We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here on business for three nights, I was very impressed with both the spacious, elegant rooms as well as the attentive and courteous staff. Everyone went over and above to provide exceptional service. The rooms are huge, and very comfortably furnished. Location is right in prime Old Montreal, an excellent spot to easily see the sights.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jamesie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,644
    469
    111
    41
    18
See reviews for
325
1,123
88
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for five nights during the holiday weekend in July and really liked the hotel. While the hotel was a bit on the pricey side, we took advantage of the amenities.

The location is excellent. Located in Old Montreal across the street from Notre Dame; we were still able to walk to Chinatown and downtown area.

Our room was small but no complaints as we had room to store our luggage and walk around the room comfortably. We used the spa and booked a massage for my husband and a pedicure for myself. I thought the price for the pedicure was expensive compared to my nail salon at home and service was okay, but I had no choice since I had no free time to book a pedicure prior to our vacation. My husband enjoyed the massage as well as use of the hammam.

We were given free drink tickets at the bar downstairs and enjoyed our cocktails on our second evening. There's also a rooftop bar where we sat outside one night and had a couple of drinks and enjoyed the scenery.

The lobby area is huge. One evening it rained so we stayed in and walked around the hotel and discovered a billiard table and big screen tv area as well as another sitting area behind it. We just stayed indoors that night and played a couple games of pool.

The concierge was helpful and booked a reservation to Joe Beef and also recommend other restaurants around town. The only negative comment I had was that we read on the hotel binder in our room that there was a complimentary car service within a certain distance. We asked if we can use this car service to take us to Joe Beef and was told it was fine. By the time we came downstairs, we were told that the staff was on dinner break and we would have to take a cab. I thought it was rude that we ended up having to pay for a cab because no one could take us.

Despite that, overall we had a good vacation and would probably stay again. Hopefully we can get that complimentary car service to Joe Beef the next time we stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattle2sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Seattle2SF,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with others. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and hope that your nect visit will be even more enjoyable. We do apologize for the mis-nderstanding in regards to the transportation. We are looking into this issue and assure you that this is not at all a standard of service at our hotel, we will make sure this does not repeat itself.

We thank you very much for your comments,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The crew is courteous and the service is steadfast. The executive suite is worth the money. The location of the hotel is perfect for tourism. The major sites are within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask about the executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here August 29th and 30th, arriving late after having been lost in Montreal in the dark for several hours. One of the hotel staff, Patrice, talked us in - it took 5 phone calls and much patience on his part. Could not have found it without him. Once we arrived, the check-in was quick, and the staff in Reception were very welcoming and helpful, as they were throughout our stay. Breakfast in 717 was excellent both days - eggs benedict and spinach omelette highly enjoyable - and the staff there were very attentive. The hotel is in a great location, making it easy to walk around old Montreal and to catch the double-decker bus for a tour. Our rooms were much more modern than we had expected, but they were quite nice and spotlessly clean (my number one requirement for a hotel). Our only negative reaction was to the lighting, which, both in the rooms and throughout the hotel, is quite dim. Romantic, I guess, but we felt a bit oppressed by the dark atmosphere. Would certainly recommend this hotel, and send a special thanks to the staff for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you want a soaking tub, be sure to specify when you book the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank any0ne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been staying at Place d'Armes for the last 4-5 years during our family reunions in Montreal. This place used to be a real gem in its early days and even with the expansion and renovations still had personal charm and warmth. But I've noticed now on the last 2 stays that the staff and management seem to be letting this beautiful property slip downstream.

The check in staff seem less than enthusiastic that you have chosen to stay with them and show little or no emotion. Almost robotic. The rooms are still lovely and comfortable, the restaurant/bar suite 701 decent and a new Japanese resto in the basement to replace that old and stale Aix beforehand. The room service is non-existent and staff on one occasion made no effort what so ever to accommodate us for nightcap drink. The bar staff dared not give us eye contact us they hurried up to close down early on a Mon night. The previous year we were more than happy taking our drinks to the pool room as to not disturb anyone, yet carry on the family chatter. This was not even an option according to the front desk staff who passed us off to the closing bar once again.

A real shame that this has turned into a place without a soul. Perhaps we'll find somewhere else that does next year in lovely old Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Sun09,

Thank you for taking a moment and reviewing our property. We are sad to hear that your experiences have not been as inviting as in the past. As a management team we strive to improve our customer service and guest experience. I will review your comments with our team and make sure that these incidents do not occur again. Once again i do apologize, and i do welcome you to contact me to discuss the differences you have seen throughout the years.

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

These elegantly restored accommodations are set in an unbeatable location....a stone's throw to the historic sites of Old Montreal, Old Port, the metro, Place Cartier, Palais d' Congres, Chinatown, galleries and cafes, etc....For us, the minor inconveniences such as moderate street/traffic noise; slightly cramped, "European" hallways & elevator access; occasionally awkward service are more than made up for by the fabulous location and high-ceilinged art deco rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakONResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over a holidayweekend. All staff smile and engage with you always trying to accommodate any of your needs. Rene at the front desk/concerige is remarkable as are all of the staff. The room we stayed in was incredibly with unique, 13 foot ceilings, original brick, modern amenities with a rain shower that is a real pleasure, Breakfast staff are very attentive and friendly. Roof top 8th floor lounge was the only place we foind not as hospitable and red wine is chilled. This is one of the great hotels anywhere !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the old hotel rennovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Stephen R,

We are so happy to read such a review. We will definitely share your feelings with our staff. We will also look into the Rooftop Service you experienced and make sure that the overall service throughout the hotel is consistent.

Hoping to see you again soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,095 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,669 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing