We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and good quiet sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and good quiet sleep”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very spacious and very well equipped rooms !

Although in a great relatively central location to easily go by foot or bicycle (using these rental bikes available from the city) to lots of attractions, it is very quiet.

Nice roof area lounging chairs, swimming pool and gym.

There is average food selection breakfast included, but the place gets pretty crowded unless going very early.

Parking is very expensive, more than $27-28 a day when including the taxes; I tried to find a "way out" by parking around, but it may be cumbersome.
So, if on a road trip, this may increase your daily rate quite a bit !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    636
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
909
580
76
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Based on Tripadvisor reviews, we booked a 4-night stay. Upon arrival, the clerk advised that we could get a free upgrade to a larger suite. The room was huge. There were only 2 of us and the room we got could have easily slept six. The room was quiet and clean. The full kitchen was a plus and after a long day of walking, staying in for dinner was a piece of cake. There is an IGA about 4 blocks away and a gourmet grocery, Fou D'ici, about 3 blocks for your food needs. Old town was 15 - 20 minutes away. The 747 airport bus stopped on Rene Levesque about a block from the hotel. Metro stops at McGill or Place des Arts were 5 minutes away. Breakfast had a wide selection of pastries, bagels, croissants, fruit, and yogurt. More than adequate for our needs. In short, we were very pleased with Le Square Phillips. The only negatives were that the shower pressure wasn't too strong, the bathroom door squeaked, and it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cztz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Located just off Ste Catherine street and close to metro stations and old Montreal, this hotel is centrally located. Our room was clean, quiet and had a full kitchen, room safe, wifi and comfortable beds. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Although mostly (all?) carbohydrates, the breakfast had a good variety of breads, bagels, waffles, juices, cereals and fresh fruit, located in a clean, bright breakfast room. I would return to Le Square Phillips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huehuetenango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent four nights at this establishment and found the suites to be spacious complete with the requisite furniture and trimmings. In short, it met our needs admirably but the furniture may be viewed by some as dated. Our suite had poor lighting and the lounge divan was certainly beyond its ‘use by’ date. Other than that, it was quiet and included a continental breakfast plus free Wifi. The laundry facilities are excellent as are the gymnasium and swimming pool/leisure arrangements. The concierge and the front desk were most helpful on all occasions.
Centrally located in Square Phillips, it is close to Rue St Catherine – one of the busy shopping streets in Montreal as well as a wide range of restaurants and eateries. It’s also within walking distance to the train station and other cultural attractions. Montreal is a vibrant and cosmopolitan city and you do not have far to go to find and enjoy it from this location.
Our only concern was that on the last night, a party took place on the adjacent room until the early and while i understand that the hotel tries to ‘vet’ these out of the bookings – this one must have slipped through. Our compliments (tongue in cheek) to the individual who booked them in! Probably a little more expensive than some we have experienced but on the whole – a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I'm very glad my wife and I booked rooms at this hotel during our recent visit to Montreal. The rooms were modestly furnished, but everything worked well and, above all, the hotel was very quiet. This was most welcome after a hectic day sightseeing in one of Canada's great cities.

Only two small quibbles to raise:

(1) Showerhead in the bathroom sprayed water all over the room, even with the shower curtains drawn. This needs to be adjusted.

(2) Breakfast menu is a little skimpy, and would have appreciated if a little more variety was offered.

Don't let these two small points stop you from booking a room at this hotel. Le Square Phillips is a great location that is certain to the main shopping districts and other points of interest. I'd highly recommend it for your next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACanadianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the location and also the facilities.

On the whole I did like it. The location is really good and is right in the commercial centre of the city plus is very near the metro system.

The room we had was a King suite. It was a good size, bed was comfy, bathroom was fine and their were kitchen facilities too.

On the downside.... I thought the pool was on the small size and when we got there was full of kids, a downside to picking a suites hotel which attracts families. The outside area was always full of smokers too, bleurgh! Hotel should ban smoking on the decked area.

The decor of the hotel genially seemed dated and needs sprucing up. The hotel just does not have the 'wow' factor I hoped for and at at least £130 a night I expected more.

Breakfast was OK, quite a bunfight to get food on the weekend though and was quite processed too.

I would recommend this hotel but only if you have a family or can get a deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beninbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I can appreciate that Le Square Phillips would be a great choice for families or groups; but for couples I think you could do better. While we certainly enjoyed all the space offered by our king studio, we found the décor very old fashioned and reminiscent of a bedsit (albeit quite a comfortable one) from the 70's or 80's.

While the location is pretty good, and it is certainly possible to walk to the Old Town, it will take the best part of 30mins to get to the far end around Place Jacques Cartier, and even longer to walk home as it is uphill part of the way! If you are a first timer to Montreal and want to hang out in the Old Town then you would be better off staying in one of the hotels in that area. However, if you don't feel like heading to the Old Town to eat, there are some very good restaurants close to Le Square Phillips such as Andiamo, Beaver Hall, and Boris, all of which are in the direction of Rue McGill and within 5 mins of the hotel.

Rates for the hotel are high enough, although they drop if you stay for a week or longer, and obviously are relatively cheaper if more than 2 people are sharing. As an example, we had originally booked a superior room in the 5* Sofitel (no breakfast included) for quite a bit less than we paid to stay here, but we were swayed by the glowing reviews we read on TA to change our booking........unsure if we made the right decision or not!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoppyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,504 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,362 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 164 in Montreal
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing