We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms in a converted warehouse. Perfect for a family trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Large rooms in a converted warehouse. Perfect for a family trip!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The rooms at Le Square are massive by any hotels standards. The furnishings are fairly pedestrian and plain so they won't get any points for style. If you don't care about such things, the rooms are very clean, bright and spacious with lots of room for the kids to run around. All the basic amenities are there and for families planning an extended stay the kitchenette is a bonus that really can't be beat for the price.
The location is great as it's right in the heart of downtown and accessible to all the major attractions. The staff was courteous and helpful, so all in all a great experience. I would highly recommend this hotel to those on a bit of a budget who may have a whole family with them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    651
    66
    15
    10
See reviews for
942
594
79
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just had a great trip to Montreal! I brought my two kids )+ 1 friend) from New Brunswick and my girlfriend brought her daughter from Toronto and we met in Montreal. I really didn't think we'd be able to find anywhere we could all stay together and then I discovered the Square Phillips Hotel online! We stayed in the two bedroom suite and were treated to a huge amount of space, two good size bedrooms (one with a queen and the other with a king) plus a pull out couch. I needed to rent a cot as well but there was tons of space in the suite to set this up! So we had two teenage girls in their own room and two younger children in the main room (cot and pull out) and my girlfriend and myself in the master (king). Brilliant!

The kitchen was great with a working stove and stovetop, microwave, dishes (including pots and pans, cups, plates, cutlery, glasses), fridge and a dishwasher! We enjoyed the continental breakfast on the 2nd floor for free and then bought food and drink to stock our room. Saved a bunch in eating out costs!

Pool and rooftop deck were great but unfortunately both close at 10pm. The gym stays open all night however. Valet parking is good but kinda pricey at $20/day. The guys doing it were great but I kinda like to park my own car. It did however give me a level of security over my vehicle that I wouldn't have had if I'd parked on the street.

The hotel is close to everything! We could jump on the metro, the girls could go shopping at HBC and on Ste. Catherine and we even walked to old town one night...oh, and there's a bixi bike rental place right out front so if you want to go farther afield you can grab a bicycle quite easily.

All in all, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Le Square Phillips; overall a good value (huge room, pool, deck, gym, continental breakfast). The staff were very professional and accommodating, the valet parking was smooth (and not outrageously priced), and the location was a decent one.

Our room did face towards the square and so street noise could definitely be heard on the weekend nights we stayed -- but this might be unusual, since the demonstrations going on in the city have been creating a good deal of disturbance. And a couple of times patrons in the hall made kind of a racket at 2 AM as well. Anyhow, it is hard to blame the hotel; perhaps I would have asked to switch to the other side of the building if we were going to stay longer but you can't always get away from noise in the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RItravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed there with three kids aged 8-15 and we had plenty of room ! Good location to visit Montreal and the rooftop indoor pool is a plus, though a little small when crowded.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpineworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We visited Montreal with our young children in February and were thrilled with this hotel. It was right in the heart of the city but still on a quiet street just off St. Catherine. We had a great rate found on the hotel web site. The room's have a kitchenette, high ceilings and an updated decor. The continental breakfast got us going in the morning and the view from the pool on the top floor was lovely. The pool is small but our kids still managed to enjoy. We had great wood oven fired pizza next door and we were just a short walk to the train station. The only drawback was not being connected to the underground city but it wasn't too cold.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teelkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Very helpful front desk. Kids were very happy to receive welcome gift from the staff. We loved our room and the pool at the top floor. Breakfast simple but the bagels are amazingly good. Good location, overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KH146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel and Suites for three nights a few weeks ago and had a brilliant time. The hotel was in an excellent location downtown with equal distance between old town and Mont Royal. Our room was massive and had excellent amenities. And the pool was a bonus. We also found the housekeeping staff to be very good and the concierge was excellent managing to get us a last minute reservation for dinner at Au Pied du Cochon. We were overall impressed and thought we got great value for money at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,337 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,598 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 165 in Montreal
2,169 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing