try their clear sangria- delicious!! Continental breakfast is a choice of cereal, yogurt, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, breads and fresh baked pastries plus coffee, tea and juice. More than enough for getting you ready for the day. Jeanne, the concierge, is very knowledgable.

(very minor) CONS: The complimentary evening wine and cheese was disappointing - fresh fruit disappeared within minutes with no refills and the cheese was replaced only after the board was completely bare and someone went to complain. Our room on the 4th floor was under the terrace and we were woken at 8am on Monday morning by the deep rumbling of tables and counters being set out for the terrace above us. Anne- Marie at the front desk was less knowledgeable - sent us to a non-existent gas station and to the worst bar for watching a football game.

Definitely would come back to stay and am also tempted to try their sister hotel, Hotel place Des Armes.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hopping-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Overall an excellent hotel. Upon my arrival, the bellman took my luggage and the hotel reception was ready to give me my room. As always, there are pros/cons.

PROS- Location is in Old Montreal. Close proximity to most tourist attractions in Montreal. Room is quite big. Loved the bricks (added character I think). SERVICE -- the employees were always so very helpful. Rooms/bathrooms were very CLEAN. Loved the added classical music on the radio.

CONS- Very small gym/fitness room. Got my bill wrong (told me I had a diet coke but I didn't...so check your bill before paying!) Breakfast was too continental (croissants/chocolate croissants/cereal). Since this was a boutique hotel, I was hoping they'd at least serve some traditional Quebecois food like the pork spread (forgot the name)...

Overall, my stay was great. If you have time, check out the terrace on the roof. Very nice.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joey0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

My wife and I spent three lovely nights in June at the Nelligan. Our room was modern and quiet. The morning breakfast was perfect.

The location in the middle of Old Montreal is great for walking and the staff was very helpful with all of our questions. And the high speed internet service worked without a hitch.

I recommend it highly.

Helpful?
5 Thank L Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,340 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,705 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing