We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at the Hotel Nelligan”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful experience at the Hotel Nelligan”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at this excellent hotel last week after finishing a 10 day Regent Cruise. Arriving at ten in the morning by taxi, I assumed we would perhaps ask them to hold our luggage until check in time. No need we were told, we have a room ready for you now. From the friendliness of the young people who work there to the spotless and spacious room the Nelligan exceeded our expectations. Staying there made our visit to Montreal quite special. If we ever find ourselves again in that beautiful city, there is no question that we would return. Merci !

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Troot51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,568
    423
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
223
1,245
57
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this charming hotel. The only reason this isn't getting 5/5 is that the rooms and facilities are starting to show a tiny bit of wear that wasn't there 4 years ago when we first started staying here. Staff is first class, rooms/suites are very nice with a bit of history evident from the old brickwork. Location is exceptional especially during festivals as you can walk pretty much to all venues. SAQ close by for wine or beer, one block. Mall 10 min walk up on Rene Leveque.

Tons of restaurants close by, but many of the amazing ones are a short drive. However, Crown Salts, Barocco, and Orange Rouge should be visited for dinner, all walkable. Olive and Gourmando for lunch or just coffee and pastries. Other must go to restaurants: Bouillon Bilk, Au Pied de Cochon, Toque, and too many others to mention. Reserve far in advance for the great restaurants or be disappointed. Just for fun go to Garde Manger, Chuck Hughes place a block and a half away. Only 4 star food, but the atmosphere is fun, especially if you sit at the bar.

Things to note on Hotel. Parking is pricey, (28 day/valet no other option) but so is parking anywhere in Montreal. Petit suite is best value in my opinion. Courtyard view might be better than street as it's quieter, especially during festival season. The regular wifi works fine for most stuff, don't pay for premium until you are sure you need it. Rooftop during summer is a great place to have a beer and an appy.

Will stay again, just hope they beef up their maintenance a bit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Old Montreal, close to the river. Superb service from everyone on staff, particularly Dan at the front desk. Very affable and accommodating. Cozy lobby and lounge -- we settled in next to the fireplace and ordered drinks. Our room was a petite suite; great bedding and bathroom with jacuzzi tub. The shower featured a rain shower head. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvhtml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for an anniversary trip and can't say enough about the charm, location and ambiance of this hotel. For starters, it was not expensive! Got a great deal to stay for four nights.

Right on the main streets of Vieux Ville (old town) which is where we prefer to stay. Cute shops, restaurants, walking. Makes you feel like you've been dropped in Europe. Easy to get to ferries and other water activities as well.

Restaurant also good with a nice breakfast in the morning. Rooms big. Ours had a brick wall as we had a corner room. Huge bathroom.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a corner room. Was not loud at all as street isn't a busy one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Location is perfect for walking around Old Montreal. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The dinner I had at the hotel restaurant Verses was the best meal I had in Montreal. And the room upgrade we were offered was truly phenomenal and worth every penny. The suite we stayed in will spoil me to traditional hotel rooms forever.

Room Tip: If there is an upgrade available upon check in, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel deserves all the positives that are posted on here. We selected it after reading Trip Advisor. It is within walking distance of much of Old Montreal. Just go, you'll be well pleased.

The little things make the difference. We booked a private tour through the hotel. It turned out to be the tour from hell. Our guide continued to talk about provincial politics. I was continually telling him to talk "history" not "politics"...he hates the provincial government. Who cares?! Anyway when the hell tour ended I went to an hotel manager to warn them not to subject any future guests to this clown. The manager immediately apologized, refunded the $150.oo cost and said that they would not use this guide again. Now, that is service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Quaint hotel in Old Montreal, that sits right in the middle of all the action. Can be a bit noisy on weekends. The rooms were very nice and provided the best in amenities. The best quality of the hotel is their staff- always smiling and attentive to all you needs. They are fluent in both French and English. The restaurants provided some of the best food in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel are noisy on weekends due to heavy wedding and tourist traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram-Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,346 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,343 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,706 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing