We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Ste. Marie
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stay here”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

It was our first time visiting Montreal and we were very satisfied with our room accommodations. I had been back and forth with deciding where to stay and am very glad we decided on this hotel. When we first walked in our first thought was that there has to be a catch somewhere because it was gorgeous and was rather cheap for the first impression that we got. We never found a catch. The staff was very friendly. The 24 hour concierge service was super convenient and very helpful. The room was spacious and included a full kitchen, which we took full advantage of. Everything was clean and kept up with well. The only negative thing we found was that the bed was a bit firm but after the first night we were both used to it. We couldn't have picked a better location. It is nested in the downtown area surrounded by restaurants and is less than two blocks away from the US Consulate. The nieghborhood was safe and comfortable. We really liked that they had a laundramat inside with three washers and three dryers. We never used the pool or exercise room, but they both looked nice. If we visit again we will definately be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindsayAndAubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    652
    66
    15
    10
See reviews for
943
597
79
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We visit Montreal on a regular basis. As a result, we have stayed in a vast array of hotels (good and bad). This past June we flew to Montreal for a couple of days and stayed at Le Square Phillips because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. To say that we were thrilled is an understatement.

The most important detail at any hotel is cleanliness. To say that I am a germaphobe is an understatement, I travel with bottles of disinfectant and lysol. Not to mention I have a paranoia with bedbugs. Bed bugs are rampant around the world and the last thing any traveler wants to do is bring them home. Everywhere we go we thoroughly inspect mattresses and all furniture. I check everything for dust and dirtiness. This is the only hotel in Montreal that we have stayed at that is worthy of 5-stars - it is CLEAN!

The breakfast served in the breakfast lounge is fantastic. I've yet to find a hotel that provides breakfast in this fashion (for free) to it's guests. It is definitely appreciated for travelers like us that are always on the go and do not have time to eat at a restaurant.

The location is perfect. It's located 5 minutes from the transit system and is close to all amenities.

This is the ONLY hotel we are going to be staying at for all future trips.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PatrishaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We loved the hotel, the room and bathroom were both spacious, clean and modern, and it had a full kitchen with table and chairs for 4. There was a pool and gym on the top floor (10th), which closed at 10pm. Didn't use it, but it looked more like a long thin lap pool, and was warm. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. 2-3 cereals, juice, apples, waffles (still frozen?) to toast, rock hard bagels, and generic sliced bread. The first day we took our small kitchen tray down and loaded it up with items, and ate those for the next couple of days for breakfast, so we didn't have to be up and down there before 9.30am when it closed. I thought the breakfast could have been much better, but I suppose any free breakfast is a bonus. The concierge was very helpful as were the front desk, and they stored our luggage after check out as our flight was later in the day. The location was just around the corner from a main shopping street, and access to the indoor shopping malls, and about 20mins walk to the more touristy old district and river front. Loads of restaurants about, several right outside the hotel front. Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel, it was so clean and spacious we would have been very comfortable for a longer stay than 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suebg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Professional and friendly staff, beautifully renovated building. Very spacious, well located and away from the hustle and bustle but well located. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Had a suite, we entertained, would definitely go back. Neat view when you go to the top floor (10th)

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

As I paid for a room I am going to review the hotel. Poor customer relations. That's all I have to say about the hotel. Montreal was great and we had a wonderful time in the city as we do twice a year. Just will not be staying this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcsteelesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquarePhillips, Manager at Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and although we don’t know exactly what happened we are still very disappointed to see that you were not totally satisfied with our customer services. Being in the Industry of Service we cannot afford having Guests like you leaving the hotel feeling they experimented poor customer relations. We wish you could give us some details on what happened so we can look into this matter and take corrective actions.

Meanwhile please accept our sincere apologies and do not hesitate to contact us to let us know what we could do to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This place is outstanding. Good value, great service and clean comfortable suites make this a premium hotel. They also have free WiFi and are located in the heart of downtown

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

After much research I chose this hotel based on TA feedback, location, price & pool and I was really glad that I'd done that. It is worth the rate, it deserves the awards won and it's definitely worked by friendly, professional and helpful staff. The rooms are very spacious with huge windows, good sized bathroom and the kitchenettes are fully equipped including daily replenished tea & coffee! The free continental breakfast has lots to choose from (cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, juices, various breads, preserves, muffins, croissants, waffles, tea/coffee - what more could you want from a continental?!) and the only negative is that midweek breakfast finished at 0930 (a little early for some tourists). The main shopping street (St Catherine) is right next to the hotel, you can walk most places (if you have the energy) within about 20 to 30 mins - the old town/port areas took us about 20 mins, Parc Mont Royal a bit more (uphill). Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to couples, groups and families - there's plenty of room in the suites and the location is great. ps For those like me it was also great to request and receive a smoking room - they can be hard to find these days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,350 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 165 in Montreal
2,620 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 165 in Montreal
2,177 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing