We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exellent hotel in old Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exellent hotel in old Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Modern, clean property in old Montreal. Comfortable, nice sized rooms with modern amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location to explore the old city. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    449
    107
    39
    18
See reviews for
280
1,056
85
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, New York, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We are still here, but I am so impressed with the establishment I decided to write my review before we have left the hotel. We are here for our first anniversary. The hotel is gorgeous and our suite is spectacular. It is like a small apartment. We even have two lavatories, so those bathing can be undisturbed by nature. The staff has been kind and helpful too. We have not ventured up to the terrace, but it is above our suite and we plan to have drinks there after dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaragoCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Place d'Armes for three nights in August 2013 as a guest of an event so did not pay for my stay (and I do not know the nightly rate). I got upgraded to a Junior Suite upson checkin. The room, on the third floor, was large (I estimate around 50 sq. m.) and the bed very large and good. The bathroom was very large and well equiped, with a jaccuzi and a large shower. There were two large windows looking onto St Jacques street, which is a relatively quiet street. Nonetheless the window's glass is very thin and one could hear street noise very clearly, even pedestrians talking. Passing street cleaning machines and buses are very loud. Also, there are only venetian blinds to block the light which are not very effective.
The air conditioning unit is relatively quiet; my room was cool even on warm days so I switched it off. There is an additional ventilation system, apparently a centrally controlled, which is not very noisy.

Room Tip: Higher floor for reduced street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear UkLouLou,

We appreciate that you have taken the time and provided feeback about your recent stay. We are glad that overall you appreciated your stay with us. We are however dissappointed to hear that the sleep quality was not at its best. We hope that if you do return to montreal and stay with us again that the stay will be nothing less then perfect.

Regards,

Jennifer Fabris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel has a great location within the old port. It is within easy walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The rooms are well appointed and the service friendly. If you select a package, the breakfast is a very standard continental breakfast and does not vary from day to day. All around highly recommend staying here if you want comfortable accommodations in a great locations.

Room Tip: If you are on a high floor in building three - you can hear noise from the rooftop bar. You might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0859JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel only for one night. Love the Suite we had. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Bathrooms was large and quite nice. The "welcome drink" was excellent. Love the roof top patio at night. It was really busy and had great drinks. The concierge was excellent at helping book our excellent dinner at Le Locale prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. Rooms can be uneven (mine was amazing this time). Location is outstanding. Price is in line with similar hotels. Restaurant and bar are beautiful, in fact the entire hotel is. A great option.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank davedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
dear Davedrew,

It is a pleasure to read your review. We are glad that your stays with us are up to your standards. You are always welcome at Le Place D'Armes Hotel et suites.

Hoping to have you back again soon.

Regards,

Mathieu Larochelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my parents stayed in this hotel on our trip to Montreal. The room was amazing. There was so much room and it was so comfy. And it was quiet too. It was about a 20 minute walk to downtown. There were alot of restaurants in the area. The breakfast had a selection of cheese, pastries and lots of fruit. And there was also more. My only complaint is the service. We got there and it was an hour and we still didn't have our bags. Then they said they put them in another room. We did end up getting them. And they took a really kind time to get our car from valley also

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_gurl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Travel_gurl111

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback. We must not have been up to our own standards if our service was slow as you mentionned, and we are truly sorry for this. We hope to be given the oppurtunity to accomodate you again in the future, and we will truly show you a unque and memorable experience.

Warmest Regards,

Mathieu Larochelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing