We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed in the world?!!”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Montreal for a couple of nights in December, and could not have chosen a better hotel. The greeting we had from the reception staff upon arrival was fabulous - they could not have been more helpful and friendly. The room itself was fabulous - spacious, very nice decor, and the bed..... I have never had a better nights sleep - the bed was incredibly comfortable!!! After mentioning on booking that is was our wedding anniversary, we arrived back after our first evening in the town to find a note and some chocolate strawberries in our room - very nice touch. Breakfast was delicious. All in all, no complaints - this place is fantastic.

Room Tip: Superior king rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arundec77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hotel Nelligan was all that we had hoped for and more. Our suite was spacious with a fireplace and four huge windows looking over a cobbled street with tiny shops. The concierge was exceptionally helpful and made our stay sublime. Great service from everyone,from the doorman to the maid service. Wonderful location, welcome beer or wine, cozy and charming at a great price. Will return if in Montreal.

Room Tip: The corner suite was not much more expensive than a room and it was spacious and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Was a place to be...as I say, was. We had a suite with a mini kitchen..nothing to even have a cup of coffee. We had reservations for 4, only 2 of eveything in the room. We left around 10:00 am for the day. The room was not done upon our return, around 16:00 hrs...

The staff however was almost impeccable. Their strong point of our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

One block away from the St. Lawrence river in the heart of old town is the Hotel Nelligan. An old warehouse type building has been redone leaving lots of exposed bricks and wood giving a very rustic and comfortable feeling. Very comfortable bar area and a choice of restaurants from the very formal to the casual and fun. Rooms are very comfortable with bath and showers that can't be beat. Our room also had a fireplace...great an snowy days. An excellent staff who are uber friendly and helpful made this a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a fireplace are fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Nelligan hotel and were totally thrilled by the experience. We just got married and received many little attentions and gifts from the staff. A real personalized service in a charming and unique hotel, greatly located in old Montreal.This was the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thandie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We organized our work holiday party at the Nelligan this year for 51 employees and their guests. The venue is beautiful, much better than your standard white walled conference room! So warm and charming. The food was excellent as well. However what impressed me the most was the staff! Professional, helpful, fun are only a few of the words that come to mind.

The valet was polite and efficient. The front desk was helpful and friendly. The banquet staff was amazing. So nice to have someone pour a glass of wine and not spill any. They are trained professionals (Believe it or not, many out there are NOT!) but they really seemed to enjoy their jobs. Keep in mind that they have been working at party after party during this busy season yet they treated us like we were the only guests that they have had all month! The hotel rooms are efficient and comfortable as well.

I highly recommend this venue for your events. You are guaranteed to host an event that will impress and charm your guests. It is also a great place for a romantic weekend in beautiful Old Montreal. Even if you just stop by for drinks at the bar, you just can't miss! THANK YOU to the entire Nelligan team and see you soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived in Montreal just for one night! Came to the city to walk around, have a nice meal, do a little shopping, enjoy the Christmas sights and hang out with a pretty special lady! From the first moment arriving at the hotel the valet met us at the curb, assisted us with our bags and took care of our vehicle. Check in was easy and pleasent with suggestions of places for dinner and must see sights in the city! Upon entering the room (215) we were immediatly overwhelmed at how cozy and romantic it felt. It had a nice gas fireplace, red brick walls, crown molding, 2 music sources with ipod radio, jacuzzi for two and a wonderful king size bed that you could easily get lost in, we are talking comfortable! The hotel was one block from Notra Damne and about a 15 minute walk to St Catherine St... my only complaint was in getting in the elevator.. there were about 7 or 8 beautiful women, all wearing different perfume and it was difficult picking which one I liked the best! Great hotel.. loved it, will definatly return!

Room Tip: Our room did not have any view of much on the back side of the hotel but was very quite. We had roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraxtonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,522 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,785 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,094 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $154 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing