We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Funky”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Elegant and Funky”
Reviewed October 29, 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Nelligan whilst on a conference.

The hotel is located in the old part of montreal, near cathedrals, art galleries and the like. Great area for strolling around.

The Nelligan is all about style. It has a hip funky vibe that would appeal to well to do twenty and thirty somethings as well as some of the older set. It has an understated but somewhat high end boutique atmosphere. In other words, I wouldn't stay there if I was looking for a bargain hotel just to sleep and shower. I also did not see any children during our stay and I wouldn't think it to be suitable for a family trip. It is, however, the perfect spot for a romantic decadent weekend away for a couple. Much of the appeal is the elegance of the surroundings.

We had a standard room with a king sized bed. The room had beautiful quality linens and furniture , a wellstocked bar and fridge, a nice sound system (that will be playing relaxing music when you arrive) and a stylish bathroom (soaker tub, beautiful sink and lighting). All of the accessories were in stylish stainless steel.

The hotel had impecable service from all staff. Quick helpful front desk, fast vallet and great bar staff in thier adjoining cocktail bar and rooftop bar. The bar area is perfect for a few decadent martini's before you hit the town or retire for the night (be warned - high prices but with luxery brand names and obvious detailled prep work involved. The cucumber martini was surprisingly delicious and refreshing as was the watermelon mojito.) The rooftop bar had an awesome view and great ambiance. The bars appear to be moderately popular on weekends which do add to the noise factor if your room is facing the interior courtyard in which the bar is located (we didn't find it to be excessive).

Food - Breakfast is included in the stay and is quite pleasant for a complimentary continental setup. Fresh pastries and breads, cheeses, boiled eggs, fruit salad and much more and excellent coffee. There are stainless steel trays of green apples everwhere for the taking at the Nelligan which add to the funky vibe of the place. There is also a complimentary wine and cheese social each night also included with the stay, which includes some excellent french cheeses and a decent glass of wine. We found staff happy to replace the cheese tray with fresh if you noticed it getting empty. We didn't try the restaurent service.

Overall if you are interested in a hip yet classy place to explore Montreal from and cost is not an issue, you will love the Nelligan.

  • Liked — Classy & hip atmosphere, great drinks, great service
  • Disliked — a bit pricey
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    423
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
223
1,244
57
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed at the Nelligan twice, once in July 2005 and once in July 2006. This is a beautiful boutique hotel in "Old Montreal", the only neighborhood to stay in. The staff is great. The rooms are large and clean, very deluxe. Also, the free wine and cheese at happy hour is fun...great way to meet other people.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank raftingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

This was our second stay at the Nelligan and we enjoyed it as much as the first. We were a little concerned this time since the hotel recently expanded into adjoining buildings. The lobby area was definitely busier, but the overall impact on the hotel is not that bad - although we wished they had left a good situation alone. Our “loft type suite” room was very spacious with a fireplace, and a beautiful bathroom with double Jacuzzi. The room had exposed stone and brick walls, earth tone colors, and the overall look was warm and inviting. I was told by reception that the rooms in the new expansion area are in general smaller and have a darker look and feel. We overheard a business group talking in the bar area after their arrival at the hotel, and everyone in the group was commenting on how nice their room was regardless of location.

The experience at the Nelligan is enhanced by a complimentary light breakfast buffet in the morning, and an evening glass of wine with cheese selections. Nothing too fancy, just a basic and a nice touch. There is also a rooftop bar, nice but small gym room, and an internet corner next to the front deck. The location is great, right in the middle of Old Montreal. We prefer this hotel to its sister property, the Place d’Armes, mostly because the vast majority of the rooms in that hotel have a much darker look than the rooms in the original section of the Nelligan.

  • Liked — Comfortable room.
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We stayed here recently as an add-on to a wedding we attended in Kingston. This hotel is in an outstanding location, probably its best asset, on easily the prettiest street in Montreal, right in the heart of Old Montreal. This is a classic four-star boutique hotel, with all the advantages that come with a boutique hotel. More personal feel, although admittedly I've seen friendlier staff in numerous other hotels. This is not to be mistaken as an indication that the staff is snooty, though, they were not. Perfectly helpful when asked, simply not effusively anticipating one's every need, as seen in the top-notch hotels. Although some might consider that to be stifling, anyways.

The interior design of the common areas and the rooms is lovely. Beautiful use of the original exposed brick walls in the room interiors. A mix of original with modern design. I'm not a fan of minimalist design just for the purpose of being minimalist, as is seen in many boutique hotels. This place is homey as a boutique hotel.

Breakfast was dissapointing, the only drawback.

This hotel was a great value also, highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ParisDreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We visited Montreal for a four day 20th Anniversary Weekend over Thanksgiving, and found the Nelligan perfect....

Our King Loft room was spacious, and nicely appointed, with a very comfortable King bed, a (false but attractive) fireplace and loads of exposed brick and stone. I had arranged for flowers when we reserved, and forwarded an Anniversary card to the concierge which was in the room by the flowers as we entered, with beautiful lighting and classical music playing. When I woke through the night (something I do regularly, not as a result of any noise) I could hear people in the street, but it was not to the point that it would wake us. The location, right in Old Montreal, was perfect for walking tours, and we never needed any other transport. The area is filled with good restaurants and galleries, and the concierge was very knowledgable about the area and restaurants/shops.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, (a reservation made via the concierge in advance) and found the food and service excellent, and romantic. The included continental breakfasts were more than sufficient for us, and we enjoyed the evening wine and cheese as well. All the hotel and restaurant staff were helpful, and courtious.

On the negative side? Yes, the toilet in our restroom was a snug fit beside the double jacuzzi, and the room service food wasn't as hot as it should have been, although it was delicious. I'd have to stretch to find any other 'complaints'.

Overall, we found the hotel to be an excellent value, and we are looking forward to a return visit!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

nice rooms, great staff, good bar, good downtown location in Old Montreal but very noisy late at night from partiers - if you need a quiet night's sleep not the place for you - but if you are going to be partying late or are a sound sleeper nice rooms. stayed in Hotel Le St Martin first night in Laval - nicer room and much cheaper if you don't need to be downtown.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank KelownaCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo,CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We just returned last night from our trip to Montreal.

Hotel is unassuming from the outside. Very lovely once inside the doors. The young staff is very attentive, from the doormen to the maid service.

James, the doorman, was always helpful, calling cabs, etc. Jeanne, at the front desk, was so informative. When my husband asked for directions on how to return to the hotel from the airport (cause he was picking up a car) Jeanne arranged for a car locally.
When we asked about a particular Bistro for lunch, Jeanne made sure the other young woman actually called the Bistro for reservations-a good thing, they were closed! Dina was helpful when my husband needed to rent a bike.

Wine and cheese in the lounge is a nice touch. We found the breakfasts fine-hard boiled eggs, bagels and other breads, muffins, fruit, yogurt and cereals.

One of the best beds (and pillows) we have ever had, and we have stayed at the Four Seasons. Very comfortable. Room had an outside window, very quiet. Room and bathroom were spacious.

Maid service was excellent-always tidying up and freshening the bed.

Location was superb-we walked to most everything-great restaurants literally out the door, as was the architectual museum.

We would return in a heartbeat. Outstanding.

  • Liked — Amazing beds/pillows
  • Disliked — Bathroom could have had a little more overhead lighting at the mirror
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jwthere4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,340 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,705 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing