We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Outstanding value and location”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

In a recent trip to Montreal celebrating our youngest child's 18th birthday we opted to try this location. From the moment we checked in, a very pleasant expedited experience, to the small bistro adjacent to the lobby delaying their closing time a few minutes to allow us a decanted bottle of wine, the service was top notch. Our room, enormous by any standard, was absolutely perfect for a family, with fully equipped kitchen, along with a separate bedroom for mom and dad to escape to while the kids stayed up to enjoy the city. Waking distance from St Catherine's St, many restaurants and shopping this hotel will be our destination of choice when returning to the city.

Room Tip: Found better rate on hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    651
    66
    15
    10
See reviews for
942
594
79
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monkton, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice and each stay has been great! You cannot beat the value of staying in the family suite. Tons of room for the kids to feel like they had their own space. The kids even got a goodie bag when they checked in! Perfect location and very friendly staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Igot2legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked a suite that had a king bed in one room, a queen in the main area and a fold out bed for five people. There was MORE than enough room. There was a full kitchen and free breakfast.
Clean, spacious, a great value in a great location right of St. Catherines.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjpnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at three hotels in downtown Montreal all good but this hotel was the best for the money. One block from the heart of all the action on St Catherine St. All the other attractions are walkable. The size of the room with a kitchen beats all the rest. Feels like a condo. Old converted warehouse so ceilings are high and large Building is quite. Constructed of concrete and good windows so you don't hear any street noise. Parking is a rip off everywhere in Downtown Montreal and the prices are the same everywhere. The government has monopolized parking to soak the tourists. They are desperate for cash so they love taxing tourists.

Room Tip: Find an updated suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife, and I love the city of Montreal and are great fans of the game of Curling so, when the Canadian Women's Curling Championship ( The Scotties) was held there in February, we could not pass up the chance to go. As well, we have a Nephew and his family there which made the idea a triple hit! We decided to stay at Le Square Philips Hotel and Suites in the centre of the city. Le Square Philips Hotel and Suites was one of the Corporate Sponsors of the Scotties and supporting sponsors is, always, a good thing.

Having never stayed Le Square Philips Hotel and Suites before, we had only the reviews to go by but we not disappointed at all. The hotel is located just minutes away on foot from The Central Station, so close that we were able to walk from the hotel to the satin despite the Montreal winter weather. It is situated on one of Montreal's many small squares, and close to the Bay store and access to the Metro Subway system giving access to the entire city and its many attractions.

The suites are large, well appointed and furnished with the high ceilings one finds in these wonderfully recovered warehouse building one finds throughout the downtown. As all suites, our room had a full kitchen full sized fridge and was well equipped with everything one would need to prepare, and serve, full meals for four people. That is, if one was willing to forego the wonderful food options which abound all across this great city. In fact, two wonderful restaurants which we enjoyed are less than a block away from the hotel front door. They being, the wonderful little Bistro, Le Grand Comptoir and il Foccalaio an amazing Pizza restaurant ( 59 different pies and a wood oven!).

The staff of Le Square Philips Hotel and Suites are wonderful. From the welcome we received from the ladies at reception, Concierge Sébastien, the effervescent Maria who made the breakfast room perfectly stocked and tidy and the floor staff clearly had their focus on guest comfort. All this, in a moderately priced suite hotel in the heart of Montreal.

We have stayed elsewhere in Montreal may times over the past years and each has its own merits, but our discovery of Le Square Philips Hotel and Suites is one we wish we had made a long time ago. The saying, "Location, Location, Location" is a truism, but Service, Service, Service added to that is what we enjoyed during our stay. The one downside was February, in Montreal. All the more reason to be situated so close to the Metro, the Central Station and great food.

Some of the reviews for Le Square Philips Hotel and Suites are surprisingly negative when the reality is that this 3 star hotel offers more than many in the city with a higher rating. Our experience was pleasant, and we felt to be important to everyone on the staff.

As I said, we have stayed may places in the city over the years. We do have our favourites and Le Square Philips Hotel and Suites, now, on that list. When we return to Montreal for time downtown, it will be at Le Square Philips Hotel and Suites.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grimsbybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent 2 days in Montreal and wanted to be close to the downtown attractions and restaurants, and the hotel met our needs admirably. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was comfortable and clean. The bedroom and living room were large and quiet, and the kitchen well equipped. The staff was attentive and helpful, both at the front desk and concierge. We used valet parking as it was mid winter and we wanted our car to be parked indoors, and this also worked well.

We had dinner in the on-site Trattoria and can highly recommend it. The food was excellent, and while the menu was Italian, the meal was served with French flair. The second evening we walked to a French restaurant nearby which was recommended by the concierge, and had a lovely meal. The underground shopping that criss crosses Montreal can be accessed from the department store in the square, which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

All-in-all, highly recommended and good value.We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinschles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great location, lots of space, full kitchen, friendly service.
The bathroom needed updating, and the breakfast is mostly bread and cereal, and only good for a few mornings. I'm giving it an excellent rating because it was about 1/3 the price of the Ritz Carlton.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,340 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,600 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 165 in Montreal
2,169 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing