We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - couldnt fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic - couldnt fault it”
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Recently expanded, we were fortunate enough to have one of the rooms in the refurbished new wing, on the third floor. The rooms are large, the beds huge and comfortable, the shower equally large and luxurious. The location couldn't be better - opposite the Basilica, near a Metro.

The hotel provides a Continental breakfast in the cost, and there is free cheese and wine each evening. The staff are helpful, friendly, and bilingual.

I can't praise this hotel enough. Its excellent in every way.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merseymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    481
    114
    41
    20
See reviews for
339
1,150
90
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 4, 2005

All of the prior reviews are accurate, this is a great hotel. The location in old Montreal is as good as any, right next to the Notre Dame Cathedral.

The Hotel gives a hip, luxurious feel in the lobby and bar/restaurant area. The hotel gives free wine and cheese parties at night and breakfast in the morning in a great room, with a very cool, hip vibe. I had two kids with me and while all staff was very courteous and warm, make sure your kids are behaved, it is an adult feel to the room.

The guest room is another ultra hip, luxurious suprise. I am suprised I have not read about the bathroom which is better than any I have stayed including, W and Ritz hotels.

Take the time to find the rooftop bar/restaurant. There was no one there when we went up including workers even though the outdoor grill was on, and it is not promoted, but it has a great view and worth the time.

The other top rated hotels in old Montreal seem to be equally nice, but when we went in July the Place D'Armes was a solid $100.00 cheaper, so go with it.

By the way, I am not easily impressed, and this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocracoke, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2005

We stayed for three nights in July 2005 (we paid 175.00 CD) and we were not disappointed! The staff is extremely helpful and willing to please, even when busy. They make you feel like they have been waiting just for you to arrive.

The room was divine, and in our opinion, not at all small, although it was a little cramped with a rollaway bed. The room was immaculate and furnished simply and luxuriously. When our valet opened the door to our room, we were greated with classical music playing on the radio. After the long drive, partly in the rain, this room and this hotel was wonderfully refreshing!

We were not disappointed in the evening wine and cheese. One of our party didn't drink, so instead of wine, enjoyed a soda with the abundant bread and varied cheeses. Two wines were offered for the complimentary glass, a red and a white. The breakfast was outstanding with delicious breads and pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee, teas, and cheeses.

I only have a few small complaints; we had to call three times to get our rollaway bed, and it was not a good bed, even for a rollaway. However, I slept on it and was comfortable enough. Local phone calls are 1.00 each, which I think is kind of chintzy, and valet parking was 17.00 a day. The charge for parking was not made clear on the website, and I wouldn't have even known about it if I had not read another review on this site. However, this is a city hotel, and even if they had parking on site, you wouldn't really expect it to be free.

Other than these small complaints, I can't say enough good things about this hotel, and if I return to Montréal, most likely I would stay here.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CampingCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2005

It is a terrific hotel: the location, the staff, the breakfast, the bed, the linens, the bath, we pay CA$175 per night and it worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ale1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2005

We are a family of 4 and stayed at the Hotel Place D'Armes summer 2003. When we first drove up we thought it was a dump from afar because it is located on the edge of a renovated section. What a delightful surprise. When the front doors opened we were in heaven: Gorgeous, modern lobby w/ comfortble seating, delicious snacks, friendly service, tastefully decorated room although a bit small but fine, a small workout room, a pretty public terrace overlooking the city and all in a perfect location at an affordable price.
Highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel!

Helpful?
6 Thank cipi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2005

Possibly the nicest hotel experience I have ever had. The staff was incredibly helpful, the restaurant downstairs had lovely food, the location was ideal- I have absoulutely no complaints. I loved this hotel, and so did the other four people who came with me (ranging in age from 29- 63). I noticed that other people have remarked on the room size, but my opinion is this: when you stay in a boutique hotel in the middle of a city as beautiful and cosmopolitan as Montreal, you'd be a fool to stay in your room for any long stretch of time. The rooms are not spacious, but they are beautifully appointed and perfect for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. Bigger is not always better.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kashmir79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2005

Five wonderful days 5/25/05-5/30/05 at the Place D'Armes, superior room with a view of the Noter Dame Catheral across the street. Service in all respects perfect, staff was just super friendly and nice to my wife and I. Rooms were just as described on their website, zero disappointments. Kept spotless by the housekeeping ladies. Loved the evening free wine and cheese as well as the breakfast in the morning. Roof top, great place for a glass of wine, plate of cheese, sit and view the Old City. Hotel located in the Old City just a short stroll to the port. Many many wonderful large, small, quaint place to eat all price ranges. Metro stop one block down the hill from the hotel in case you wanted to explore the other delights of Montreal. Flew in, $31CAN cab ride from the airport, no car rental necessary. I planned the trip as a romantic getaway for my wife and I who reside in Destin, FL. It was all that and more thanks to the Place D'Armes and its superb staff. I will stay there again..the hotel is expanding to include additional rooms and suites, Bristo in the lobby and new Bar as well as a top of the line SPA..all of which will be fully operational by mid June 05.

Helpful?
6 Thank chopper705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,133 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Property: Hotel Place d'Armes
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing