We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    423
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
223
1,246
57
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I can't pick one person to within the team at the Nelligan because they all worked so well together to provide a wonderful experience, it would not be fare to select any one individual.

In the mornings, the breakfast staff would have my tea and orange juice at my seat while I was preparing breakfast from the buffet. At the same time the valet would have my car, with the personal touch of making sure my daily bags would already be loaded into the trunk. When I arrived home in the evenings, the valet would always make sure bags/laundry/etc made it up to my room, without question (even when I forget the bags in my car after they parked it).

During my stay the Concierge put together a list of amazing places for me to have dinner and made sure I had reservations if needed so I was never just visiting the same place every night for supper. The reception staff & management was always quick with a greeting and making sure there wasn't anything else I night need during my stay. They accommodated my needs on my return travel and were always very helpful when I needed a hockey score or directions to some obscure location in Montreal.

Then there is all the support staff, house keeping would always make sure to keep my pillows in the exact orientation I left them in the morning (for those of you who like your pillows in the correct orientation, you know HOW important this is!!!) In the evenings, house keeping would arrive with bottled water & chocolate (not part of the mini-bar) along with the next day's weather and replace any needed towels.

While there are almost as many places to stay in Montreal as there are places to find great food, I wouldn't trust my stay at any other hotel. I cannot thank the staff at the Nelligan enough for their hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and loved every moment. The room was fab. It was very much a boutique hotel and the decor was super. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was ok but other little cafes were nicer. It's located in downtown and the streets are filled with little bars and cafes. I will stay here again on my next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've been to the Hotel Nelligan twice, once in March for work for a meeting in the hotel and another for the F1 Race in June. The hotel is warm, beautiful and quaint. A true Boutique hotel with differing rooms that are unique, very comfortable and well appointed. Service is great and you don't need a car unless you're going somewhere farther afield. What's also nice about it is while it may appear pretentious, it's small and cozy enough that you really get a small hotel feel about it that makes the experience that much more unique. The restaurant facilities are great including the adjacent steak house, and especially the rooftop bar/restaurant - the latter attended during the F1 weekend. A top hotel in Montreal by any stretch and I am looking to go back again this year!!!

Room Tip: My only recommendation is to ask for a room on an exterior wall. My first room was very small and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97c2s993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked a two night stay at the last minute on Hotel Tonight. It was our first time using Hotel Tonight and it worked out very well. We received the lowest rate I had seen for the Nelligan - I had been watching the prices for about a month. On check in they upsold us to a suite for a small fee. It was well worth it as half the cost was given back in the form of bar credits.
Hotel Nelligan is a wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Old Montreal. Our Suite on the 5th floor had everything we could wish for. Space, a fireplace, a jacuzi, sound system and quiet. We walked to a neighbourhood restaurant in the unseasonably warm weather and then strolled the old port after dinner. The weather turned nasty the second day and after a leisurely breakfast we settled down in front of the fire and read books
The Nelligan is suitable for the business person looking for something different or a couple like us who wanted something romantic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The room we stayed in was tastefully decorated, as one would expect for the Old Port area of Montreal. The fireplace and jaccuzzi tub were fantastic. In order to find flaws, one would have to look very, very closely and frankly, that defeats the purpose of a romantic getaway, doesn't it?

The free drink voucher at the hotel bar was a nice touch. The artwork and furniture in shared areas was very good. Everything you would expect in a world class hotel a world class city.

What truly sets this hotel apart is the staff. To an individual, the staff was friendly, accommodating and efficient. Every request we had was met with a friendly smile. When we arrived, before we had even noticed that hypoallergenic bedding was not on the bed, we received a call from the front desk, asking us if it was a convenient time to let the cleaning staff in to change the bedding. Sure, I could say that they forgot in the first place but that they caught their mistake and made an effort to correct it before I even noticed was impressive, to say the least.

Room Tip: There was occassional noise from cabs honking for fares in the street below. You may want to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had the most enjoyable experience. We loved being greeted with wine and cheese in the courtyard. There was a mix up with the room. It was dealt with fairly promptly. Rooms were spectacular...you almost feel as though you are in Europe! We will certainly return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetravelalot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,349 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,344 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,707 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing