We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big rooms, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with other family members. We occupied 3 rooms and all members of our party are amazed at how big the rooms were. There were high ceilings and ample cabinet spaces in each room with flat screen tv. The rooms are all with kitchen although we were not able to use them since we can't find pots and pans. If you're used to staying in villas in resorts with fully equipped kitchens, you will find the kitchen here much lacking. Anyway, the beds are very comfy, linens and towels are clean. The location is great since you are just a few steps from the closest entrance to the underground stores. It's also just at least 10 minute walk from the Hopin Hopoff Bus terminal. You can actually just go underground, browse the stores and get out by the Simon's Mall and the terminal is just a block away. The reception staff are very helpful specially Antonin and Denis (I think). Breakfast is also included. Although there's not a lot of choices, breakfast is more than enough.

Room Tip: Choose the odd numbered rooms. Although they are the same size as the even ones, the way the cabinet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Le Square is conveniently located in downtown Montreal and an easy bus ride from the airport. We had a very large King Suite with a kitchenette that had great views of the city and plenty of space.

The staff was kind and friendly.

The roof top pool was a great escape.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmmajetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for about a week with my family of young adults and two things stand out - the location & room size/ambience.

The location is ideal if you are visiting downtown Montreal as everything - shopping, entertainment, restaurants, sights - are within walking distance. Montreal is a great place and this hotel certainly puts you right in the middle of things . . . which leads to the ambience. The hotel has this elegance around it and the rooms as others have said are the size of small elegant apartments with some of the biggest windows I've ever seen. We all fitted right in and it felt so homely which added to making our visit to Montreal a great one.

Do visit the pool & patio on the top floor, the view at night is just like what you have on the Hotel's website.The gym is also very good although it might get a bit crowded due to the size.

Staff were all very friendly, right from doing the booking all the way to helping load our luggage into the car when we were leaving.

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and we are already planning to come back.

Downside? The 2-bedroom apartment had only one bathroom which can be an inconvenience when travelling as a family and the complimentary breakfast could do with some more items on the menu (but then there are so many fantastic breakfast places around you wouldn't really want to eat in the Hotel).

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed 8 nights here in late September/early October. The distinguishing feature of this hotel is the amount of space in the rooms and their set up as small apartments - makes for a much more homely experience than the standard hotel. The well equipped kitchenette and especially the good quality coffee made the stay very comfortable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Hayesinkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is housed in a historic building downtown Montreal. The one bedroom was really large with high ceilings. Size of the room is impressive. The bed was super large and comfortable. There was a kitchen but we didn't use it. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. There is a complimentary breakfast with freshly baked croissants and muffins. There are some fruits but bigger variety would be welcome. Nice fitness facility with a rooftop swimming pool offering city views. Saint Catherine shopping is just around the corner. Le Square Phillips means central location with a touch of class.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvin_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

By far the best hotel we have stayed in! From the moment we checked in and were upgraded to a one bedroom king suite, to the check in staff wheeling out a wheelbarrow of toys for my children to choose from, to seeing our superb room, with it's high ceilings, lovely furnishings and full kitchen, I knew we were in for a treat! The wifi was fast and had a strong signal. The indoor pool area was on the top floor, and just outside is a terrace overlooking the city. The gym is well equipped with three cross trainers, three treadmills and four bikes. There are also weights. The laundry is next to the gym and has three washers and three dryers. The front desk helpfully changed my money into dollar coins without me needing to ask. The breakfast area is bright and well supplied with bread, waffles, pastries, muffins, cereal, coffee, fruit, juice. At all times staff were helpful and friendly, and it was clear that the priority of this superb hotel is to ensure that each and every guest has their needs catered to. Location is excellent, central to transport, and a short walk to the 747 airport bus. Absolutely loved staying here, other hotels could definitely learn a thing or two from Le Square Phillips about customer service, and I just wish all were like this one!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank bleedingheart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is our second time at Le Square Phillips and we loved it as much as the first time!
Our two toddlers also seemed to remember the hotel and the fun they had the first time! The staff is WONDERFUL, knowledgeable, and very warm! The rooms are huge, fully equipped, super clean, and quiet. The breakfast on the second floor was just what we needed. It had a good variety of cold cereals, yogurts, bakery items (croissants, waffle, breads), fresh fruits, coffee, and juices.
The hotel is close to shops, subway, train station, and bus stops, pharmacy, restaurants, cafe...Really, the Perfect hotel all around!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lifeinmovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,523 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
2,774 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,797 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $135 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing