We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking is Expensive”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Parking is Expensive”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The place was gorgeous, but was more for a person that likes to be fussed over. There were 2 valet guys that would open the door for you every single time you left. As an introvert, I found it annoying. I like to make my exits as discreetly as possible, instead it turned into quite a show. For the price of the hotel, the bathroom could have been more new. Yes, it was clean, but the grout around the tub needed replacing. The valet parking is the only parking they have. You have to give them 10 min if you need something for your car and its very pricey ($30) a night!
When you arrive, park in front of the hotel directly across and you run in and they will put your car in the garage. Of course you have to give them your keys, which I'm not comfortable with. One of the bedside tables is full of alcohol, which was annoying bc I wanted to put my things there and I don't drink much and there was already drinks in the refrigerator. It seem like they want you to drink a lot here.
Pros - Beautiful Hotel room and lobby, Comfortable bed, sheets and pillows, helpful and friendly staff

Cons - Expensive Parking, Too attentive with the valet doors, air conditioning unit makes loud sounds every 20 seconds, dog barking all night, maid obesesed with leaving cards because she wanted to make the bed every single night, drinks on top of the table, not enough places to put suitcases, terasse was too snobby for me, no balcony

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street so you won't have to hear dogs barking all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlygirl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear girlygirl321

Thank you for the review but I have to tell you that I am a little perplexed by it. The kind of service that we provide is really what guest are looking for in an hotel of our category. I am saddened that it wasn't up to your standards. Please note that we have several hotels in old Montreal, you can contact me directly and I will guide you towards something that reflects more of your taste.

Regards
Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    423
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
223
1,244
57
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stay at the Nelligan about 3-4 times a year and I have written a review here before, but our experience the past weekend was so awesome that I just had to share. We were sadly in Montreal for only one night, and had booked the Romance Suite which is our usual choice and a truly lovely room. when we arrived however, we were informed of a complimentary upgrade to the One Bedroom Suite! We had stayed in it once before over the years but not in the summer and therefore could not have the full value of the private terrace. Imagine a 25x40ft terrace of your own on a sunny Montreal day, overlooking the city :) Complete with Gazebo and beautiful seating. We had plans that evening, but cancelled them, just to sit out there, have dinner and a bottle of wine. Enjoyed breakfast out there the next morning as well before we had to leave. The suite itself is most impressive too. A full kitchen, dining room, living room and of course, bedroom and 2 baths. Spectacular. If you ever have the funds (its pricey) and the time, I strongly recommend this indulgence :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HRHQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Mr.HRHQE,

I am so happy that you have enjoyed the free upgrade in our one bedroom suite! It is always a great pleasure to read that our guest have appreciated their experience with us at Le Nelligan!

Warm regards from Montreal!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great location in old town, within walking distance of everything you need to see during a weekend in Montreal, not to mention Notre Dame Cathedral, the subway, and their sister properties that provide access to a spa or a roof-top deck overlooking the park along the river. From the moment we entered the door, the staff treated us like family, and went out of their way to accommodate every request (including great references for restaurants). The clean room and the loft atmosphere provided a great home-base for our weekend. The sidewalk tables in the bar/lounge also provide a nice respite for an afternoon cocktail and people watching. Not to mention the nice atmosphere of the bar for a before or after dinner drink. I've never been treated so nicely in a hotel, and The Nelligan will always be my benchmark for great service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slide-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Bonjour Mr.Slide Guy,

I thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am glad to read that you felt like home because this is exactly the feeling we want our guest to have!

All my best regards from Montreal!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Hotel Nelligan starts with a wonderful staff that made booking easy and took care of my restaurant reservation. Arriving at the hotel, on a small side street in the midst of Old Montreal, the check-in was quick and the valet took care of the car. The rooms were wonderful. We had been generously upgraded, which was nice and the facility was truly classic. Our only problem, not the hotel's fault, but the location has a downside. The area is the spot for nightlife action and it was very noisy from the street below through most of the night. But the hotel and the location are worth it. Also the bed was a little soft for my taste but still comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Airsucker,

Thank you for your comment on this site, unfortunately the neighbourhood can be at times quite noisy as we are at the peak of the season.

Warmest regards
Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent a weekend in Montreal and stayed at this boutique hotel. Our first room on the 4th floor was underneath the bar. The noise from the staff and patrons moving chairs was quite annoying. The first night it was too bothersome, but the following night was a problem. We requested a new room, which fortunately was available. It was much better. The rooms are large some with nice views of the river.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 4th floor underneath the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZuZu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Mr. ZuZu P,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry that you have been disturbed by the noise coming from our terrace for the first night, and we wish to offer you our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences. We hope that you did enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to welcome you again back at Le Nelligan!

Warm regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Greg B (valet) could not have been nicer or more accommodating. He took our luggage, reserved a taxi and helped us print out our airline boarding passes. He was personable and professional. The hotel is a short walk from the Montreal Port. However, I suggest you take a taxi if you have more than a carry-on as you have to walk down stairs from the port. The Hotel Nelligan is warm and inviting with beautiful common areas. This hotel is definitely a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Mrs.Esther K,

Thank you very much for your great words!
It is always a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your experience with usl. We will definately share your comments with Greg and the entire department!
We hope to welcome you back soon! at Le Nelligan!

Warm regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We highly recommend the Hotel Nelligan. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was so big and perfect. Very nice lobby, restaurant and a great rooftop restaurant/bar. Thoughtful and generous to give a complimentary drink upon arrival. The location cannot be beat. Right in the heart of Old Montreal within walking distance of everything. So many shops and great restaurants to walk to. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Mrs Linfer,

We would like thank you for your great review and support. It is great to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that they loved the Old Montréal area!
We hope to welcome back in a future, and we wish you a great summer!

Warm regarsd!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,340 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,705 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing