We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I recently spent three nights at the Hotel Nelligan. We were looking for an upscale hotel close to Old Montreal. Hotel Nelligan proved to be everything we wanted! As most of the reviews here have mentioned, the entire staff was friendly, helpful and polite (a special mention for "Nancy" who was extremely friendly/helpful upon check-in!). The hotel is in a great location for Old Montreal and there is a metro stop within walking distance. The room was spotless and we appreciated the "small" touches (bathrobes, chocolates left by housekeeping, etc). Note that because our room faced an alley, we did hear the delivery trucks early one morning. This wasn't a problem for us but something to keep in mind if you are a late sleeper. Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Hotel Nelligan!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcrawfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,551
    418
    84
    40
    19
See reviews for
214
1,233
57
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Be demanding with your room. We reserved a junior suite for $600 a night, and got the bait and switch! Our room was small, room 319, and faced a back alley. No sofa or sitting area, per the hotel floor plan, one of the smallest rooms. the idea was to see if we would notice. Yes they did put us in a proper room upon discussion. The hotel is really nothing special, exposed brick with contemporary furnishings. If you want to beclose to the t shirt shops in Old Montreal, it is perfect though. Admittedly, the concierges were terrific. Stay if you can get a junior suite for less than $300. Oh, and frozen bagels for the continental breakfast? In Montreal, home fo the Montreal Bagel? Really?

Room Tip: DO not accept rooms facing the back alley, which represent 30% of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Nelligan on our first visit to Montreal. Our petit suite was quiet as I had requested in the reservation. The lighting was a little confusing and we could have used more storage, but this still was a wonderful property. The bed and linens were topnotch. The location is terrific, but the most important feature is the outstanding staff. Every single person, whether in the restaurant, housekeeping, concierge, front desk,etc was wonderful and dedicated to making sure we had a great stay. They succeeded -- our stay was memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janefromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Peace of mind with parking was taken care of. The valets and concierge were extremely helpful with suggestions of activities, tour registration and suggestions of restaurants. Our room was cozy but so comfortable, great bath amenities. Very walkable to most things in Old Montreal and transit was super efficient and clean. Quiet rooms music playing in our room as we checked in. Would definitely spend the money to stay at this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: Always ask for a quiet room, high floor and away from the elevator/stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Super wonderful spot, great location, wonderful staff, really comfortable rooms and an awesome rooftop terrace. Would definitely stay here the next time we visit. One of my favorite hotels that we have stayed in in old montreal.

Room Tip: The rooms on Saint Paul could be a little noiser on a weekend night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bznbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the perfect stay in Montreal. All of the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was probably the fastest check-in I've ever experienced, but also warm and welcoming. The room was fantastic, we had a great view of the river, the jacuzzi tub was essential after a long day of walking, the bed was supremely comfortable, and the fireplace and brick walls add to a luxurious and romantic feel.
The gym is surprisingly well-appointed for a hotel fitness center. We had drinks and food both at the terrace bar on the roof, and downstairs and both were great.
The concierge service was superb. We got reservations to Au Pied de Cochon while in town, and helpful hints about jazz clubs and other bars.
The only bad part was having to leave. We will be back to the Hotel Nelligan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTCnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful welcome from the staff. We had a room on the 4th floor which was very charming (exposed brick walls, fireplace, comfortable bed, jet tub). Not a good view but we did not spend time looking out the windows anyway. Just one block from Notre Dame and very convenient to all of Old Town. Good restaurant on site and terrace bar which is also serve lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FillyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
1,329 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,690 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 164 in Montreal
329 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing