We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel/great location”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Nelligan during Labor Day weekend to celebrate my birthday. The location was perfect in Old Montreal--down the street from restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and within walking distance of the metro and the old harbor. We bought a metro pass, but ended up walking most places around the city, enjoying the sites. Breakfast was continental but sufficient and the evening wine/cheese was the perfect snack before going out for dinner. The room was clean, although dimly lit. The turndown service with a Lindt chocolate was a nice surprise. I would definately recommend this hotel for the price, location and service.

The crepe/fondue restaurant down the street (toward the square) was delicious! It was a little expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hedgehog831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,782 - 1,788 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2008

A longtime friend and I stayed for 3 nights at the Nelligan at the beginning of October, prior to our Canada/New England cruise. We were very impressed with the exceptionally helpful front desk staff. Our room was beautiful and was kept spotlessly clean by the housekeeping staff. We chose the Nelligan because of the great reviews on this site and we were delighted with our choice!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank happytravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

I would not recommend Hotel Nelligan as its reservation system is a hoax. I rendezvoused with 2 longtime friends in Montreal, all coming from different locations (Maine, Colorado, and NY). Our trip had been planned for 3 months and reservations had been made and confirmed. When we arrived after days of traveling, there was no record of our reservation even though one of the staff members at the reservation desk remembered speaking with us and making the reservation. Still, the hotel was full when we arrived with no room for us. They offered to split up our group and put 2 of us at their sister hotel or put all 3 of us in a room together. This was the beginning of a comedy of errors from the moment we arrived until we left. They managed to do some shuffling of rooms our second day but continued to make promises they could not deliver. One of my friends was intruded upon during an afternoon nap when one of the hotel staff brought a new guest into the room thinking she had checked out. Upon checking out, my friends and I divided our bill 3 ways and gave 3 separate credit cards, making sure to have signatures confirming "final payment" on each so as to avoid further errors connected with our hotel stay. Nonetheless, a month later, my credit card statement arrived and had not been billed at all, while my friend from Colorado had been billed twice. If there was an opportunity to do something right or wrong in connection with this hotel experience, it never failed, it was done wrong. The hotel staff was very gracious in their apologies and gifts of bottles of wine sent to our rooms. We would have been much happier, however, if there had been fewer reasons to apologize and send wine. They were very friendly in the midst of their chaos. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and lovely, and the food was good. Butwe spent way too much of our 3 day vacation dealing with room changes and inefficiency when we would like to have been visiting with each other and relaxing. To top it off, the hotel manager implied that perhaps we had never made a reservation, like perhaps we had made up our confirmation numbers and created the scam ourselves!

Cindy from Maine, never again

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank travelsome_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed a couple of nights at this hotel. It's located behind the Notre Dame cathedral right in Vieux Montreal. It's close the main attractions and even a metro station is near by.
I've booked a room with two beds, when we arrived they informed us that they didn't have one available so they upgraded us to a penthouse suite with two rooms, an two beds of course. Needless to say the suite was splendid.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajer0mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We decided to go to Montreal on a whim on frequent flyer miles. We spent one night in Hotel Kutuma because of the Nelligan being full. Since we explored the city on that one day we stayed at Kutuma, we thought the location isn’t ideal for what we had in mind.

The hotel is very modern and we loved the ambiance. The location In Vieux Montreal was lacking at least for me. While I love the ambiance, ancient buildings, streets and alleyways, it was a little dead at night. And it's quite a metro ride from the happening places like St Denis, etc. The room was wonderful, white sheets and towels and bathrobe - I love white sheets and towels and bathrobes.

Breakfast was served in the lobby every morning (the omelets were $10 and not free - I completely didn't see the sign that said so), they had really good coffee, also loved the happy hour where they served wine and cheese in the lobby from 5 to 7pm. The wonderful surprise was, they gave us a voucher to use for the night, one glass of wine each because we missed the happy hour for that day.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderLustrUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Just returned from a 5 night stay in Montreal and am so glad we decided to stay at the Nelligan Hotel.

The hotel is centrally located in Old Montreal and was within easy walking distance to great shopping, restaurants, points of interest, and the metro system.

When we arrived we were upgraded (we think, perhaps an error on the part of the person who checked us in) to a corner suite which was fabulous. We had booked a King Loft which would have been just fine, but the additional space of the suite was really nice. The room was very clean, with upscale contemporary furnishings. The linens and bathroom were awesome. The staff was friendly and helpful whenever we had a question, and they were able to assist us with money exchanges as well.

We used the metro each day which was very easy and efficient. I would recommend the Botanical Gardens, a trip to the Underground City, and a stroll along the port side. There is also a really good gelato/pastry shop just a few blocks down from the hotel that I highly recommend.

A few words of caution: we had a tough time finding public restrooms on somedays. Never did find one in Mont Royal Park, which was a shame as we could have spent a whole day there. Also, at the time we were visiting, they were tearing up the streets around the hotel which resulted in early wake-ups (think 7am) each morning. Not the hotel's fault, but not really what you want when you're on vacation. I would inquire about that if you are planning a stay in the near future.

Overall, we had a wonderful trip and would definitely return to the Nelligan. The Nelligan is really nice place to call home while touring Montreal!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chseipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Venting problem at Hotel Nelligan on 2nd floor especially Room 225. Somehow, smells from the kitchen are very strong on that floor during breakfast and dinner (we were not there during lunch so we don’t really know how bad it is). Breakfast smell in the morning was breathable but fish smell during dinner on late Saturday night was extremely uncomfortable. I finally figure out why there is a bottle of OXIA Personal Oxygen on sale for $16.95 CAD in the bathroom.

Avoid staying here on Friday or Saturday night due to the noise from the banquet hall. This is very popular place for Wedding. Music is extremely loud until 2:30 am in the morning. Well, if you are there for the Wedding, then it is great.

Front desk manager is rude in addressing our request.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LifeIsGood-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,427 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,037 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,751 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $176 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing