We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel in a Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in a Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

You really can't go wrong with choosing to stay at Hotel Nelligan. The hotel has so much charm in the decor and brick interior. Our room was huge with windows that could open out onto the street. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The rooftop terrace is fantastic for cocktails on a sunny day. The location is perfect in the heart of Old Montreal and for exploring the whole city. Can't wait to go back and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You get some street noise in rooms in the front of the hotel; if you are a light sleeper might ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripchick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear M. Tripchick99,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression on Le Nelligan. We really appreciate, to read that our guest enjoyed their stay with us!
We hope to welcome you back in a very near future, and we wish you a ''super'' summer

Warm regards from Montreal!

Daisy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,499
    403
    81
    40
    19
See reviews for
203
1,194
57
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel Nelligan has two things going for it; it's a great hotel in a great location. Located in the heart of Old Montreal, you can park your car (they have valet parking pricey at around $30 a day, but well worth it) and walk everywhere you want to go. We had a petit suite and it was wonderful. It had a king bed, sofa and chair with coffee table, and a small breakfast table with two chairs. It also had an electric fireplace and flat screen TV. The bath had a two-person Jacuzzi and a large separate shower. I should note that I have never seen a hotel bathroom as clean as this one. All the fixtures shined and did not have a single water spot on them. When I walked into the room, my jaw dropped. I don't know if this was what I booked, but it's what I got. Everything about the room was upscale.

In short, I would book this hotel again, and I would love to get the suite again. This is not a budget hotel but, if you've been to NYC, it is comparable in price. You get nothing but upscale service and accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear M.Fred E,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy to read that you had a great experience with us. We are glad, that Le Nelligan was at your expectations.
We hope to see you again very soon!

Warm regards from Montréal!

Daisy and front office team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Nelligan for three nights. We splurged with a small suite that had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in when staying in a hotel. The room was spacious with plenty of room for our clothes. It was also very quiet and the bathroom was spectacular!

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side (not facing St Paul) and was a smaller suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Mrs. TaraR,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review. It is always greatly appreciated to read that our guest have enjoyed their stay!

warm regards

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in Montreal for 3 days and had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Nelligan. This is a sister hotel for La Petit, which is also outstanding. The room was very very warm and comfortable. We had the best sleep ever as well.
We would love to know what mattresses are used here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP-Teasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear M.Test047,

Thank you, for your nice words. We are happy you had a wonderful night sleep at Le Nelligan, and more than that, happy to read you enjoy to stay within the Group sister such as Le petit Hotel!
We hope to see back with us, and we wish you a pleasant summer!

Daisy and front office team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. Our room was very nice: a mix of history and modern contemporary.
We looked onto the Atrium, which was nice and quiet. Friends had a room overlooking the street, which was fun and felt like Europe when someone was singing in the street, but it was noisy with people leaving the bars at 3am.
We also went to the bar downstairs for a complimentary drink, and it was very comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear M and Mrs Strawberry 1220,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Le Nelligan, and would like to thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
We hope to welcome you back very soon, meanwhile, we wish you a "super" summer!

Daisy and front office team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were in Montreal for a three day visit and chose the Nelligan because of TripAdvisor. It certainly lived up to our expectations and more. Valet parking, the only offering was prompt and courteous. The concierge was especially accommodating, spending extra time helping us get the most out of our time.
But it was the room that was best. We had #402, and it was superb! Very quiet, great king bed, and roomy and luxurious. Yes, it was pricey, but worth it!
Visiting the rooftop bar/bistro Noah gave us attentive service. We were a little discouraged by the $19 buffet breakfast which only had hard boiled eggs, and little fruit, but that was the only glitch in a great stay (we did not have dinner in the hotel, so except for lunch on the roof have no comments).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear M.Joseph,

Thank you much for sharing your comments. We are happy to read that you had a great experience with us at Le Nelligan, and that room 402,was at your convenience.
We hope to welcome back in a near future, meanwhile, we wish you a nice summer!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very nice boutique hotel with a fantastic location in Old Montreal. Extremely nice staff. We also had brunch at Verses, which was absolutely fantastic as well. Pre-arranged in-room service was very nicely done and in a timely fashion as well. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear M.Robin T,

We would like to thank you for your great words on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that our guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Warm regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing