We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely honeymoon location”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

As a newly married couple on honeymoon, the Hotel Nelligan was the ideal place to stay in Montreal. Located in Old Montreal there is no shortage of nearby bars, restaurants and art galleries to visit. Also it's within easy walking distance of the majority of tourist destinations. The hotel itself has beautiful decor, our room was spacious and had a romantic fireplace as well as a whirlpool bath. The staff are very friendly too.
Downsides - thin walls between rooms can make for an earlier than planned wake-up call in the morning! And very pricey room service (a shame, as there were no in-room trait coffee making facilities).
However - highly recommended all in all!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Freya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

First off, this hotel is in a prime location in Old Montreal. We were able to walk around and see so much without needing a car. As previous reviewers have said, it's about a block or two away from the Notre Dame Basilica and many other noteworthy attractions as well. Old Montreal is like a trip to Europe and this hotel definitely makes you feel as though you've crossed the Atlantic. It has a boutique feel and charm, and the rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. We loved the look of the room (the brick wall was a nice touch), but most importantly we appreciated the good bed (nice linens, pillows and the bed itself wasn't too hard or soft), the bathroom (spacious with good bath products, but just watch the slight step in the tub) and the overall service. The concierge hooked us up with a reservation at Gibby's (a famous steakhouse a couple of blocks away) on a busy Saturday night so we were certainly grateful for that as we were worried we wouldn't be able to get in. By the way, Gibby's is fantastic--I had the steak encrusted in bread crumbs and cracked peppercorns and double baked potato; to die for.

There were just a couple of things we were lukewarm about, though. It was difficult to get ice for the room. My husband had to go down to the bar to get it as there were no ice machines on the floor. It wasn't easy to channel surf on the TV--instead you have to go to a 'menu' and decide which channel you wanted to watch. If you didn't like that channel you had to go back to the menu and try again. As a result we just ended up staying on one channel indefinitely. We did hear noise from another room one morning--a gentleman was coughing and sneezing and we heard every bit of it. Oh, and we also heard a bit of street noise at night but nothing too over the top. Lastly, we had cocktails and appetizers in the bar/restaurant and they were just OK. Thankfully we got $11 vouchers for drinks when we checked in otherwise the bill would have been outrageous. Let's just say prices aren't low here (and in Montreal in general, by the way). We had breakfast on our last day there and it was above average--order the eggs or the crepes with fruit and you should be satisfied. I will say the coffee in Montreal is amazing, so if you're a fan of espresso drinks you'll be in heaven. Also, you should note that there are not a lot of places open for lunch (a European attribute for sure), so plan your meals accordingly. Generally it's just cafes and diners in the mornings/afternoons before places begin opening for dinner in the evenings.

All in all a nice stay with everything you'd want in a boutique hotel. Should we come back another time, though, we will probably stay somewhere a little less expensive now that we've stayed at this hotel and being armed with the knowledge that Montreal isn't necessarily a cheap date overall. Stay here if you want to splurge on a charming hotel in the heart of Old Montreal.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be better to avoid street noise below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a couple of streets down the Notre Dame Basilica. Our room was very nice and spacious. The hotel personnel was very friendly and welcoming. Because of it's location there are a lot of restaurants, cafes, and galleries nearby. The only caution is that because of these many locations and narrow street, the rooms on the main surety do get noticeable street noise.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Belgian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a recent trip to Montreal for four nights. Stayed at the Ritz Carlton for two nights and moved to Hotel Nelligan for the next two nights. We had intended to stay at the Ritz for all four nights but we are so glad that we changed. The athmosphere at Hotel Nelligan is very friendly and homey. Our room was excellent, the bedding couldn't have been better, and the staff were pleasant and welcoming, particularly the concierges Melissa and Maud, their recommendations were excellent. If you plan to stay during the weekend we would recommend booking a room that is not overlooking the street. Bottom line, we highly recommend Hotel Nelligan and will stay there on our next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband booked us into a room here for our anniversary and it was perfect! The location is amazing, the building itself has lots of charm and the staff were nothing short of exceptional. When we checked in they told us they had upgraded us into the penthouse which gorgeous and had a huge deck that overlooked the harbour. We loved every minute of our stay here :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located between Notre Dame Cathedral and the river which was our chief criteria for it's selection. It is also walking distance from downtown with many nearby restaurants. The room was clean and well furnished. The desk staff and concierge were extremely helpful and friendly. The price was a higher than I would have liked, but that is the cost of wanting a prime location in a city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaSunDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in the petite suite for 2 nights. The room was wonderful - well decorated and cozy, fireplace and jacuzzi tub were a nice touch. The staff really made the stay special - they were extremely friendly and helpful all around - from the valet to the front desk staff, concierge, and bar/restaurant staff. We are looking forward to coming back! The location (in the center of the old town) can't be beat, and the attention to detail shows throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrystinadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,547 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 166 in Montreal
1,129 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 166 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 166 in Montreal
1,792 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 166 in Montreal
2,106 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 166 in Montreal
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $154 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing