We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“C'est si bon.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“C'est si bon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

One of my favorite hotels anywhere! The front desk staff is beyond superb. The metro station is just a brief walk away. The hotel is situated on a hill above the Old Town and very near the Old Port, with great restaurants and wonderful shopping. It is an easy walk to downtown and to Chinatown. The Notre Dame Cathedral is right across the square. I rented two rooms during my stay, and they were both great, and reasonable for what they were. The king junior suite was enormous, with a bedroom area and a large sitting area. We never heard anyone in a next room during our stay.The bathroom was large and impressive, with a huge rain shower and separate soaker tub. The other room was a luxury king, with similar appointments to the suite, but no tub in bathroom, and smaller room dimensions. Regardless, the room was definitely much larger than the rooms in most hotels. the beds and pillows were super comfortable. I went into several of the other hotels rated higher than this on Trip Advisor, and there are not many, and I would still pick this hotel as my first choice in Montreal.

Room Tip: Our suite was 3606. This was an especially high quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leawooddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,495
    449
    107
    39
    18
See reviews for
280
1,055
85
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
423 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Every year there are a few things i look forward to, and as simple as it sounds, ending vacation in Montreal at the Place d'Armes and having a cold beer on the roof top terrace is one of those . Overlooking the old city and Chinatown, it's a wonderfully secluded spot. As far as the hotel, the staff are amazing. The concierge, Magil, helped us snag a hard to get reservation at Garde Manger, which was a wonderful way to ned our vacation. She also got us a reservation at Pintxo, a must stop for tapas in Montreal as well as making reservations for us on the Little Italy Montreal Foodie tour. the only reason I gave this a 4 vs a 5 was that for the first time, we were in building #1, which we felt had smaller rooms, giving you less space to move around, especially when you have luggage from a 10 day vacation trip with you. But overall, a great hotel and we'll be back.

Room Tip: We felt building #1, the oldest building had smaller rooms than building #2, which is where we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in August as a base to explore some of Montreal. The location is excellent, a short walk to rue St-Paul, the Metro station, and a reasonable stroll to rue St-Catherine and downtown. Old Montreal was very busy while we were there but the hotel was always calm and the room quiet - no issues as all with noise. The junior suite was very spacious and comfortable. The large stand-alone tub and shower were appreciated after travelling.

Definitely worth a repeat visit when we return to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had the chance to stay at the Place d'Armes hotel. The location was great- within walking distance of all major attractions in Old Montreal. There are great restaurants nearby as well. The closest metro station is only 3 minutes away by foot. The bedroom was awesome- nice modern decoration but the biggest star of the night was the bed. It was incredibly comfortable and you are guaranteed a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent several days here and it was extremely comfortable and quiet. A lovely retreat on the edge of the old town and in a perfect location to access any part of Montreal. Terrific roof-top terrace with delicious sangria! Cucumber water available in the lobby a nice touch. Many different sitting areas in the lobby area - great to have the option of sitting to read somewhere that's not your hotel room. Even a free pool table! Room was immaculate and service fantastic. Washroom amenities excellent and shower had a rainforest shower which was terrific to try! Have already recommended hotel to others and will definitely be back. A very charming set of buildings and close to many restaurants if one wants to dine outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

excellent architecture, rooms tasteful, large enough and all different and unique.
location is perfect in the summer for that's going on in old montreal, but perhaps a little desolate in the winter when things get quieter.
rooftop terrace among the very best in the city.
restaurant / lounge has great food and is popular with the locals.
hint: montreal has self serve bike rentals, there is one right around the corner, way better than taxi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were a little frantic when we arrived in our rental car at Place d’Armes at around 9 p.m.

Before we entered Canada, we had downloaded the directions to the hotel from the hotel’s website. These directions were confusing. We couldn’t find the exit or the streets they referenced. Traffic was heavy. Deciding to brave the high out-of- country fees, we turned on our cell phones and used an online map app. With the app’s help, we quickly found the hotel. Despite our harried arrival, the hotel’s gracious, helpful atmosphere instantly soothed us.

The valet immediately came to help with our car. The bellman helped unload our bags; as a family of five, we had a lot of them. A friendly front desk clerk checked us in and gave us a coupon for a complimentary drink in the bar. Everyone gave us tips about where to eat. The valet told us about a festival and said that there was a must see firework display by the waterfront at ten.

We had reserved a deluxe room/suite for our family. The room was probably the nicest room in which we’ve stayed. It was enormous. There was a mock fireplace, flame alit, in the main area and in the bathroom, a huge jetted tub with a separate shower. The single bedroom was separated from the living area and sofa bed by a sliding door. Within minutes of our request, a rollaway bed and additional towels were brought to the room. The beds were extremely comfortable.

The hotel is steps away from the waterfront and from the old part of the city, so once you get there it’s easy to get around.

After one night there, we regretted our decision to limit our Montreal visit to one day. I highly recommend this hotel with one caveat; don’t use the directions on their web site.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STherese05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing