We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2006

This hotel was everything that the reviews said it was. Unbelievably clean, huge space, good service, & at a good price. The kids loved the pool & it was nice to have breakfast included. Every hotel should take some tips from this place - I wish they had a location in every major city.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    622
    64
    13
    10
See reviews for
890
561
71
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2006

This hotel goes ABOVE and BEYOND my expectations! I came across it searching for hotels in Montreal and never heard of it. Apparently, it was walking distance to where my husband was going for an interview. I was hesitant about making reservations here but after reading the TON of reviews (not many people would go out of their way to write reviews unless it was real good or real bad) and having a pleasant conversation with reservations, i went ahead and booked it. NO REGRETS! I am a very very picky person most especially when it comes to service, cleanliness, and safety. The service was excellent from the very beginning to end! Everyone at the front desk, the bellboy/valet guy, cleaning crew were sooo friendly and helpful! We got a junior suite for my husband, our 15mon old son and myself. The room was HUGE, comfortable, clean and decorated nicely. The kitchen was a HUGE plus...great for those w/ kids, lots of windows, HUGE bathroom etc. I especially liked the hugh ceilings. Free breakfast is ALWAYS nice and a BIG convenience. Huge selection. So, to those of you looking for a place to stay in MOntreal, Le square Phillips is the ONE. THe BEST value for your money and i cannot stress enough how wonderful the service was. Hope they keep it up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2006

We stayed here for the New Year with our 2 kids and can thoroughly recommend this hotel for families. We booked the Square Phillips after checking the reviews on this website and we were not disappointed. It was our first time in Montreal so it was convenient that the hotel is so centrally located. The service we received was excellent, our room was huge and fully equipped, the choice for breakfast was very good too. It is a small hotel with a small lobby and a small pool, which was perfect for us, however may not suit everyone - I think if I came again to Montreal with just my partner we would choose a different hotel, but I know if we come with kids, we'd choose the Square Phillips anytime. Note - we did ask for a smoking room, but were given non smoking!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2006

Date: January 12, 2006
Reviewer: Aileen, Cleveland, Ohio

It was the biggest room I've ever stayed in (with tall ceilings and more square footage than my siser's co-op in Manhattan) - and for a GREAT price! Ask for the corner rooms, which are huge (we stayed in #711). It is very centrally located, walkable to Old Town and the Latin Quarter for those in comfortable shoes. Not far at all from Chinatown, even closer to lots of shopping. I love the modern, simple (but not austere) style. Generous continental breakfast. Full kitchen; deli downstairs in the storefront. No spa services or room service. Treadmill was out of order (but did enough walking in the city). Staff was very friendly and helpful.
When I go back to Montreal (hopefully soon), I will go back again and again to Le Square Phillips.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2005

Gran,Gramps, Mum and Grandchild stayed in Deluxe 2 bedroom suite (best choice for sleeping 4 comfortably). Spacious living area and main bedroom, 2nd bedroom possibly getting a little small for mum and rollaway bed for granchild. Great central location (so dont need car -valet parked). Really friendly and helpful staff. Small heated pool but nobody else there when we went. Small but useful and cheap cafe/shop attached to hotel.
For good vegetarian meal choice try Le Commensal (very busy at lunchtime)at corner Rue St Catherine and McGill.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KenTripUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2005

I booked this hotel on the basis of other reviews on this site and it did not disappoint. We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was massive (compared to the usual english hotels we have) and had a kitchen with full size cooker and fridge and a dining table. None of your usual mini fridge and 2 ring cooker. I only wished we had been here longer to make use of it.

Location of hotel could not have been better (just behind The Bay and near the Eaton centre) and valet parking was a great treat, not having to worry about where to park your car.

A great place to stay!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2005

Le Square Phillips is an apartment hotel. It is very clean and it is situated in the center of downtown Montreal. It is a very busy area during the day and you can easily walk to many of the stores and restaurants in the area. It is also not very far from the old city. During the night though, it is not the best area to be at, and some people may not feel comfortable walking there late at night.

The room that we stayed in was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The noise from the street was very reasonable, although I should mention that we stayed on the 9th floor.

A few Warnings
1 - The windows at this hotel do not open. In addition, they would not guarantee a non-smoking room when you make a reservation. Good Luck.
2 - If you do not like to hear screaming babies at night and kids playing in the hallways during the day, this may not be the place for you. This is the case with most apartment hotels though.
3 - The people at the reception were generally not very nice and there were many times when the reception was left unattended.
The concierge was very nice though.

Helpful?
20 Thank windlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing