We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for Montreal Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

First, the Old City location is great: picturesque, activities, good walking, close to Metro, etc.
The hotel is beautiful with gracious staff and clean, tasteful rooms. No coffee in rooms but free coffee and newspapers in the lobby. Gorgeous and BEST rooftop terrace bar/restaurant in the city. Bar/lounge on first floor was bright and cheery, too, with excellent djay at night and very clean by morning to serve the excellent breakfast. The is a fun pool table for your enjoyment on the other side with relaxing sofas and chairs. We stayed 5 nights on a package and went home feeling as though we had been in Paris....but so much more relaxed and friendly!!!

Room Tip: Corner deluxe are large and light with high ceilings
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chicago55Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Bonjour Chicago55Chicago,

We thank you for your great review and your very kind words it is truly appreciated. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, from our staff to Suite 701 and of course our great location to visit Montreal.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Place d'Armes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

A true place where elegance meets the sophistication and a decent price. Nice rooms, amazing service and all of it only for a fraction of a cost that you would typically expect from a high end luxury hotel. Definitely the best hotel in Montreal when you think of their rates...

Room Tip: Take a room in the right side of the building...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orchid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Bonjour Orchid W,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments with fellow travellers.
We are very happy to read that you consider us as the best hotel in Montreal. We will make sure to share your comments with the entire team.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was one dark hotel!! Our room was super dark, even with all the lights on! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The cookie/popcorn service wasn't punctual (it came with the package we bought). Guest Services asked what time it should be served, we said 7:00 pm - it came after 8:00.

That being said, housekeeping was great. They turned downed the kids bed (later than we requested) but did a very nice job. They were also very understanding when they got the 10:00 pm call to change our pillows and blankets for hypoallergenic (the hubby requested it when he booked the room).

The gym was nice and clean - also super air conditioned. The jacuzzi was nice but a bit cheaply made (the drain never stopped running, even with the stopper down). The auto clean scared the hell out of us.

I am more of a Four Seasons' girl, but this is a nice option - the location was great. Very centrally located.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jaimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Bonjour Jaimee A,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We strive to offer outstanding service and amenities, and feedback like yours help us better ourselves.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay however we would like to apologize as it does not appear that you had the true Place d'Armes experience and for that we are sorry. We hope you will allow us to have a second chance for a first impression.

I invite you to contact me directly for your next visit.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros, 514.842.1887

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Le Place d'Armes was the perfect hotel for our honeymoon this June. A great location (walking down the hill is preferable to walking up the hill at the end of the day), beautiful room that was well appointed with all kinds of luxury goodies, polite staff (from bellhop to concierge). We were upgraded to a suite and the details were perfect- I loved the exposed brick and the attached reading lights. The bathroom was gigantic. Huge. Bigger than my kitchen at home. The hotel is a little worn (paint could be refreshed and some of the holes in the wall patched). We used the valet service and the concierge, both of which were incredibly helpful. The only drawback was that there was construction that started at 6AM on the lot below our room-not the most romantic way to wake up but oh well-the perils of an urban honeymoon. If I could do it all over again, I would absolutely stay at Le Place d'Armes again for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Bonjour Margot C,

From all of us at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suite, congratulations and all the best in the years to come.

We are honored that you chose us for such a special occasion and delighted to read that you had a perfect honeymoon.

Thank you for your review and your very kind words.

We hope to be welcoming you again soon.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at the Place d'Armes during the first week of August 2014 -- family trip, with two young teenagers. What a terrific hotel. First of all, the hotel itself is very chic. We had a one bedroom, king size suite, very spacious, with a cool layout, and exposed brick wall. Complimentary brownies awaiting our arrival and Lindt chocolates every evening. The location also cannot be beat: right next to Notre Damme Cathedral and steps away from the old town. Brunch at the first floor restaurant, I think it was called 701 restaurant, was fantastic. There is a platter of assorted breads that a highly recommend. Anyway, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jemabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Bonjour jemabel,

Thank you very much for your great review and your kind words. We will gladly share your comments with the entire team.

We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

From the valet's at the door to the concierge and desk staff, we were welcomed warmly into Old Montreal. The room was beautiful, comfortable and did not lack in amenities. We didn't want to leave our room!! However, the lure of Old Montreal, right outside the door, and Notre Dame Cathedral a few meters away, lured us out. Rene, the Concierge, gave us excellent advice on dining, bike rentals, shopping areas and the Metro. He also shared his knowledge of Montreal in a way that made it simple and easy to get around. Staying here is what made our trip to Montreal outstanding. We will return many times.

The Rooftop Terrace for cocktails was a great place to get a view of the city and enjoy a DJ and pulsing atmosphere. There are many trendy & classic restaurants and clubs within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Suites are large with huge windows and large bathrooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Bonjour Nancy L,

We are delighted to read that staying at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites made your Montréal visit outstanding.

Thank you for your great review and your very kind words. I will make sure to share with René and the entire team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I was visiting Montreal for work and decided to stay a few days longer. It so happened to be my birthday when I checked in to this hotel. I found a room at this hotel through the Hotel Tonight app, with no guarantee of the type of room I would be getting. Eleni, the receptionist, was quite nice to me, especially after hearing it was my birthday. She put me in a king bedroom on the same floor as the Rain Spa and had a birthday cupcake sent up to my room. She also gave me a discount coupon for the spa, but I had already booked a massage with access at Scandinave Spa for my birthday treat.

The room itself was nicely appointed, with music playing and the scent of essential oils on the air. The bathroom was large, with a gigantic shower. The Tv stand had the electric fireplace, but I didn't try it.

My only two gripes with the room were the illumination from the phone and clock, and the slight misalignment of the vanity mirror housing with the hole in the wall. I need complete darkness to sleep and thanks to the great turn-down service (chocolate and a bottle of water given), the curtains and blinds blocked outside light. However, the phone and clock were so bright, I had to get up to unplug the phone from the wall and cover up the clock. As for the hole in the bathroom wall at the vanity mirror, it was more of an eye-sore than a hindrance.

The concierge was very helpful in pointing out where to go while touring the city. This help was given after I checked out, thus no longer a customer. It was nice of him to draw on the map the location of my next hotel and various places to visit.

It was a great room and great stay with excellent service.

Room Tip: My room, 2304, was on the same floor as the Rainspa and was pretty quiet. Nice tree view of the litt...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EbonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Bonjour EbonyTraveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites with fellow travellers.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that Eleni was able to assist.
Rest assured that your comments are noted and will be shared with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

From all of us at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suite, happy belated birthday!
Nikolas Salouros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,177 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
390 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,006 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $181 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing