We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Summerland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and loved the character and location of the building. The bathrooms were very "modern vintage" feeling. The room was quite clean and the bed was comfy.

Lots to see within walking distance. Two downfalls to this hotel (very minor) parking is very limited and they gave us a "free" coupon for two drinks at the bar (which was great) but they are for $11 max and all of the drinks were more expensive than that (so not really "free")

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank erinandkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear erinandkai,

Thank you for sharing your review, we truly appreciate it. We are glad you had an amazing stay. I do apologize that we did not take the proper time to clairfy our services with you. We do offer a guaranteed valet service to all our guests, and this service gives you in and out access to the vehicule at all times during your stay.

We hope that we can accomodate you again soon, feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    484
    114
    41
    21
See reviews for
345
1,152
90
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oshawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Mu husband and I stayed here this past weekend and I have to say I'm totally disappointed. We booked a jr suite with balcony 3 weeks in advance, the confirmation email described a spacious room with lots of brick walls. Well upon walking into out room we were surprised to see no brick and an average sized room at best. The bathroom however is phenomenal as well as the balcony. The rest of the room left much to be desired.
When called by the front desk to ask how the room was i explained that I wasn't pleased with the lack of brick walls seeing as that was part of the reason we booked this room, I was told there were no rooms left with brick walls and offered an upgrade to a suite with brick walls for an extra $20.00 daily. On top of the $28.00 per day for parking and the already over inflated price of the room to begin with, we declined.
Our room was not cleaned on day 2 either. I kept thinking they would come since we we're out and about all day, no such luck.
Make sure you don't untuck the blankets from the end of the bed because the sheets don't fit properly and you'll be touching the less than desirable mattress.
Upon checkout when asked about my stay I explained the room wasn't cleaned and we weren't happy with the room I was told well "jr suites don't have brick walls" when I said my confirmation email tells me there is lots of brick walls I was told "I know. I will have to talk to the computer guys about that because none of our jr suites have brick walls."
I am beyond less than satisfied that there was no compensation or discount offered for the fact that what we booked and told we were getting doesn't even exist! I would never pay to visit this hotel again.
It's a shame because so much of it was wonderful...the bath, the shower, the balcony, the location itself...the lobby.
Definitely left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolowalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear rolowalsh,

A sincere thank you for having taken the time to discuss the concerns mentionned in your review. I am glad we were able to speak and that I was given the oppurtunity to properly compensate you, as we should have done when you were contacted by our reception.

Again my most sincere apologies for not having you experience the true Le Place D'Armes hotel & suites accomodations and services we are usually recognized for.

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We did not rent a car for the weekend and it turned out the correct move, you are in walking distance to Old Montreal area and next to the Notre-Dame Basilica, went to the night light show at the Basilica which is done inside the church and is a must see. Back to the hotel I am a heavy internet user and I am listening online to a basketball game and every thing is working fast. I used my kindle online and the internet is fast. My wife loved the room and thought it was very romantic room. The bathroom was very nice as was the shower. They came by each night with two bottle of water and chocolates. The bed was comfortable. They have really good hot chocolate in the lobby at night. Bottom line is this is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahi2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight on Valentine's day. The hotel was a little difficult to locate as part of the street was barricaded due to a fire or something in a neighbor building. To enter, you needed to go against the traffic on a one-way street, although it is a relatively a quiet street.

Check-in was simple and staff were very pleasant. To our surprise a complimentary drink up to $11/each was offered to us at the hotel bar resto.

We booked a superior king room. The room is quite large, very cozy linens, pillows and bed. The electric fireplace didn't work properly but it didn't really bother us. The washroom is spectacular! Very large shower (no bathtub), with nice amenities.

Overall a great hotel and great location, walking distance to many tourist attractions. Would return and recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Location, Location, Location...This hotel is near everything. We were able to walk to most everything even in several feet of snow. In the midst of Old Montreal, all the restaurants and shops where close at hand. It was a short walk to Chinatown, and a nice 30min walk to the malls.
The suite was a great size, with a bedroom and living room with fireplace. Everything was very comfortable, the bathroom had a very large shower and large freestanding tub. Separate closets were a plus as we had a ton of winter clothing to hang.
We found the staff to be very helpful, especially since we spoke very little French. I would highly recommend getting a suite if at all possible as I can imagine some of the other rooms might be a bit smallish. The rate for the suite was reasonable, but it was the dead of winter, I'm sure the prices double in the spring/summer time.
Overall very very good place to stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear G M

Thank you for your wonderful review. Indeed we are a prime location for Montreal, we are glad you took advantage of that! Summer is a wonderful season also to visit! Hoping to see you then!

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

First things first. We arrived at the hotel on a saturday late in the afternoon. We did not bother to check every detail of the room as we expected a 250$+/night hotel room to be perfect. When we got back to the room and wanted to go to sleep, we realized that the mattress was completely shot. Not just somewhat aged. What's more, there was a bar on the other side of the street and we could hear the outside crowd so well that despite being 4 floors up, we could make out some of the conversations. Both issues, to me, are unacceptable as a supposedly first-class hotel should not let such situations happen (ever heard of double or triple glass ?). That being said, we were promptly given another room (an uplevel suite) when both of us finally gave up trying to sleep.

On to the new room. In the first room, I had already noticed that the matteress was probably not of the best quality to start with (think low-budget department store) and was definitely shorter than a normal king-sized one should be. That's an issue when you ask and pay for one. The new room's matteress was of the same quality (though not broken) and ended up being very uncomfortable. What's more, the (un-)fitted sheet used on the bottom is not long enough and leaves your feet touching the decidedly unpleasant matteress "pad" beneath. Again, a problem when you're 6 feet tall and using the full length of the bed. As the night progresses, you end up just tearing out the whole sheet anyway just by moving your feet since you're not sleeping anyway. This would not be as much of a problem if you had a real king bed.
Pillows are of a weird cylindrical shape and made of what seems to be synthetic feathers. They just end up flat as you've squeezed any cushioning away towards the ends as soon as you've rested your head on one of them. Not my cup of tea, though my significant other found no issue with them. An alternative would have been nice, especially in a high-end hotel.

What was supposed to be a romantic night with a long, relaxing morning in bed ended up being a get-up-with-the-sun-and-and-leave-as-soon-as-you-can 4-hour (between the both of us) night.

Other annoyances: slow wi-fi (you have to pay extra for regular wi-fi), no coffeemakers in the rooms (!!!??!!) and limited multimedia interfacing (not everybody owns and Apple product...), which is a bit of an issue considering that we're in 2014..., busted speaker for the home theater system, broken outlets (try finding an access elsewhere in the room - had to go behind the TV and unplug it). Again, we're in 2014....people have electronic devices to plug in nowadays.

None of this would have been terrible execept....that we're talking about a high-end hotel ! In a 75$/night motel on the side of the highway, none of this would have surprised me. Though I would not have slept any better, I'd have understood. But we are talking about what is supposed to be one of the best hotels in town and the price reflects that. To me this is unacceptable. I have never, ever had any such experience in similar hotels or, for that matter, in "lesser" establishments. With price comes expectations.

Oh, parking is ridiculous. They charge 28$/day. Do it yourself and park 2 minutes away for half that. Go figure...

On the bright side, the rest of the room was rather nice and quite spacious, though more business-nice than anything else. The bathrooms are beautiful and the showers are spectacular (despite some water pressure issues). Cleanliness is also as expected.

In they end, they did not charge us for our stay but this does not change the fact that the quality of the sleeping accomodations is way below what is expected for a hotel that would charge half what they do. Isn't that the fundamental mission of a hotel ? We would much rather have spent our money and slept well than have barely slept for free. Never again.

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Christian L,

We are terribly sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. As guest satisfaction is one of our main priorities I am glad that we were able to waive the fees for the nightly charge. As our products and services are of the utmost importance to us, rest assured that we maintain the quality and standards by using renowned suppliers. We take these inconveniences that you experienced seriously and will be taking the necessary actions to rectify them.

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Located across from the Notre Dame Cathedral just a short walk to Rue Saint Paul's wondrous restaurants in Old Montreal. Superb accommodations with a professional, competent and helpful staff. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 165 in Montreal
2,136 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,343 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Property: Hotel Place d'Armes
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing