We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had an excellent stay, perfect location, excellent facilities, could not have asked for more... Well worth a visit for anyone travelling to Montreal....Great for couples, families and friends. Would definitely go back if travelling to Montreal in the future...Also great to get breakfast included.... a great selection of food...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    643
    66
    14
    10
See reviews for
926
587
78
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here during my recent visit to Montreal. I like the fact that the Valet Parking was secured and cheap at $22/day with in and out privileges. Simon the concierge was very nice and good to talk to. The exercise area on the top floor was cool, although you can only use one elevator. The kitchen was useful although I wish they had supplied oil or a non stick pan. The beds were firm. The external hall way noise was minimal, the room was spacious and the room was clean. It is close to pretty much everything. A 10 min walk to the Bell Centre, 2 min walk to Saint Catherine's shopping, 15 min walk to Metropolis.
Con's the shower leaked everywhere and the television was less than HD. The shower had three problems, one the shower curtain did not prevent the water from leaking out, two the edges where the tiles and tub met allowed for water to leak out and there was no drainage out of the tub. Solution 1 would be to have better design of the tub, a better shower curtain or have stoppers to prevent the water from leaking out of the shower. There is free continental breakfast from 0630-0930 but I never made it.

Room Tip: Book Early about 139-149/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceman8110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a fantastic property which offers lots of facilites ie the heated pool and the gym also the laundry these are particulary helpful for longer stays. Being able to cook for yourself but still be near lots of restaurants make for a more comfortable visit.

The staff are extremely helpful and accomodating. The color scheme is a bit dull but the rooms are large with high ceilings and the price is not bad. Breakast is included in the cost.

We have stayed here a couple of times and happy to return again

Room Tip: A higher floor and a front room has a better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaudiArabia1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a great central location in Montreal right next to Rue Saint Catherine the main shopping strip, close to Chinatown, Old Montreal and Rue Saint Lauren where you can find a lot of bars and night clubs. The room was large and clean, great wifi and breakfast was included in the price which was a bonus.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The room is large, with high ceiling. Furniture is a bit common but all comfortable; great bed, good workking aircon hot/cold, big flatscreen tv, ipod docking, a kitchen (that I did not use), comfortable bathroom with all amenities you need, every day cleaning service, free wifi. soundproofed windows. The breakfast is basis but OK, only jam, cheese spread and peanut butter, and bagels etc. It has a swimming pool as well. Nice staff. In the middle of the center. So yes it is a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reparepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for Oireachtas (Irish competition) the long weekend in November 9-12 2012. It is a beautiful retro style but modern hotel in the heart of the city, only 3 blocks from the dance competition venue (which was held at a competitor hotel - the Fairmont QE).

The first shock if you have never stayed in Downtown Montreal is the price, but when comparing this hotel with others, it was market rate. However, what we got far exceeded my expectation.

Room - We got a two room suite as there were 4 adults and child. We could have fit another 4 beds and still have room to dance around it. I believe it was 1100 sq ft. Yep, you are reading this right. A HOTEL suite, at market rate that was NOT a box 10 x 10! nor $400 a night! A few other "O" families from our school stayed here as well. They were overly impressed with the bang for our buck!

Meals- They also served a great continental breakfast every morning with waffles, toast, yogurt and fruit. It was wonderful. The grocery store is a few block east at Desjardins Complex AND you can have your groceries delivered to your suite for a mere 4.75. (did I mention there is a FULL kitchen in the suites?) We ate all PM meals but one in the room..a great family atmosphere and saved lots of $$ eating out.

Staffing - The staff are great. Helpful, bilingual. Just what one needs when French is not their mother tongue. When we needed only certain things tidied during the housekeeping period, they respected our things and worked as quickly as possible. They even offered to come back but it was not necessary for us...

Parking - in the downtown core, parking is expensive at $20 a night. Best part about here, they do valet. Where we are from, valet is EXPENSIVE but for this hotel, it is still $20 a night but they valet it, bring your car in and out for you whenever you want. Tipping is optional but we tipped every time - they were great in getting to us quickly. Sebastian - hats off sir, you were wonderful!Merci!

Cons
Yeah, there were disappointing moments. No hot tub, pool is a lap pool, not a play pool for kids, furniture in our family suite was sparse (5 people, 3 seats around TV). My friend in her suite said it took her 45 steps to get to the bathroom from her bed..so she was awake once she got there!! And there were no lotion bottles in the bathroom..only shampoo and conditioner, soap..

Even with those cons we were the envied group of families when our suites and rooms were compared to the host hotel of the competition. We love this place and are coming back next year. Yeah, they are already booked. Thank you Le Square Phillips!!

Room Tip: ones that face parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasalleFeisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquarePhillips, Manager at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review. We truly appreciated your feedback and I will make sure to pass your good words to all concerned. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This property has large apartment suites and a great and friendly staff. The breakfast buffet is adequate. The concierge and check-in staff are friendly and accommodating both in French and English. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Hudson Bay Store, a mall and two subway stations. I intend to stay again if there on business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoPolodiNuovaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,547 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,959 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 164 in Montreal
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing