We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous property”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights and was overwhelmed at the quality of accommodations, level of service and elegance of this property.

The location is in the heart of Old Montreal and in spite of the building being over 100 years old, the refurbished suites were nothing short of spectacular.

I highly recommend this property should your travels take you to Montreal, it is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Bonjour Jack A,

Thank you so much for your great comments and for recommending us to fellow Montréal travellers.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your two days with us and found your suite nothing short of spectacular.

Until next time, have a fabulous summer.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    474
    112
    41
    20
See reviews for
332
1,132
90
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I were overbooked in another hotel nearby and found this one by chance around 10pm on a Sunday night. We were lucky to find this place because it was very easy to get a room and staff were very friendly! The hotel was very clean, the room was beautiful and we had no issues with our stay here. The only drawback is lack of free parking but the valet is wonderful and parking is only $30 per night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Bonjour Laura H,

Thank you for reviewing Place d’Armes and taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers.

Glad to read that by chance you discovered us and that it turned out to be and enjoyable stay for both of you.

On your next visit to Montreal, whether planned or spur of the moment, do feel free to contact me and I will gladly assist.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is my go to hotel in Montreal. It is beautifully located in the heart of Old Montreal next door to the very impressive head office of Bank of Montreal, Canada's First Bank and across the square from the Notre Dame Cathedral. The hotel is the combination of 3 historic buildings. The rooms in the 3rd building are my favourite. Lots of exposed brick however done in a contemporary way. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are very nice. Every room is quite different so every stay is a different one. My only issue is that I think it is time to replace the towels. They are not as fluffy and wonderful as they once were.

Room Tip: I like the room in the 3rd building the best of all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155019David_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Bonjour 155019David_M,

We are delighted to read that we are you go to hotel in Montreal.

Your feedback is duly noted and I am happy to say that on your next stay you will be able to enjoy our brand new fluffy towels.

Thank you for sharing your experience at Place d’Armes.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites from May 9-11 2014. Room 2503 is a beautiful junior suite and very spacious. The continental breakfast that we had each morning was delicious and the servers were very attentive. The Front desk staff was very friendly and provided excellent customer service. We will definitely be staying here when we return to Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJSalonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear MJSalonga,

Thank you for taking the time to share, with fellow travellers, your experience at Place d’Armes. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated your suite, the breakfast and the service provided by the staff.

Do feel free to contact me while planning your next visit.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was absolute perfection. My husband and I stayed one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful, service was top-notch in all departments, 701 had a great atmosphere and the spa was amazing. We had a couple's massage and we loved it. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganMontreal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear MeganMontreal87,

Thank you for your kind words.

We are delighted to have been part of your celebration and are looking forward to welcoming you for many more.

Congratulations!
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My partner and I just returned from a five day visit to Montreal, and while there we stayed at the Hotel Place D’Armes. We’re seasoned travelers, and the Place D’Armes is a world-class hotel. Our room was well-appointed, immaculate, quiet, great bed, and very nice toiletries. The differing architecture of the buildings that comprise the hotel complex is truly interesting and beautiful. Location is great - you’re right in the Old City with easy access, only a short block from a Metro Station, and easy walking distance to many of Montreal’s best attractions and points of interest. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The front desk, the concierge, and the valets were all professional and helpful - without being officious. One of the valets, a personable young man named Anthony, was particularly helpful with directions and advice on where to go and what to see. I can highly recommend the Place D’Armes Hotel for your visit to Montreal. C'est Magnifique!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcO1958VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Bonjour MarcO1958VA,

Thank you for your Magnifique review!

I am very happy to read that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and that Anthony was able to assist with suggestions and directions. I will ensure to share your good words with the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent 2 nights in a gorgeous suite , the check -in was fast and efficient, the staff are professional accommodating and friendly . The room was spacious and quiet , the beds extremely comfortable with a large bathroom . Everything is immaculate, the rooms, hallways, reception. We had dinner at KYO the japanese restaurant . Again, great service great food . The location is excellent , in old Montreal, close to downtown, shops and restaurants .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma-Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikolas S, Front Office Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Norma-Christine C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Place d’Armes. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, everything from our gorgeous suite to the accommodating staff and of course our excellent izakaya Kyo.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Montréal.

Kindly,
Nikolas Salouros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,113 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,389 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,332 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing