We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant hotel, more attentive service wouldn't go amiss though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A brilliant hotel, more attentive service wouldn't go amiss though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed here for a week in March 2010.

The hotel has got a very unique vibe to it that you realise as soon as you walk into the lobby, the place is spotless and very well presented.

The staff are ok, not too attentive but they do their job well and all seem relatively happy in what they do.

We had a 1 bedroom suite, and it was absolutely superb, the room was absolutely huge and featured a massive bathroom with shower/bath with dual basins. Two flat-screen TVs and 1 King and 1 rollaway bed to sleep on and also featured a fully-fledged dining table along with a fully-fitted kitchen to cook from. The room we had, had alot of light running through it which kept the room feeling fresh and airey all the days we stayed there.

The location of the hotel is a bit out of the way of the major attractions, and far from the Montreal old-town but nevertheless it's easy to get around on the subway. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool and a sun-deck that can be used in the Summer, both were in excellent order when we saw them but we didn't actually go in for a dip as it was too cold.

The breakfast was included in the hotel rate we paid, and was the usual buffet breakfast affair, it was a very comprehensive breakfast served and definately filled the spot first thing in the morning.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay at Le Square Phillips and it would get 5 stars if it wasn't for the location, attentiveness of staff and slightly expensive price-tag

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saints_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    618
    64
    13
    10
See reviews for
879
557
68
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

What's Great: Large Room and Large Bathroom with sunken bathtub
convenient to everything, even the deluxe room has a kitchenette.
great price, but if you want a boutique hotel with lots of charm, this is not it.
This is a family friendly hotel, so the breakfast area on the 2nd floor can get
a bit overwhelming. The complimentary breakfast is equivalent to let's say "Econo Lodge"
so don't expect it too much.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlove08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was our first trip to Montreal and this hotel helped make this trip one to remember. Its location is wonderful- right next to St. Catherine street where there are lots of restaurants, bars, shops, and an entrance to the underground city.

We rented a king studio which was very clean, spacious, and enjoyable. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again, however you nay want to look at locations in old Montreal- we thought that part of the city had more culture and life, although this location was wonderful as well

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RB815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites during our Xmas getaway. Long before our stay we communicated with the desk and received prompt, quality answers and advice which really helped us later. Check-in was a breeze, concierge was top notch in handling our luggage, arranging transportation and guidance. Family suite was clean, modern and in great condition. Hotel location was A-1 too, close to pretty much everything we needed. Breakfast was a bit of disappointment (crowdy, closed @ 10 am, limited food) but we good with our kitchenette.
Next time in Montreal we will definitely consider Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites as our place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bravissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Stayed for a week for work. Had my family join me on the week end. Largest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Was in 1010. Think all the number 10 rooms on each floor are enormous. Breakfast was a bit basic but did the trick. Superb location for restaurants and shopping in spare time. Only downer was the gym was a bit small and the equipment was quite dated. Small but beautiful pool. Also no hotel bar, which I almost consider a must on business trips. The restaurant attached to the hotel was quite lovely if not open all the time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytravellers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

This hotel is located right downtown across from The Bay. We paid less for it than any other hotel in a major North American city. When we got to the room, it was enormous! Thre was a full kitchen, a king size bed, large bathroom, and plenty of space on top of it all. The staff were warm and friendly. We didn't check out the breakfasts (too many other great places to eat in Montreal) but I know they are often criticized on this board. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonsammy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

If you appreciate a very well maintained, exceptionally clean and comfortable hotel, this is for you. I had a one bedroom with queen bed, large living / dining room and small fully equiped kitchen. It was simply furnished but had wonderful lighting with high ceilings and corner moldings. All linens and bath products were plentiful and of very good quality. Housekeeping was impeccable both in the room and common areas. The roof top area with excercise room, in door pool, outdoor terrace ( really enjoyed the flowers) , and laundromat were small but never crowded. Complimentary breakfast , although not hot, was always fresh with plenty of bagels, croissants, cereal, juice, fresh fruit and coffee......would have been nice to have some variety from day to day. The front desk staff were professional yet friendly and helpful with directions/information...really liked talking with Phillip. Shopping on St Catherine street was only 2 blocks away but there didn't seem to be many nice restaurants close to hotel. The pizza place next to hotel was quite good. Old Montreal is about a 20 minute walk through a very pleasant area including a park. Be sure to see the Basilica Notre Dame and eat at one of the many French restaurants. There is so much positive to say about all of Montreal and the hotel, I definitely want to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardella63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing