We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had the most enjoyable experience. We loved being greeted with wine and cheese in the courtyard. There was a mix up with the room. It was dealt with fairly promptly. Rooms were spectacular...you almost feel as though you are in Europe! We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovetravelalot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just returned from our second visit to Old Montreal and chose to stay at Hotel Nelligan again. We love the hotel. We stayed in a petite suite which was beautiful....fireplace, sitting area, huge bathroom with jetted tub, exposed brick...simply elegant! The staff was so helpful to my husband as he planned the trip helping with restaurant ideas, spa recommendations, preparing extras for the room when we arrived. The hotle is in the heart of Old Montreal with tons of restaurants and galleries to walk to! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magmom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nice and clean, a bit noisy at night with some ticking in the pipes which bothered me but not my husband. Staff is extremely nice and helpful, good breakfast bar. The location is perfect in the old town and very quiet outside. We walked around the old town fairly late and it felt very safe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEG4wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hotel Nelligan was a big reason why we enjoyed our Montreal trip as much as we did. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. Pretty lobby with nice lounge/bar area. Upon entering our room we discovered the fireplace turned on and classical music playing on the stereo. We received 2 cards good for 2 complimentary drinks at the bar. The room was huge with exposed brick, fireplace, jacuzzi for 2. One evening someone knocked on our door and offered 2 complimentary bottles of water and little chocolates. Location was perfect..right in the old port with cobblestone streets and amazing restaurants and bars, little shops and cafes. Nothing but wonderful things to say about this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

the staff were friendly, the atmosphere was warm and wonderful. This is my new favourite hotel, will be back again and again. The hotel store is amazing too with fantastic Canadian made clothes. Loved it! Just wishes they had a pot of coffee in the room so we could brew our own.

Room Tip: if you want French fries at the bar, you have to say French Fries or else they'll just give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linadi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The service was A1. Lobby bar had a nice atmosphere and busy. Stayed in suite 505 ,large room fireplace, brick walls ,very cozy appealing room, no real view to speak of but didn't matter.
Continental breakfast in room was pricey for what you get but overall very pleased with our stay. Great location for old Montreal

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After two stays at the Hotel Nelligan, it's high time to write a review!

This is a beautiful hotel located in Old Montreal. From the street, it looks relatively unremarkable, its limestone facade fading into the other buildings on the street, and its simple, double-doors looking more like a boutique entrance than that of a fine hotel.

Step away from the bustling street, however, and the feel inside is completely different. From the lobby onward, the building exudes a warmth that makes travellers feel immediately at home... and at rest. The decor is a wonderful mix of centuries-old architecture (with its brick and stone walls and exposed ceiling beams) and modern, minimalist decor of leather and mahogany furniture, enhanced by beautiful artwork.

The exceptional service is just as welcoming: from the doorman to the desk attendants, staff is welcoming, efficient, and fluently bilingual.

The lobby, however, is just a hint at what the rooms have to offer. On both stays, my room was very large by any hotel standards, with several exposed brick walls giving the room a real period feel. They are luxuriously appointed with a comfortable king size bed, a large desk, quality sound system with iPod dock, and several options for lighting (but not a fluorescent light in sight!) The bathroom offers a real zen space, with quality products. And, bathrobes are included in all rooms - a rare luxury!

Turn down service is wonderful - what a treat to return to your room after late-evening meetings to some treats on the nightstand, soft lighting, and classical music!

You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumo2girlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,543 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 166 in Montreal
1,129 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 166 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 166 in Montreal
1,792 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 166 in Montreal
2,105 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 166 in Montreal
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $149 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing