We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay here again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved staying here. The location was great, near everything we wanted to see (but not so close the noise and the crowds overwhelmed) and an easy 10-minute walk to the subway. The rooms was fabulous, large, attractive, comfortable. The exposed brick and modern furniture was a great look. The bathroom was nice and large. There were nice touches like setting the radio to classical music for our arrival and the nightly turndown service. If I come back to Montreal, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalonbride36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    401
    81
    40
    18
See reviews for
201
1,184
57
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautiful, understated hotel in a lovely part of Montreal (old city/vieux port). Stayed in a regular king-bed room. Unusually large room, good quality linens, nicely appointed, jacuzzi tub and a separate shower in the bathroom.

Staff were professional, knowledgeable, and courteous, responsive to requests. Good concierge service as well. We stayed on the 4th floor, for six nights, and enjoyed it from beginning to end.

This part of Montreal has beautiful buildings and charming streets, but is a bit expensive, and in places rather touristy. If you're planning on staying during a weekend, I recommend you try for an upper-floor room (4th floor), as the street noise can be a little loud (not from patrons of this hotel, but from general partiers nearby). We had absolutely no noise issues ourselves.

The ground-floor bar, restaurant, and lounge area with atrium are very nice - as is the rooftop bar/restaurant on the 5th floor.

One tip: we found the best rate by booking directly with the hotel: they had a promotion where every third night was half price. So for a six-night stay, we effectively got one night free. This made the difference between this hotel being outside our vacation budget, and inside it.

Very glad we stayed here - recommended highly!

Room Tip: Higher floor, and facing rear, is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattR19123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

the hotel is just beautiful. We very much enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel which is located in the center of the oldtown and it is surrounded by very nice restaurants and bars. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 895Sebn895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a great hotel with a wonderful staff. Everyone and I mean everyone was as pleasant and helpful as can be. We first stayed on the second floor for two nights. The room was excellent but a little dark. We had the opportunity to move up to the penthouse on the fifth floor and took it. What a great room with a huge terrace among the roof tops in Old Montreal. A great room for a family or two couples.

I would like to mention Dan at the front desk and Nathalia, concierge. Both were very helpful and it was like you were talking to a friend any time you interacted with them. This is not to take away from the rest of the wonderful staff.

I would watch out for rooms close to the roof top terrace bar. We were on the other side on the 5th floor, very quiet and private but it can be noisy close to the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent a happy 3 nights at this hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor and was more than adequate. The bed and pillows were amazing! No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, but they are available free of charge in the breakfast area on a help yourself basis. All staff were very friendly and attentive. The water and chocolate provided as part of the turn down service was very well received. A beautiful building in a beautiful part of Montreal. The Indian across the road (Taj Mahal) is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Nelligan. The rooms were very comfortable and in very good condition and the beds were very comfortable. Service was very good and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was adequate and provided a good selection of items. If I had anything to comment on it would be the concierge who recommended a restaurant we disliked and gave us bad directions to Mount Royal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adlpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Mass.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our first trip to Montreal is now a pleasant memory. Our stay at Hotel Nelligan was an integral part of that experience. This place is located within walking distance of everything in the old city. Shops, restaurants, museums, tranportation, etc are a short walk down historic cobble stone streets. We parked the car upon arrival and didn't need it until we left after three nights.
The staff at Hotel Nelligan was excellent. They were attentive and helpful in every way. They could switch seamlessly between French and English as well as other languages.
Our room, a petit suite, was on the third floor facing St. Paul St. It was very clean and surprisingly quiet despite facing the street. The bed was very comfortable and the modern amenities made the room an A+. The three restaurants within the hotel are all very good and offer a varitey of athmospheres.
The Hotel Nelligan is a must if you plan on staying in Montreal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the ally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing