We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The overall stay was great. The staff was friendy and helpful.The neighborhood is fun with many restaurants, bars and galleries. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very nice-great shower.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmiller831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Hotel Nelligan is a small boutique hotel in the port area of Old Montreal. The rooms are very comfortable yet also very stylish - each one different from the others. Everyone we met was very helpful and so friendly. This quality makes the place somewhere you would love to come back to. The location on Rue St. Paul is perfect - for fine restaurants, shops, galleries and just walking along fun streets. The hotel's rooftop restaurant makes this the very best place for lunch, dinner or just drinks. And the food is outstanding. But it is the people who work the hotel that makes it a 5 star experience. We have reommended it to everyone and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

For me, this is the ONLY hotel to stay at in Montreal. The location is ideal - in Old Montreal, but slightly away from the most crowded tourist area. The facilities are warm and inviting. The bed the most comfortable you will ever rest in. The attached restaurant - Verses - offers one of the best meals in a city known for great food. The lobby bar, and rooftop bar, are hopping. But, for me, the most important is the staff. At every level, they go out of their way to make the stay a perfect one. The front desk staff is the warmest, friendliest, and most helpful that you will find at any hotel, anywhere. The restaurant staff, as well. The bellmen too. It really is the people at the Nelligan who make the complete experience so delightful. A short weekend feels like a real vacation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new wing. The bathrooms, particularly, are bigger and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend in May, 2011, however when we return I definitely would come back to this hotel. The rooms are beautiful -- exposed brick, large bathroom, comfy bed. The staff was also extremely nice and always helpful. And the location is just fantastic! I can't add much more than what others have already said about Hotel Nelligan, but if you want to stay in a stylish, comfortable spot in Old Montreal, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Nelligan for our last night in Montreal. I was looking forward to staying here based on the reviews and their website. I was not disappointed in the hotel itself but it is on the busiest street of Old Montreal so if you are looking for a quiet place this would not be it. Our room was very large and well appointed but we were on the 5th floor which is the same floor as the terrace bar and our room was next to the bathrooms for the terrace bar. So it was a bit noisy in our hall and the carpet looked a bit worn and was actually taped down. We ordered room service the next morning because we were leaving so early and our breakfast was delicious. The staff was very pleasant and overall it was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 5th floor near the terrace bar unless you like people walking up and dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BijouxGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Recommended by a friend as a great spot to stay on our honey moon in beautiful Old Montreal. The Nelligan blew us away with amazing facilities and the staff was very warm and friendly in a genuine way. Where other hotels go through the motions of the employee handbook, the Nelligan staff were on the same page. The food there is awesome, well priced and good size portions. It also sports a roof top terrace bar/restaurant. The concierge upgraded our room to a suite without us asking - for our honey moon which made it very special. The room was spectacular with exposed original stone and brickwork - very unique. It was spacious and very well kept. The bed was made two times a day. The location is perfect, in the heart of Old Montreal, surrounded by great restaurants, although we ate all meals except a 2 at the Nelligan. Its even close enough to downtown shopping to walk. We were so impressed we left a gift and thank you card for the staff. If you want a hotel worthy of its surroundings and culture, stay at the Nelligan while visiting Montreal!
PS - the massage therapy was fantastic!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Hotel Nelligan is located in a narrow, but busy street in the Old Port area. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. Great turn down service - with complimentary chocolates and water left daily. Casual breakfast area - with a reasonable continental breakfast on offer. The hot options were very limited though. Nice restaurant, and a very popular bar on the 5th floor. There was also a nice steakhouse next door - but the music was so loud it was overbearing. Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay and I would not hesitate to come back here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,063 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $147 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing