We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel, charming neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wort
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel, charming neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

A wonderful location to launch your exploration of both old and new Montreal. The perfectly bilingual staff were friendly and efficient, and the rooms were large, comfortable, and stylishly appointed. And, importantly for our group of 9, the bar/breakfast room was spacious enough to provide seating for us all at breakfast and cocktail time.

Room Tip: For sleeping, you might want to request a room far from the open stairwell to the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    403
    81
    40
    19
See reviews for
203
1,193
57
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, b.c.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a super stay at this spot in October. Our room was quite lush and comfortable (with a full size fireplace!) . Staff are great and extremely helpful. This is an excellent location in old Montreal. What I would call a boutique hotel that we would certainly book again.

Room Tip: I would be surprised if there was a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royalcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My brother recommended the Hotel Nelligan to us as it is one of his favorite hotels. We met our daughter in Montreal for her birthday. She took the train from NYC and we flew from Chicago. The train station was only five minutes from the hotel in Old Montreal. We were upgraded to a room on the fourth floor that was beautiful, with French music playing on the radio when we walked in. We were very pleased. The bathroom was spacious with a large shower and whirlpool tub. The bed was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the hard working staff and the comfortable lounge and restaurant. I will recommend it to anyone traveling to Montreal.

Room Tip: If traveling on the weekend, the bar across the street can get quite loud. It's best to stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Two things about the Nelligan: the property and the service. What a nice surprise to get into this hotel and see what they have been able to do there: huge rooms that are elegant and practical and, at the same time, are able to keep the old flavor that tells the history of Old Montreal. The type of service we got at the hotel I haven't seen before: every person working there completely involved in making sure the guest is taken care of, a multi task team that understands that a person staying there is second to none. This hotel is a good reason to always go back to Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosr133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

After travelling over the Thanksgiving Weekend with our granddaughter (16 months old) we were very excited to spend our last night in Montreal at Hotel Nelligan. As we have not traveled with little ones for a long time, I do not have to explain about how tired we were. We wish to thank Daniel for anticipating our needs. From the valet service, to the wonderful breakfast the next morning; everything was more than we had hoped for. A crib was place in our room while we were at dinner. We enjoyed a great nights sleep in the comfortable beds. Even the baby enjoyed the room-we had to wake her up the next morning(which doesn't happen very often) so we could get to the airport for our flight back to our home province. Thanks for the memories - would definitely recommend Hotel Nelligan to anyone travelling to Montreal

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just returned from a long weekend in Montreal. Our stay at the Hotel Nelligan was amazing. The room itself was cozy, warm and inviting(petite suite). The bed and linens were wonderful and comfortable. Every single staff member was friendly, approachable, helpful and kind including bar staff, front desk personnel, valet's and concierges. We loved the ambience in the hotel especially the bar area and lobby with comfortable seating and fireplace. The location can't be beat as you are within walking distance of many shops, cafe's, fine restaurants and attractions. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast one morning and found it to be reasonably priced for the area. Complimentary coffee and tea in the morning is a nice touch too. All in all we had a wonderful experience in Montreal and would not hesitate to return to the city or this quaint, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcostfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have stayed here a few times in the past and have had nothing but Great times.
The Staff is FANTASTIC, Melisa,Maude,Dan are a few names that come to mind off the top of my head but everyone there in nothing less than great.
I brought 2 other couples last weekend and they were as happy with the people at the Neligan as we always have been. I never take the time to write a review on places throughout my travels but this place deserves my time to do it.
Heres Why
Form the minute you arrive to when you check out they go out of there way to help your stay be a great one and it is consistant visit after visit
you need something in your room ( towels, the battery is dead in the safe) they are there in 3 minutes everytime to take care of you
you need a car, dinner reservations, a scooter, bike rentals, whatever, they are all over it and make great recomendations to you
The rooms are are clean, quiet very confortable
The food is outstanding, Breakfast, lunch , snacks room service ETC.
What else can I say ? The only thing that we did not like was having to Leave...

Room Tip: They know what rooms we were in, in the past and have always asked if we would like something like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squeakyclean08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing