We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Place for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Place D'Armes hotel was very accommodating during my recent business trip. I stayed there twice in the last 2 weeks, the first trip being a little longer to form a well rounded opinion.
Front desk staff were friendly and we had full use of a meeting room which we used to get organized.
My room on the first trip was a beautiful suite with rain head shower and a spa bathtub. I would highly recommend soaking in this jetted tub. Peppermint scented toiletries supplied in the bathroom augmented that relaxing experience.
The second room I had included a large rain head shower only.
I quite enjoyed the comfortable beds; as well as the aesthetics of both rooms with exposed brick walls and fireplaces. House keeping was good.
The main restaurant Suite 701 had a good menu selection, the burger and fries are excellent. Breakfast, which was included with my rate was a decent selection of continental options. We ate there several times and my only critique is that service was at times slow, and a couple orders were incorrect or were not delivered at all.
There were various lounges to relax, watch TV or play pool. They also offered complimentary hot chocolate in the lobby lounge during the evening which was a nice touch.
The hotel is walking distance to everything including great restaurants, sites and shops in old Montreal and I would definitely stay there again.
Merci!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alleycat1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

A friend was getting married at this hotel, so we booked in for a night. Every aspect of our stay was great. They allowed an early check in (wedding started at 11am), they upgraded us to a suite, the wedding was wonderful, and the food was good.

The suite was phenomenal!! It was a two floor loft with a living room and second washroom on the second floor. Beyond the sheer size of it, the design elements were beautiful, including an exposed brick wall.
The jacuzzi tub was also a nice touch.

The couple who was getting married were in the penthouse and it was mind blowing- absolutely huge and gorgeous! It had a full dining room, living room and separate bedroom.

The only minor trouble we had was in asking for a late checkout (we knew the wedding would go very late). They eventually accommodated, but it took some real insistence on our part.

I hope we will get the chance to stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank deb_seethesights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear deb_seetheisghts,

We are delighted to read that the wedding went well and te party enjoyed their stay! We hope you will have another oppurtunity to visit us again!

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

period buildings, modern furnishings, helpful staff, b and b package very reasonable. Although there is nothing derogatory I can say about the hotel I would choose others over this in the future. We felt the modernistic details detracted from the historical nature of the overall "old town" area and the base buildings that make up this property.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phantomAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel was wonderful! We got an Executive Suite with two bathrooms. It was perfect for our family of three.
The room was very clean and the bed super comfortable! We loved the contemporary interior design, and I had a wonderful massage at the Rain Spa, at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Essence of sex appeal, glamour of vogue, no seriously this hotel is very good for parties, spa get aways, and location. Some suites for the larger parties even had windows that opened with is a plus (in the summer). For me, the only issue was that the rooms were a bit "flowery" from the bathroom products and/or cleaning solutions. Hotel was very nice in finding me a room with hard floors to help air out the room more. If you have allergies to perfume, this hotel is probably not for you. If you can go beyond that, the place and the service was fabulous. Breakfast is not usually included, but the fresh food was great and if the elevator is not functioning then breakfast is on the house, so they do the right thing. We attended our nephew's wedding there and found the service extremely patient despite the large party of 150, all of which had different requests and desires. Even though I have allergies, I would go back. Its a great location near everything, metro, square, water, etc. Check it out if your looking for a quality hotel ... our rate was discounted though ... so I can't tell you what the usual price is. I can tell you they will accomodate you and your family until your happy and they were extremely good at their job.

Several restaurants in the hotel, all great menus, worth the hotel prices. No swimming pool, small cozy gym, and a spa if you want a massage.

Room Tip: There are two parts of the hotel, I think the newer part is probably nicer with Building 2, but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elysa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a large lovely junior suite, with modern chic deco and a comfortable bed. The hotel is very nicely situated on the edge of old Montreal and Chinatown, and walking distance to downtown.

Upon arrival, we were given a coupon for two free cocktails in hotel lounge Suite 701. Though it doesn't say so on it, it is worth up to 11$ for each drink.

Our room was on the second floor. This floor should be avoided at all costs as it opens up unto the main entrance and noise level can be important, especially if there is a wedding as was the case when we stayed.

The Rainspa on the third floor was worth a visit. Robin is a worth noting massage therapist with knowledge of sports therapy techniques.

When we checked out, we gave the front desk a list of the things that needed to be repaired in the room as well as some suggestions for improvement. The front desk clerk immediatly signaled his supervisor who read out the list and promptly took 50% off the room. The gesture and cost reduction was appreciated and important enough for us to consider coming back as the problems encountered can be fixed.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor suites near the entrance. Some rooms have no baths, only showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I am extremely picky with hotels but unfortunately not a millionaire, so it's always a challenge to find the right place to stay. We booked the "Sweet Deal" package: stay two nights, get the 3rd half off, along with a coupon booklet.

We has reserved a standard queen but with a note in the reservation that we wanted a renovated room. As it turns out, the standard queens are not renovated, which didn't seem clear on their website, but at check-in, they did offer us the opportunity to change to a different room. We chose an upgrade to executive suite. Although there was an additional fee, we were traveling for a romantic weekend, so we decided to go for it. It was GREAT! The room was huge with a long hallway, large master bedroom, living room area, and 1.5 baths (one of which had a jacuzzi tub and rain shower). Everything was sparkling clean. They left us a platter of chocolate covered strawberries the first night. They also gave us a coupon for a free drink at the hotel's restaurant, Suite 701.

The aforementioned coupon booklet was a huge benefit as it included coupons for buy one, get one free to many attractions as well as some shopping discounts.

The front desk staff was very helpful when we asked for metro directions. Also, at check out, a charge from the minibar was on our bill along with a phone call charge. We didn't use the minibar, and the phone call was toll free. They removed both charges as soon as I questioned them with no difficulty at all; I really appreciated this was so easy.

The location is very convenient to the Old Port and the Notre Dame basilica, as well as the metro stop Place d'Armes just a few blocks away.

We tried to go to the rooftop bar one night but sadly it was packed to the point we couldn't stand. Looked fun so we were disappointed.

The hotel is really classy with great service, gorgeous rooms, and ideal location. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majesty318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

dear Majesty318,

We are glad to hear you took advantage of the sweet deal package. As you mentionned a great variety of discounts are offered. The executive suite is a great choice of room, one of themost spacious suites we offer.

Hope to see you again soon,

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $146 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing