We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrity hangout” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
463 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Celebrity hangout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

As we pulled up in our car we thought we saw Brad Pitt. Turns out it was the guy parking our car. Inside Angelina Jolie. No, it was the front desk hostess. The staff at this place are as nice in their hearts as they are nice looking. We did a small upgrade to room 3602, and it had a bathroom bigger than most rooms. They treated our 8 year old like a prince, even at the super hip trendy bar with more of Montreal's beautiful people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,577
    461
    109
    39
    18
See reviews for
301
1,095
86
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our first impression was of a first-class hotel...a bit fancy for our family, but a very high-end experience. The doorman, valet, bell-staff, front desk were very efficient and welcoming. Hotel is tricky to find, though, and the directions assume you are coming from a particular direction, which didn't apply to us. The room was very clean, spacious for a large city, with a good bathroom. The classical music playing as we entered was a nice touch. Room seemed cluttered because of all the alcohol displayed around.

The low point was the concierge service. They were friendly and accommodating, but often inaccurate...even about amenities within the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I just returned from a 3 night stay in a junior suite at Le Place d'Armes in Old Montreal. The term suite is a little misleading as it only means that you are in a larger than normal room with a sofa bed but...It was very comfortable for my husband, adult daughter and myself. One wall in both the main room and the over sized bathroom was exposed brick which added to the charm of this boutique hotel. The bed was comfortable and room temperature was perfect. As others have mentioned, the bathroom is huge with a wonderful rain shower and large jetted tub. We were on the 5th floor near the work out facility (room 2503) and did hear the door slamming early in the morning. We are early risers so this was not an issue for us but it might be a concern for those who want to sleep in. The location is fantastic.....near Notre Dame Basilica and many wonderful restaurants. The metro is a short walk. This hotel is a bit difficult to find if you are driving...many one way streets. Make sure that you have good directions before you go. The staff was always very kind and spoke English since our French speaking ability is sub par. We took our bicycles with us and they were very cordial about storing them in a room behind the desk. On the morning we departed we had to leave at 4:30 am to drop our daughter off at the airport. They had our car and bicycles ready for us along with advice on how to best get out of the city. Staff was always friendly and professional. We did miss not having a coffee maker in the room but there are 2 Starbucks located close by. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

this stay was amazing, from start to finish. we stayed In a junior suite on the sixth floor, in the second building with a nice view. . huge bathroom + amazing staff. we had a small emergency, and had to go to a pharmacy. the front desk contacted the pharmacy, and arranged for us to just pick up the medication. we just had to show the pharmacist the medication bottle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just got back from a 5-night stay at Le Place d'Armes. We were very happy with the hotel and, if we return to Montreal, we will stay there again. I would give 4.5 stars, if I could.

We loved being right in Old Montreal--across from Notre Dame! It's a fantastic location and close to the Metro for those wanting to explore more of the city.

3 of us stayed in an Executive Suite. It has a king-sized bed and a sofa bed, which worked out just fine. When they found out there were 3 of us, they charged us an extra $40/night. Even still, we had to call to get the sofa bed made each night. So, I'm not sure what that extra $40 is for.

That said, we were very happy with the room. And, as others have said, the bathrooms are FANTASTIC--the best hotel bathrooms I've ever seen. We started off on the 6th floor, and our room has obstructed windows and was very dimly lit. Even during the day, it seemed dark and cave-like. Because of snafu on our last night (I'll explain later), we were moved to a room on the 4th floor and were happy to find large windows, lots of light, and more room.

The only real problem was that the AC in our room was slowly dying. When we first arrived, it was very balmy in the room, and we set the AC to 70 degrees, per the directions on the unit. Well, it never cooled below 73/74, and it felt really warm for the entirety of our stay. We had a maintenance man come look at it on our first night, and he assured us that it was running properly. On our final night, we woke up covered in sweat, only to find that the AC had finally died. So, at 1AM the morning before our flight home, we ended up changing rooms. To be fair, we were compensated 20% of the final night's stay.

One other small thing that bothered us was that, upon check-in, we were told we were treated to "3 complimentary cocktails" in the 701 bar, which is attached to the hotel. So, the next night, we went to the bar and ordered 3 cocktails. When we asked for the bill and tried to redeem our ticket for the complimentary drinks, we were told it only covered $11/person. Considering that the cheapest cocktail on the menu was $14, we were a little disappointed. I know this is a small thing, but it's a detail that seemed overlooked.

Overall, these are small annoyances, and location and size of the hotel makes it really appealing. We had a good stay, and, as I said before, would stay again if we returned to the beautiful city of Montreal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with large windows and lots of light, as some of the floors have very dimly lit rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emiliewasmyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed in Junior Suite in July. Check in was easy - no waiting. refreshing cucumber water at the reception desk. Was shown to room and asked if it was acceptable (it was in the 3rd building; beautiful exposed brick with long rectangular layout, view was of another building); we asked to be changed to another room because the a/c had a loud hum. we were moved to a room in the 2nd building on the 5th floor - it did not have exposed brick, but was quieter, it had a squarer layout which was better because it made the tv more viewable from the bed; it also had a nice view of the city. the service at the hotel was excellent. room service was fast. never any wait on the elevator. 3 restaurants to choose from (never any waiting). the whole staff there is excellent. the mattresses are hard and the pillows are soft (which is the way I like them). there are no blankets (just a comforter, which can get kind of hot). no coffee pot in room, but they will bring you one if you ask. but honestly, the room service coffee is delicious, and you can get some delicious chocolate croissants with it (aka chocolatines) so why bother making it yourself? The location is good - it is kind of in the center of all the tourist stuff, but not "in" anything, which means you have to walk to everything - you have to walk to the port, to the pedestrian part of old montreal, to rue st catherine, to the metro, to shopping, etc. you are across from the cathedral, but that only takes a few minutes to tour. i would definitely stay there again, but probably would not get the junior suite - i did not sit on the couch even once, so there was no need for a suite, and if you do get a suite go ahead and get a balcony...you might actually use it. I used the spa while there, it was easy to book and the services were good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had quite an enjoyable stay at this hotel. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful and our room was large,and nice, the bed while a bit stiff delivered a surprisingly nice night's sleep.

If there was any complaint it is that the air conditioning has a minimum setting of 71 degrees. In other words if you want it cooler than that, you're out of luck. Not usually a problem in Montreal, but we were there during the summer hot & humid season and really would have liked to be able to drop the temperature in the room to a more comfortable 68.

ANother highlight, at least in our room, was the bathroom. It was huge, with a stand alone large tub with jets and a large 2 person shower stall that featured a second "rain" shower head.

2 example of above average service:
- It was 11:55pm. We hadn't had dinner and were starved. We called room service and discovered the kitchen was about to close - they close at midnight - "but of course we will hold it open to make our meal." Nice! The problem was I couldn't find the room service menu. The man on the phone apologized for the lack of menu and said he would bring it right up. 1 minute later he is at the room, menu in hand and politely asks if he can wait at the door so that he may take our order as soon as we are ready. This gentleman was maybe 23 years old but had the demure, polished manners of a true professional. We ordered, he left and less than 15 minutes later he returned with a fantastic meal arrived. Note: The lobster wrap was huge and had at least a tail's worth of lobster plus large shrimps and at least a half-avocado in there.

- A neighboring business down the alley from the hotel is a newspaper. For whatever reason they decided that 1am was a good time to demolish pallets in the alley. Not a quiet proposition. We called the front desk and the gentleman there told us in no uncertain terms he would take care of it. 3 minutes later the banging has stopped and the next morning we wake up to a voice mail from the hotel manager apologizing profusely and offering to buy us both breakfast. That's class.

The only down sides I can mention are the non-room service restaurants on-premise. One is "Suite 701" which was so loud and crowded each time we checked it would have been impossible to have a conversation at full yell, and the plates I scoped out looked thoroughly unappealing (unlike every other restaurant we ate at in Montreal!). The second place was the terrace on the 8th floor. While the view is nice this location is reserved for the under 25 see and be seen set. The music is so loud you could never hold a conversation, and the staff is practiced in the art of "ignoring the unimportant" which, again would include anybody over 25. Lastly is the Sushi place. This place is staffed by obnoxious waiters, who clearly get their cue from the unfriendly manager. We arrived here a half hour before they closed with the place was 2/3rds full and hopping, the kitchen going full steam and waiters coming out of the kitchen with trays of food and the sushi bar prepping. The waiter had us wait, went to the manager who looked at us and literally turned to the waiter and gestured for him to shoo us away. "No dinner for you!"

We had some fantastic meals and excellent service at a number of restaurants around Montreal, but for whatever reason these 3 restaurants associated with the hotel just are very sub-par. Luckily its made up by room service, nice rooms and great hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LePirateDeAvalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing