We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Panton, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

For our 27th Anniversary, we decided to go to Montreal for one night and enjoy the European atmosphere of the old section. Friends recommended the Nelligan and we were thrilled with the experience. It's run as a professional hotel, but with the intimacy and quaintness of an inn. The room was fabulous, double jacuzzi, fireplace, wonderful king size bed. The location is perfect for walking around and seeing all the sites. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    401
    81
    40
    18
See reviews for
201
1,184
57
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We recently had a party of 8 traveling to Montreal for a 2 night stay before a bicycle trip in Vermont. This hotel had been recommended to us by our bicycle tour guide from Vermont. It was easy to make reservations by phone, not even using long a long distance phone call from the US.

When we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful. All the rooms we had contained King beds with very plush linens. The rooms had lots of character in decor. One wall of each room was authentic brick. The bathrooms were spacious and comfortable for 2 to get ready. If you went to the lobby with a question about the hotel amenities or directions or whatever, the staff appeared to be waiting your inquiry. There was complimentary coffee at the lobby level each morning.

The location of this hotel is convenient to many restaurants, bars and shops for exploring old Montreal, We took the subway to hike Mount Royal which was a real treat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegiant10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our first visit to Montreal could not have been more perfect, and this hotel played a major part. The location could not be more perfect, right in the middle of the romantic, historic old town.

I made the prepaid booking through a vendor website about an hour before arriving. They were unable to locate the reservation, as the vendor I used had a more manual process than one would expect in this day and age. The front desk agent was very pleasant, apologized for the issue (even though it was not the hotel's fault), and gave me a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite for the confusion and delay.

The issue was fixed before I checked out the next day, and I was only billed for the valet parking, which was a reasonable $25. They allowed me to keep my car in their garage after I had checked out without any additional charge. The courteous and efficient bell staff even took my bag to my car so we could go sightseeing.

The room was much larger than I would have expected for such a location. It had a fireplace, a king sized bed, a two person Jacuzzi, and a beautiful view of the cobblestone streets. It was quiet, comfortable, clean, and elegant modern in decor.

The front desk recommended a restaurant down the street which was obviously designed for tourists, but we had a lovely, romantic meal.

I could not have been more pleased with my stay there. We loved Montreal, and will be going back soon. I know EXACTLY where we will be staying!

Room Tip: Even though I didn't have to pay for it, the jr suite upgrade for $25 would be completely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFTtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Being a guest at Hotel Nelligan was a truly lovely experience. From the prompt concierge service, to the friendly hotel bar staff, to the charming front desk employees... the Nelligan met my every need. It's decor, furniture, and overall "feel" was also one that would keep me coming back for me. You can't help but feel both calm and serene, while also feeling chic and first class.

Amazing establishment. Hands down ...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrotunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a great stay a Nelligan's. The room was spacious and very comfortable. All staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardengirls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Excellent Hotel, Great Location, Great Suite and Fantastic Staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINDEN
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

The Nelligan is a wonderful small hotel in Old Montreal. Outstanding service and great rooms. Must visit the lounge on the rooftop. so courteous and in the right place when needed. It very close to Notre Dame and on a busy but mostly pedestrian street. Area as a whole is not conducive to driving due to narrow streets. Valet parking is very efficient.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOMAN3672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing