We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montreal Jazz fest”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice evening, We arrived at our hotel late afternnon, we quickly got checked in and we were offered an upgrade at no extra cost. We walked ourselves into the action of the Jazz festival , the weather was great, the show was fantastic .... We slept like babies, the hotel even though it is in the heart of Old Montréal was very quiet and private.The next morning we walked ourselves down the street and enjoyed a continental beakfeat at" Olives and Gourmando".
A nice break from our everyday routine !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 2,244 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Over the weekend I stayed at the Nelligan for the fourth time in the past 3 or 4 years. I love the location of the hotel, in beautiful Old Montreal, and I can't say enough about the service. Everyone is eager to make your stay wonderful. The rooms are nice, but they are getting a bit worn over time and need sprucing up (the furniture is marred, and where there has been renovation, it is poorly done, with paint dripped onto the tiles in the bathroom, uneven tiles -- sloppy work). I noticed this on my last stay there in January, but booked again regardless. On this trip I was lucky and got upgraded to the penthouse suite, which sounded amazing when the lovely person at the front desk gave me the news, but the reality is that the room was tired looking, and the balcony that we had was used as a storage space for the terrace bar (lots of bar tables and stools). I hope the hotel recognizes the need for high quality renovation, because I would like to continue to stay there on my trips to Montreal. 5 stars for service, but 3 stars for physical upkeep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tribecadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love this hotel and have stayed many times. If you are a repeat visitor, they provide a plate of homemade cookies in your room with a "welcome back" note! The fireplace and whirlpool bath are the best after a long day. And the wine coupon for a free glass at happy hour is also welcome--although they used to give you a coupon for every night you stay and now there is only one per visit.

Room Tip: ask for one with the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenzelda1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great boutique hotel--we upgraded to a huge room with a double jacuzzi for only $25/night extra & it was well worth it. The location is fantastic--charming street in old Montreal, and very close to great restaurants and tourist spots, not to mention close to the subway, which is the best way to get around in Montreal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very nice little boutique hotel in Old Montreal...great location with a staff that was extremely friendly and helpful; nicely appointed bathroom with good space and the bed (king) was extremely comfortable! (The one downside is that we were told we would have a room with a view, and there really was none - a tiny balcony facting a brick wall.) Would definitely consider staying here again on a future trip to Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoytravelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very nice boutique hotel. We had a petit suite which was good sized and comfortable. The location is great. It’s very easy to walk around there and explore the area. We were there the weekend of the Montreal Jazz Festival. What a great time to be there and experience the free outdoor venues. Easy to walk to from the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 328 facing the street, and we didn't hear any noise from the bar or the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kw212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our first time staying at Hotel Nelligan, but we will definitely be returning. We originally picked this hotel because it is one block away from my parents place (the main purpose of our Montreal visit), but we realized that this place is amazing. The staff were kind from the cleaning staff to the front desk to the woman at the bar. Decor was modern, yet totally fit in the Old Monteal style of the area. Upon checking in, we received several coupons and information about all the events in Old Montreal (museums, jazz festival, etc.) The hotel was spotless and despite having special events in the ballroom and a lovely patio/roof cafe, it never felt busy or crowded. When thinking about writing this I honestly could not come up with one negative.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsmusictx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,063 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $147 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing