We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“FANTASTIQUE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sweet Deal
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“FANTASTIQUE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Please contact me if you find better! This suite style hotel is perfectly situated downtown. This hotel includes a beautiful roof top indoor pool, the best "continental" breakfast I've ever had, large immaculate rooms with ceilings that give a very grand feeling to each room, and kind/respectful/helpful staff and valet parking. I truly doubt you will find another hotel that can beat this one!

This is my new "go-to" hotel when I need to be in Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    541
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
773
469
59
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very, very good hotel! Where will I start?
Location: very central, right in downtown and the hub of activity. Very close to McGill university. A few blocks from Metro and bus stops.
Appearance: the lobby is so nice I did not think that this is a suite-hotel. The concierge and the front desk people are very helpful.
Rooms: very spacious. The alcove suite we got is bigger than a 2-double bed room we get in other hotels. It has a spacious kitchen with enough equipment to make simple meals.
It is a few dollars more expensive than a regular king-bedroom but it will make up for the meals that you can cook and eat in inside the suite.
Breakfast is ok. But can be improved. Maybe add a hot meal to it?
The only problem I had was the laundry room. Can it be outside the gym or even have a door outside the gym? It is very inconvenient to go around the gym and open again another door to have access to the laundry.
Overall, I would stay here again when I visit Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked this hotel for a one-night stay in Montreal, while traveling by train from Quebec to New York. It was an easy walk from the train station, and we found the Phillips Square area to be delightful: lots of pedestrians, shopping, restaurants, and a lively vibe, and pretty much in the center of things (though we did not have much time to explore this big city!).

The hotel could not have been nicer--large, clean room; friendly and helpful staff; everything sort of up-to-date (example: table lamps with extra outlets for charging phones and tablets). Indoor pool on the rooftop and self-serve laundry. We only wished we had more time to stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webfoot1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Top aspect for me for this hotel is the situation. It's very convenient for the central rail station and for the shopping on Catherine Street being just a minute or two from each. Yet it's on a quiet road and was peaceful at night. For me though the place just lacked the x-factor. Rooms were spacious but dour, the pool was nothing special (indeed I saw two families turn away disappointed when they went up there). The place had no bar or even café so didn't become a haunt at all while we were there.
Decent value for money though and it was certainly clean. All in all then it was 'ok'

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Phillips Square is located walking distance from the Central Train Station and large portions if the "undegeound city". 3 couples took a train into Montreal and easier walked to the hotel. We conquered the city with convienence to subway stations, nightlife and great restaurants. The service was great and the rooms were spacious and come with full kitchen. Rooftop pool and terrese made it even better. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a week in late September (2013) in a two bedroom suite (we were in Room 720). A large master bedroom, with a decent-sized second bedroom. An enormous living/dining area, twelve foot high ceilings with huge windows, and a full kitchen, including full-size fridge/freezer, oven and four-burner cooktop, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, electric kettle, and plates/cups/glasses/utensils. The room was clean, with ample closet space. The beds were comfortable. There were plenty of towels. There's a rooftop pool/gym, with an area where you can enjoy the sunset with a bottle of wine; there's also a laundry room there. The expanded continental breakfast consisted of multiple types of breads and muffins, cold cereals in several varieties, instant oatmeal, coffee and tea, and six kinds of fresh fruit. There's free internet and a printer near the lobby, but the wifi in the room worked pretty well. The concierges can't seem to do enough for you.

The hotel is well-placed, as it's about 4 blocks to the nearest grocery store and several blocks to either of two metro stations. It's about 3 blocks from the nearest pharmacy and across the street from a bank. If you're into typical shopping, there's a lot of that within easy walking distance. We were both woken up by early-morning trash collection a couple of times, but overall street noise was minimal and we almost never heard any of our neighbors. This hotel is deservedly popular with families and business travelers; many representatives from an international aviation conference were here during our stay. The staff are polite and professional. One caveat: stay out of the adjoining restaurant on the ground floor, Trattoria Zia. It isn't part of the hotel; it just happens to be next door, and it's overpriced and utterly mediocre.

My friend and I were so impressed with Le Square Phillips that we returned here after a week elsewhere in Canada for our last night in the country, even though we had originally planned to stay elsewhere for that night. If I have to suggest an improvement, it would be nice for the bathroom to have a fan. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoixDuChocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquarePhillips, Manager at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you decided to change your original plan and come back at our hotel! It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Overall this was a great hotel and we would stay here again. Great location. Clean, spacious and quiet rooms with great city views. Staff was professional and accommodating. On arriving one of the managers wheeled out a wagon full of toys and had my two kids each pick one. A nice start to a nice trip.

Roof top deck had great views of downtown. Pool was on the small side, but the kids didn't mind. Free breakfast was a carb fest (bread, bagels, waffles, muffins, cereal, croissants) with some juices, coffee and fruit. Breakfast room was nice but crowded. But it's included, so no complaints.

Only problem was they had the wrong rate on the bill. It was fixed in less than two minutes with apologies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuckyHuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#12 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing