We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great New Year Vacation”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had an exceptional time in Montreal, and the Place d'Armes was no different. It was very cold outside, as expected, yet the room was nice and warm. The deluxe Queen room was a good size, restaurants had good service with great food. Received our free check-in cocktails which were well made. Enjoyed a nice complimentary continental breakfast each morning. The room was quiet. We could hear the bells from the Notre Dame cathedral but were on the opposite side of the hotel. Hotel staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The bathroom also had great amenities and there was turn-down service each night. An overall great 5 days.

Room Tip: If you do not want to hear the bells from the Notre Dame cathedral, try to get a room on the opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanfan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    475
    112
    41
    20
See reviews for
333
1,133
90
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My spouse and I had a stay in a standard room at this hotel many years ago and were not particularly happy then about being placed in a tiny room right above the lounge (we had to endure loud music / bass and yelling outside the window late night and a water shutdown in the morning).

This time around I decided to reserve a Junior Suite in the second building (Banque du Peuple) that was available through the Montreal Tourism site (Fall Sweet Deal) and I am glad that we chose to give this hotel another try. The location is great (if you want to stay in Old Montreal), walking distance to plenty of restaurants and shopping. The room was very spacious and cozy (w. fireplace and a comfortable sofa!), the bathroom roomy and clean (the water pressure in the shower was ok, not great). Some people may consider the suites dark but I loved the dark wood and decor and the multiple options of lighting that allowed us to set whatever ambiance we wanted. Internet connectivity was not bad but we decided to upgrade to high-speed for the last day (since we tend to travel with a lot of mobile devices).

Staff at the door and the desk were welcoming and very helpful. There was a confusion with my payment after the trip which was resolved promptly and efficiently via email by the Front Office Manager.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the buildings away from the lounge if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garp1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Took a 5-day trip for my wife's b-day to Montreal and needed a hotel. Used Trip Advisor and came across this little gem. Never done this before as I usually stay at a branded hotel. What a great surprise. This hotel was in a great location in Old Montreal and easy to get everywhere else. The rooms were spacious and very nicely appointed. The bathrooms were luxurious. Just a great place to stay. I highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reamanager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Place D'Armes in October. The room (a deluxe king) was very attractive, good sized, though not huge, with a nice view across the street through two large floor to ceiling windows (we were on the front side) and an exposed brick wall behind the very comfortable bed. A large, no doubt expensive, minibar, which we didn't use. Ice delivered quite promptly when requested. the large shower had a rainfall shower head on the ceiling--very pleasant. The hotel is just of the Place D'Armes, where the Basilique de Notre Dame is located, and all of Old Montreal is within very easy walking distance. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast, included in our rate along with valet parking, was good but not great--nice croissants. One morning we had some trouble convincing the maitre d' that our breakfast was in fact included, but that was the only glitch of our stay. Not cheap, but good value for the price, especially in a city as expensive at Montreal. We'd happily go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are probably quieter. There was a night club across the street from our (front si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIt322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneer valley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

What attracted me to Le Place D'Armes was the brick walls in the guest bedrooms, as well as the location. I was pleased with both. Being in the heart of Old Montreal was fabulous. We got great service whenever we needed anything at Le Place. I would stay here again and recommend friends to as well. Loved the cheese plate at your bar too. Can't wait to stay at your Place again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I booked my clients for one night at the Place d'Armes before they headed up to Mont Tremblant. Due to the ice storm, Magil (& Joes) the concierges reached out to me proactively, to re-schedule their transportation up north and also found them a hotel in Toronto where they were stranded. This is why Place d'Armes has earned the reputation it has. The people are amazing there. From Nickolas the front office manager, to Madeline Jones, Jose and Magil, great people who always make Montreal a memorable place to visit. Not to mention the huge rooms and the great bar scene!

Room Tip: junior suites are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DogwoodTravelAgcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Easily one of the most picturesque hotels in Old Montreal, our stay there was absolutely brilliant. In a conversation before arriving they asked us for the purpose of our visit, and we told them it was our birthday weekend, so they upgraded our suite on arrival! The hotel actually has three interconnected historic buildings, each with their own character and charm. The location is quite unbeatable, and one can explore both Old and New Montreal from here on foot. The staff were thorough and impeccably courteous. On one particularly cold night we decided to stay in and the hotel were very kind to get us a spot at the packed Japanese restaurant downstairs. Our King Suite was perfect. The walk-in shower was a highlight. It was pretty cool in the suite though, which was the only downside. We cranked up the heat, and had the electric fireplace going, and yet it was not nearly as warm as we liked it to be. Overall a great stay, and one we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allyferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Allyferns,

Happy Belated Birthday! We are glad ot hear you enjoyed celebrating it while staying with us! We hope to see you again soon,

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,116 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,963 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,392 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing