We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,470)
Filter reviews
2,470 results
Traveler rating
1,661
713
70
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,661
713
70
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenfamily suitebagelshigh ceilingscontinental breakfastold montrealvalet parkingtop floorrooftop poollaundry roomdining tablerooms are hugewithin walking distancedowntown montrealminute walkone bedroom suitefront desk and concierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,139 - 1,144 of 2,470 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a great weekend with the whole family. Staff was very pleasant and helpful and the location is very very good. We stayed in a suite that allowed the whole family to stay in one room. Breakfast was the only disappointment, it was very basic.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yossiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights this weekend. The rooms were VERY spacious and VERY clean and comfortable. We had a suite which comfortably slept 4 people and a full kitchen, full sized fridge etc. The rules are very strict here. We were four girls for a bachelorette weekend (we are in our late twenties/early thirties and are not wild, destructive, rude or loud). Upon check-in we were told absolutely NO noise tolerance, no partying. Upon check-out we were told we had to wait until they "checked our room" before paying which I have NEVER experienced and found extremely rude. We were also NOT pleasantly surprised by the additional $70.00/night "lodging taxes" which are charged if you stay for less than 30 days! Who normally stays in a hotel for more than 30 days? Just beware before you stay. The breakfast was also not impressive. Bagels, bread, croissants, cold pre-packaged waffles, yogurt and bananas/oranges and a few juices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquarePhillips, Manager at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for writing this review about our property, we are very happy to see that you found our accommodations very spacious and clean. As you mention in your review we are very strict with our rules; absolutely NO noise tolerance, no partying. And the reason being is that we do have guests that stay more than 30 days because we specialize in extended stays (full kitchen, full sized fridge etc.) and we like to have these people feel like if they were at home at all time, especially at night. In fact we have a guest that has been with us for more than seven years. But let’s not get carried away we are not a convent we welcome a lot of families with kids that like to play and we do like bachelorettes, however we need to be careful if we want to keep our reputation of a well-kept hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the continental buffet breakfast and as for the taxes, well there is unfortunately not much we can do about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and could not believe the size of the rooms. Nothing fancy but you can't beat the convenience to downtown and old montreal plus free breakfast. Gym was good with new equipment and pool was nice. Only issues would be the line ups at breakfast and the weak wifi-free by the way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haywoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I picked this hotel for its laundry room and indoor pool, but we were also rewarded with ample space in our family suite and the friendliness of the entire staff, even when arriving at 3 am (after being lost in NY state). Its downtown location gave us easy access to the Metro stations and attractions, while still being removed from the busiest and noisiest streets. We even received a substantial discount on the third night!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locavoregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Square Phillips is our favourite hotel in Montreal. We were a large group of two adults and five children, and stayed in a two bedroom unit. Each bedroom had a queen bed, and there was a double sofa bed. We also had an extra rollaway bed.
The room was extremely spacious, with enough rooms for the kids to play. Having three flat screen TVs also helped.
The kids loved the rooftop swimming pool - we only wished the pool had a shallow end for the youngest ones. I loved the view from the rooftop patio.With a large family, having a laundry room was a definite plus.
The hotel also provides a free breakfast on the second floor. Nothing fancy - breads, bagels, muffins, cereals yoghurt and fresh fruit. It was all you can eat, and filling enough that we often did not need lunch.
Only complaint was that the unit only had one washroom. With 7 people that led to some lineups in the morning.
Location was excellent - right in the middle of Montreal. Just off St. Catherine, and next to some of the best shopping malls in the city. The nearby Pharmaprix had a small grocery section, so we were able to buy milk and juice for the kids. The Montreal subway system is one of the best in the world, as we were right next to a station, so did not have to use the car much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertonU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews