We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 25th Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 25th Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Although we live in Montreal, because of our two teenagers we decided to celebrate our 25th in our own city. The Hotel Nelligan was the perfect choice: comfortable and elegant room, fabulous service and the best location, right in Old Montreal. When we arrived the staff asked if there was any special occasion and suggested we start our evening at the cocktail lounge. The cocktails are fabulous: great combos and not too sweet. We followed up with a meal at the wonderful Hotel restaurant called Verse. hotel food is often mediocre but we'd heard good thing about this place and it was really outstanding. We had a 10 course degustation dinner that was fabulous. Because is it sugar bush season the theme was maple syrup. Each plate was a masterpiece both visually and to the palate. And the service was very attentive.. after when we went up to our room we had a congratulations card from the staff with chocolate covered strawberries. Nice attention. The next morning we had breakfast at nearby Olive and Gourmando, one of our favorites and we spent the rest of the weekend doing Montreal things. This hotel is the perfect place for a very special memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mona G,

We would like to thank you for recommending Hotel Nelligan Montreal. We are very pleased to read your comments about the associates and our restaurant food. Be assured that will make sure to share them along and we hope to welcome you soon!

Daisy le Van Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    401
    81
    40
    18
See reviews for
201
1,184
57
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed in Hotel Nelligan twice more for work and these two times treated myself to their penthouse suite -- it's simply fabulous. Like having a lovely terraced apartment in Old Montreal. There is a great kitchen with big fridge, dining table, long work table, fireplace, 2 bedrooms and two baths. The master bath is large with a big tub and lots of nice products . Best of all, there is a huge terrace which you can walk out on from the dining/living area. From the terrace one can see Notre Dame Cathedral and look down upon Old Montreal. The front desk people are totally helpful, as is everyone else who works there. Treat yourself to the penthouse - it's worth it!!

Room Tip: My room was 513.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laurensd1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you again at the Nelligan hotel in a near future.

Warm regards!

Daisy Le Van Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel was truly exceptional in everyway. From the moment we entered the front door until our departure the service was fantastic. Our room was beautifully decorated and had everything that you could ever need. The location was right in the middle of Old Downtown Montreal and within walking distance to everything. We have been to many smaller boutique hotels but this is truly special. If you are looking for something quiet and romantic this is the place. We found the price was more than reasonable for what we received.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

70 % of being a good hotel is defined by its staff. The Nelligan is a place like this.
It is a warm and lovely hotel, whose staff makes you feel welcome, the rooms are nice,
and the food in the Restaurant "Verses" is good, served in a pleasant surrounding by
an exceptionally well trained and friendly staff. We wish, we could
remember all the names of the staff members, because nobody made you feel not
welcome, from the door men to the front desk (hello Miss Claude) to the "action corner", the Concierge Desk,manned (or womaned) by "Miss Sunshine", Nathalia Castilho.
In short, we will be back.
Peter & Maria Ploss

Room Tip: We stayed on third floor in a nice quiet room (311). Enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pploss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Booked the Winter package for our anniversary and it was wonderful. Friendly welcome from staff and excellent concierge who booked a superb restaurant for Sat night dinner. Our room was on the 3rd floor, overlooking St Paul Street - large, bright and airy with huge bathroom, gas fireplace, king size bed etc. Was a bit noisy at 3am as the crowds exited nearby bars but found this more entertaining than annoying....my husband slept through it! Complementary drink at bar and continental breakfast were good. Location is great, with lots of interesting shops, bars, cafes nearby. Our package included a bottle of wine, which was a Penfolds, so very drinkable.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, request a room away from St Paul Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 455kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Love the spot, the room, the ambiance and location. Near everything you would like to see in Montreal and on the quiet Rue St. Paul, in the center or shops, restaurants, bars and galleries. Very helpful and welcoming staff. Would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I'm actually writing this review from room 221, in the comfort of the excellent king bed while my girlfriend is at a business conference.
This hotel is everything I had hoped/envisioned it would be. Gorgeous architecture and general ambiance in both the hotel and the surrounding neighbourhood. Very polite, courteous staff (although the people working late don't seem to know much of anything, or care; to get anything addressed you have to talk to a daywalker I guess).
The double jetted jacuzzi tub and bath salt sample pack are DIVINE. I thought we would miss the lack of a pool/hot tub etc., but I would take this quality of in - room jacuzzi any day.
A ton of stuff to see and do, all within a short stroll down the quaint narrow streets.
Now the not so good (but not a deal- breaker) : Since my gf is at her work summit for these two days, I am lucky enough to get to chill in the hotel room all day (which is my favourite part of most trips for me). Being a media/tech gadget kind of guy, I brought my laptop and hdmi cables etc to watch recorded shows on TV. Much to my surprise (and disappointment), I discovered that the TV, though it looks reasonably modern, has no hdmi ports. To some this sounds like a trivial detail, but I disagree; top-tier hotels in high-volume trendy areas are all about comfort and convenience. The Nelligan offers top-shelf comfort, and a convenient geographical location, but the accoutrements technologique are frustratingly and embarrassingly lacking. Our room has a small LG flat screen TV which looks like it could be modern, but it must be one of the first ones ever manufactured, as I haven't owned or seen plus and ports like the ones on the back of this in many years. Even the sound system doesn't have a Simple plug and play jack. So basically no personal music, and no movies at all for the weekend so looks like I brought my laptop for nothing. I should have called in advance to see if the TV's had hdmi, but I assumed any modem reasonably equipped hotel wouldn't have such horribly outdated relics for audiovisual entertainment. Tried watching normal TV, but the picture quality was abysmal, so just gave up.
Most hotels have extra cables (usually that people have forgotten), but the night concierge didn't suggest that, and when I spelled the idea out for him, he said it's locked and I'd have to come back tomorrow when the manager is there (really!?, you don't have the key to a drawer of spare cables? Wow.)
At least they have free WiFi which works on my phone (which you have to register to log into every time you open a screen. Works on my phone, but not my laptop. So I could watch YouTube videos on my phone, but the connection is the slowest I have ever experienced (3 Ookla speed tests clocked am average download speed of .3 Mb/s; so no video due to buffering.
They offer in-room massage, so I asked the same night desk guy about rates, and he had no idea, and didn't have a price list. Good thing I didn't run out of toilet paper, as he probably would have been baffled by that request as well.
Anyways, I'm about to go check out the gym, and ask the day people about the cables, so if they solve the issue, I will update and change my rating, because everything/everyone else have been very pleasant. I bet the $20 plus tax and tip hamburgers are a delight!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Danglenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing