We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location of hotel could not have been better; the ambiance of this charming was excellent & the staff was willing , able and”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This charming hotel was just the right size for my family; tucked nicely in old Montreal but close enough to all of the city, makes this a great location. The ambiance was wonderful and staff aimed to please in all respects. They cared and showed it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weegie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,177)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nelligan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

We took our bikes as we had heard that Lachine Canal route was a good ride. Hotel Nelligan is a block from the bikepath. The hotel stored our bikes and also advised us on some great routes. The staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous. Rooms are spaceous and comfortable, including the bed...lots of pillows. Complimentary drink upon arrival which was nice. Great location for exploring Old Montreal. We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a lovely oasis in the heart of old Montreal is the Hotel Nelligan. Set on a narrow street near to everything, this boutique hotel is a delight. The lovely entrance leads you into a very welcoming lobby, with an atrium beyond. It's all light and great feng shui - very important properties to we seasoned travellers. The colours and fabrics are all eye-catching and fun. The staff are this hotel's most important asset. Everything starts at the front desk. If this experience goes well, then everything else is sure to fall into place nicely. We were immediately asked if we wanted to upgrade to a junior suite for an extra $25. How could we say no? We were taken up to a room that was perfectly fine, but tellingly 'different'. It was in the annex. We weren't thrilled. We asked to see a room in the 'original' side. We ended up in room 405 and that was it. An altogether different experience. The owners need to attend to the annex and make it as charming as the room we ended up with. This may not matter to many, but to us it does. The annex room had an artificial fireplace that was not set at the natural spot that a real fireplace would have been. In room 405, it was the real thing in the right place. Large windows overlooked the main street below. Lovely. The bathroom was well-appointed with a magnifying mirror. Love that. Delightful soaps and lotions, and bath salts for the big jacuzzi. The hotel doesn't provide slippers. We like slippers. But everything else was just fine and the king size bed was very comfy. The ethernet cable made hooking up the computer easy. The room came with coupons for breakfast, which is generous and includes cereals, granola, yoghurts, fresh fruit (yummy),hard-boiled eggs,and cheeses. Delicious bread for toast and we were set for the morning. I brought my own tea bags but never bothered using them. They have great tea and it's served piping hot - something sorely hard to find in U.S. hotels. Coffee is great, too. There was nothing really to complain about. This is as good an experience of home away from home that anyone can expect to find. In the evening, or even for lunch, take the elevator to the 5th floor, and head to the roof restaurant/bar, and chill out in chic elegance with a cocktail, perhaps, at sunset. There is a gym, too, that is clean and fairly well-appointed. 5 stars? Nothing is perfect. We rate this hotel a well-deserved, 4 good, sparkling stars. Places to eat? Don't miss Le Club Chasse et Peche for terrific, very high-end fare that we thought the best of our trip to this town and Quebec City, our other destination. For a fun, great bistro experience, try The Holder. (Not sure where the odd name derives, but what a great space.) Gallerie Elca London is just down the street from the hotel, and this is where we discovere Inuit sculpture for the first time. Mark London, the co-owner, is very friendly and helpful and I asked him to educate us on this people and their extraordinary talents carving stone, which he did happily. (Expect to pay. Canada is not a cheap destination!) This was indeed, a very pleasant way to start our 6 day trip to this welcoming city and wonderful country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original part of the hotel. The hotel consists of 2 buildings - both old -set...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomads1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is supposed to be an upscale hotel. My room had holes on the window sheers and blood stains on a pillowcase (maid: "it has been washed"). Amenities were not replaced. I had to call down twice, after waiting an hour, for clean towels. The towels were not replaced when the room was made up.
Great bartenders downstairs. The roof bar was absolutely packed. Staff was just ok.
Nice location for old Montreal, but overall I would not pay what I did to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnb2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I traveled with my mother to Montreal, and we booked Hotel Nelligan because she really wanted to stay in the old part of the city. We love to walk and explore, so it was great -- close to great restaurants and lots of sights!

Our room was great. We had been upgraded to a suite, and it was nicely appointed. Not huge, but the room was comfortable with a couch, a desk, sitting area near the fireplace, and a spacious bathroom. It was the end of April and a bit more than chilly outside. We would come back to Hotel Nelligan and turn on the fireplace and sit and read to warm up before dinner. The toiletries were incredibly masculine, so I was actually really happy I had packed everything I needed. Our one issue was the unfortunate neighbors who thought it appropriate to slam doors and have a huge party in their room at about 3am on a Sunday night. I was surprised to experience in a hotel like Nelligan. But overall, it was so cozy and wonderful! The concierges were fabulous and very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and booking us a private walking tour. And the complimentary glass of wine was nice to share downstairs in the lobby restaurant before we went to our dinner reservation one evening.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamdb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We loved Montreal. The city is wonderful and full of fun and interesting things to do. The hotel was perfect. Exposed brick walls spacious suite even with kids. French breakfast every morning walking distance to Notre Dame St Lawerence river and museums. Amazing cobblestone street with shops art and fabulous food. Bring extra cash for eating out would go back there in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lufts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

What's not to like? The staff is all very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, the room was lovely, the location is in the heart of Old Montreal, very close to museums, restaurants, and the port, and the price is very reasonable relative to hotels with comparable quality and location. I doubt I'd even consider other options for our next trip to Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,355 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
388 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $180 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing